We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the Fringe”
Review of York House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
York House Hotel
Ranked #340 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel is in a great location - an easy walk from Waverley Rail Station and next door to the bus station. We stayed for just one night en route to the far north of Scotland. The staff were excellent - very friendly and helpful.Free Wi-Fi, beds comfortable and bathroom clean. I agree with other reviewers that it could do with some updating, however, we were on the ground floor and did not really notice a lot of noise. We were there during the Fringe festival and this hotel is ideally situated if you want to take in some of the activities. One comedy venue was opposite and another couple were only a few doors away. If you stay here don't expect luxury but if you are looking for a place to stay near the city centre, this should be fine for you. Breakfast was also excellent - full Scottish

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are good as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiB1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

we have just returned from an over night stay, 2 adults,1 child of 12. we arrived to drop off our bags early, only to find a "hotel" that looked like a run down hostel. Locked, mucky door, not very welcoming, with a key pad. A Full overflowing box of fag ends, & windows that haven't been cleaned in months, curtains closed. The staff were happy for us to leave our bags, but told to come back after 2pm. Our room was on the 3rd floor, up the "car park" stairs. Room was large, very dated, looked over the NCP car park! lots of car alarms going off. curtains that didn't fit the window. Lots of noise from road works due to the tram way, but not the hotels fault. No shampoo :-( crap electric shower. However clean sheets, but terrible nasty pillows. Not a room that you would want to spend time in. Staff very nice, breakfast o.k just what you pay for.

Room Tip: go else where!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sara k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Very very basic and noisy because of the 24-7 road works outside..... This hotel could seriously be improved with remodelling great people though just sadly very outdated and shabby accommodation. It's in a great city position just out of the centre but very accessible.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend this weekend. We paid £75 per night and stayed for two nights. We were in a room on the third floor and there is no lift however that didn't really bother us as we only had small bags with us. What horrified us was my boyfriend is now covered in bites from bed bugs! We thought the sheets didn't look very clean but had no idea he would end up covered in

We have previously stayed at lovely hotels in Edinburgh such as the Apex in the grass market and will never be staying in the York House again! Avoid if you don't want to be eaten alive!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissKH26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here with Aussie friends (first time in Edinburgh) who all thought the hotel was good too. Great location - 10 minutes walk from Waverley station, close to the main attractions, next to the bus station, easy to get to. The hosts were really friendly and welcoming. We were on the ground floor which was good because no elevator if you have a heavy suitcase. I was worried about the noise from the roadworks and buses outside but honestly we weren't bothered by it at all. Nice enough room for a budget hotel, and I was given an extra pillow when asked about it. We didn't have the breakfast as it was quite expensive and thought we'd try the local cafes instead (there were heaps around). Overall a good stay and I'd recommend it again for budget and location.

Room Tip: Ground floor was easy access with heavy suitcases. Apparently the noise from the street is louder on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We booked this hotel well in advance online, mainly for its location. It was a comfortable stay with my husband and one year old.

Some of the points we liked:

-Good central location
- Friendly host and employee having a good information about bus routes and other tourist required information
-Good continental breakfast but full English breakfast was small in quantity. Limited for the price.
-Presently the roads outside under construction for trams which was not much a disturbance to us.
-Rooms were not very fancy but adequate and functional.
-They had even provided a separate play pen for the baby. She just loved it.

We would love to go back here again!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

well yes this hotel is perfect location, But next to bus station and the windows are loose so every bus you can here early in the morning, Bins right outside window so nice wake up call !

No hooks for towels, toilet roll holder etc Only one pillow bed not the best,

Not the hotel fault but major tram works right out side so more noise

This couls=d be a nice hotel the photos are not the same hotel i stayed in

Room Tip: would not like to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy4650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#96 of 151 in Edinburgh
948 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#112 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,122 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Parliament House Hotel
Parliament House Hotel
#74 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
#56 of 396 in Edinburgh
209 reviews
Broughton & Calton
28 York Place Hotel
28 York Place Hotel
#79 of 396 in Edinburgh
210 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#111 of 396 in Edinburgh
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House Hotel

Address: 27 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £39 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — York House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing