We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More of a B&B, but Hotel prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of York House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
York House Hotel
Ranked #372 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More of a B&B, but Hotel prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

The hotel is in a good location and the staff are as helpful as can be expected. They were well polished.

We arrived early and were let into our room six hours early, which was a massive bonus and suited my wife and I superbly.

The room was large,clean and tidy and had amply tea and coffee. The bed was also comfortable, although onlly had one pillow, which upset Mrs G a tad. The shower in the on-suit bathroom wasn't as powerful as most hotels I have stayed in and therefore hits the B&B tone in my title.

What also adds to the B&B feel is the facilities as a whole. I can only expeand on that with there aren't many and it's decorated like a buy to let property.

Again for no grand reason, but a positive, I really enjoyed the breakfast. There was lots of it and it was well cooked. Unlike a B&B I wasn't asked what time I'd be eating it as I stepped through the door. (I may have only ammused myself there).

So if you want a decent clean comfortable room with an ample and ranging breakfast, with the chance to be let into your room six hours early and with a smile, this my friends, is the Ho&tel for you.

Room Tip: Get the room I got (Room 8) but ask the bloke cooking the breakfast not to have the radio too loud a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    47
    67
    30
    48
See reviews for
46
77
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. It was clean, had adequate room facilities, and was well placed for exploring the city. I also thought it was expensive for what it was. But then again it was conveniently located. A bit of a conundrum. I would definitely recommend it for a short stay, but you wouldn't want to stay for an extended period if the was your only refuge. We had my daughter's flat to stay in during the day. Major gripe? No wifi in the bedrooms. Why doesn't every hotel have free wifi now?

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lord M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Recently stayed at this Hotel (although myself and Friends felt it was more of a BB ) on a Friday and Saturday night.
We arrived at the Hotel on a Friday afternoon and was surprised to find a large Black Door that was locked (unusual for a Hotel ) we rang the bell someone arrived and we checked in.

Upon checking in we were asked who had the single room and were we aware it had no ensuite, I had the single room and I said no I wasn't as I booked through another company and wouldn't of booked if I knew that ,I was then told it does state this on our website the person then wanted to show me this.

The room itself was at the front of the building and was very small, and have to say very noisy at all hours of the night and early morning with traffic and late night revellers up to 0530am on Sunday morning !

I do not feel that £192.20 was value for this room which did include Breakfast although only had this Saturday morning as we had to leave early for a flight on Sunday morning and the sign on the wall at reception states Breakfast between 0830 and 0930 only.

The Breakfast was fine and the Accommodation was clean, but we would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about any single room location and Ensuite facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickjl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

It was clean, it was equipped with all the basics you need, the staff were friendly and a decent breakfast was provided. It's a good bit down on Premier Inn standards. It's fine for a night on the town but don't book this for a romantic city break

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoverP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

The manager, Ms Ilaria Braina, is most friendly and cheerful and made us feel most welcome. She is also most forthcoming with information. When we told her that our luggage was delayed, she was very helpful and said that she would take care of it when the delivery man came, and she even made effort to contact the delivery company.

We stayed in an en-suite family room on street level. It is amazingly spacious, with huge bathroom.

Perfect location, as it is within walking distance from Princess Street and all the tourist attractions. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Famajati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

ended up here as our original hotel across the road had overbooked/messed up.
first impressions were of a run down hostel. inside marginally better but not 'hotel' quality and certainly not worth the rate they were charging.
only toiletry was a courtesy bar of soap [per person] - luckily had brought the shampoo and conditioner from previous hotel!
the bed was standard double with a very tired and old looking divan base. curtains were hanging off the track and the net was a lovely shade of grey. decor was just a cheap coat of emulsion. only one pillow per person, but in fairness the receptionist brought more when requested.
although an ideal location - do not book this place if you cant climb stairs and also as on a corner position adjacent to the car park and bus station entrance you get all the early morning and daily traffic queuing to get into the multi storey.
So if you are a light sleeper or not used to 'city' noises, then suggest this is not the place for you.
We were in the ground floor room [4] which backed onto the car park so got a full array of noises. Also room 5 is an 'internal' corridor bedroom not sure if rented out, or if used as a staff room/night porter room, so quite a lot of chat coming from it.
overall we had no choice in staying here and probably wouldn't stay again - based on value for money and amenities provided.

Room Tip: room 4 is at the rear, only a few steps - but only if you like listening to late night revellers wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-St
Level Contributor
234 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel with a party of friends and relations.The hotel was easy enough to find beside the bus station to the rear of the shopping centres.The hotel rooms did what they had too as regards a bed and shower.The rooms were cleaned each day and our room had a view down onto the main road.The negative aspects of our stay would be the climb of 70 stair steps up to the third floor (the group were mainly aged 50+),particularly when everywhere seems to have steps either up or down to it (there is no lift).The tv kept switching itself off as the signal strength for the digi box was 50%.The windows are single glazed and you could hear lots of road noise at the front and with the rooms being warm opening the sash window was not an option.While we were here there was lots of noise from groups of men (late at night and in the early hours) which the hotel has no control over but this bus station seemed to attract lots of them.We did not try the breakfast (relations did), you had to book it the day before, £7 for a full english or £4 for a continental - no booking NO BREAKFAST.There is an excellent little cafe to the side of this hotel (elderberry cafe) where we had a later breakfast at 10am (very nice), as the hotel has a strict policy of 8:30-9:30 breakfast only.The Conan Doyle ph also does breakfasts on a weekend only and it is about 100 yds down the road towards the Edinburgh playhouse and tesco express.The hotel does not have a bar with the above ph the closest one to it, which has last orders on a Sat night at 23:45pm.A reasonable hotel for what we paid but i will try somewhere else that has more facilities (lift and bar) but this hotel was worth what we paid even though our legs are tired from the climbing of those stairs!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on ground floor unless you like climbing stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazzaChester_le_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#113 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Broughton & Calton
28 York Place Hotel
28 York Place Hotel
#63 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
New Town
Elder York Guest House
Elder York Guest House
#78 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#40 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
New Town
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick Street
#21 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#60 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House Hotel

Property: York House Hotel
Address: 27 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — York House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing