We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #117 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The bed was incredibly comfortable and I was delighted to have both bath and shower. However, there was no bathmat so I had to stand on a towel. I booked breakfast online but the hot food was cold. At checkout, I was told that, if I'd paid cash that morning, I could have had a refund but as I'd booked it online I could not.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback Helen M. We do not provide bath mats in our hotels, however our bathroom surfaces will have enhanced slip resistance and we also provide handrails for your safety. Our bar café staff are fully trained on how to prepare food to a great standard so we are truly sorry to learn you found the food to be cold. We expect our staff to provide a great service and to be able to deal with any problems which you have during your stay so we are truly sorry to learn they were unable to assist you. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution. In order for us to do this please could you visit our website and use the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

I have stayed in this hotel a few times now and i must say, i'm thoroughly impressed. Our room was a great size, lovely big comfy bed, bath, tv, plenty of towels and facilities for tea/coffee. When i arrived, the gentleman i spoke to was very welcoming and engaged in genuine conversation and he made sure that i knew Edinburgh well and that i was aware of all the facilities that the hotel had to offer, not to mention all of the other staff members i had dealings with were fantastic! I had a great nights sleep and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amylm94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here earlier in the year and was impressed with the upgrade given to this old Hotel-see attached picture of our room. The room is spacious and the bathroom huge. The staff were excellent, friendly and very helpful. The Hotel operates a 24/7 bar and does food at all hours at reasonable prices. One problem was the on arriving back at the hotel on the second night of our four night stay, we found our room had not been cleaned. We complained in the morning and received a sincere apology and a promise it would not happen again. The next night our room was not made up again and when we complained we were offered a refund for the two nights. We were impressed. Yes I would stay in this hotel again

Room Tip: Water pressure was low for the shower in our room on the second floor. Ask for a lower floor room, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over the new year, the hotel was only booked based on the proximity to centre of city. Never before have we experienced such filth. Dirty sheets, unwashed cups, damaged and moldy curtains in bedrooms and a damp smell throughout the rooms.
Thank God we didn't book a week here!!
Do not book this so - called hotel...!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Shamen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

We are truly sorry to learn of your disappointment with your recent stay Shamen12. We always expect our rooms to be cleaned to high standards and we would like to investigate the concerns you have raised. Please can you visit our website and select the contact us button, which will allow you to provide further comments and confirm your booking details. Please also indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel was clean and was quite awesome on the inside as it was built based on an older building. The room was clean and the bed was excelent.
It was a bit difficult to find as it is not very clearly marked outside as to it being a travel lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

i booked shandwick place in jan 2013 for december 31st, i then got an email from travelodge telling me the hotel will close down march 2013 then i had to inform them to transfer me to princess street, everything was sorted until new years eve i had a call from travelodge telling me theirs no room in the inn, we were told that we were to go to the travelodge Haymarket, i told the woman on the phone of the hassle we have had so far and then was told they will foot the bill for all taxi's to the hogmanay celebrations and back to the hotel, then another taxi to waverly train station, we also were told we will get a free breakfast in the morning. we got a taxi by calling into princess st which it was ordered from their, it came in 5 mins, after the party on the street we went back to princess st and i was expecting a taxi to take hrs and hrs but it came to meet us around the corner within 20 mins. i must say that the room we were giving was huge, iv never stayed in a hotel room so huge, the lovely ceiling with it victorian coving with a fireplace and a huge Chandelier, the bed was high and the pillows were fluffy i had an amazing sleep , i will defo stay here again, i didn't want to get out of bed. i love the Haymarket travelodge and the staff were fantastic in both the haymarket and princess street.

Room Tip: Edinburgh Hogmanay 2013/2014, Room 1 was huge front facing onto the street on the ground floor, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moiraj186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed overnight on New Year's Eve so paid premium rates of £141 for each room of two. If these sort of prices are being charged, however, I expect to be able to take a shower but the water pressure was so poor in both rooms, this wasn't possible.
No shampoo or conditioner is provided - just a small bar of soap so take your own.
The hotel itself was situated about a mile from the city centre. Bed was clean and comfortable but furniture is minimal and dated. Complimentary tea and coffee provided.
Had dinner and breakfast there which was OK.
The best thing about the hotel was their staff who were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garricke_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your review Garricke_12. We are sorry to learn that you found the water pressure to be inadequate for a shower, we do expect our facilities to be in good working order and if there are any issues with the water pressure then this should be fixed as soon as possible. As a brand standard we do not provide toiletries however our customers will have the option to purchase toiletries from our vending machine in reception should they need to. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel manager regarding the shower so that they are able to look into this further. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth
#114 of 151 in Edinburgh
396 reviews
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#71 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,136 reviews
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel

Address: 24 Eglinton Crescent, Edinburgh EH12 5BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £31 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel Scotland
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Edinburgh Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing