We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No room at the inn...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #116 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“No room at the inn...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I was booked into this hotel through work and had fully paid and had the reservation. When I turned up I was told it was over prescribed. The duty manager knew this and still left a trainee to try and sort it. It's 11pm, I still don't have a hotel to go to and no end in sight! There are 3 of us in this situation. Not good enough

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Gertbert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    210
    132
    54
    52
See reviews for
147
225
54
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were in Edinburgh to compete in the Half Marathon and were looking for somewhere to stay that was close to the train station & within reasonable walking distance of the race start as well as the cities tourist attractions, bars & restaurants. This hotel was a 5 minute walk from Haymarket rail station and then 10 minutes from the main shops and eating/drinking eateries around Princes street. Hotel is set in an old Edwardian style building which means the walls are solid and well insulated from noise. Our room was very big with high ceiling. The bed was extremely comfortable, very comfortable pillows which is something I don't usually find in budget hotels and the bedding was very clean & fresh. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful.
The only downside was the power of the water from the shower. although acceptable it could definitely have benefitted from being upgraded to a power shower. The bathroom was spotless however which was appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

As soon as I stepped through the doors of this hotel my heart sank. As a previous reviewer stated the reception area has the feel of a hostel. We were allocated a room just a few metres from the bar area and reception. As if things couldn't get any worse we entered the large yet bare room. The bed was at one end of the room whilst at the other end there was absolutely nothing! It felt like I was squatting in a derelict old mansion. There were no bedside lockers just a small shelf that I could not even fit a small bottle of water on. The TV picture was dreadful with only a handful of channels offered. Apparently this Travelodge has recently been modernised however this appears to be simply a new bed and curtains. The carpet was manky - think your local Ritzy nightclub. The bathroom was fine and the quietest room - I did consider sleeping in the bathtub for peace and quiet - more on that below.

The worst thing about our stay however was the NOISE. We suffered noise from the bar until about midnight I had to turn the TV volume up just to drown out the sound. The elevator was nearby so I suffered the constant refrain of "lift going up". The staff seemed to excel in noise making. All I could here was the clinking of empty beer bottles and doors slamming. Our room appeared to be next to the staff office so we also endured the beeping of various electronic devices. At around midnight on both evenings I could here the staff cashing up, coin bags being spilled onto a table! At around 4am staff began setting up breakfast so we suffered two hours of plates and cutlery clanging and doors banging. The staff seemed oblivious to the fact there were rooms nearby and that perhaps at 4am guests may wish for peace and quiet. The second night was the same except the plate clanging began around 2am and some moron decided to mess around with the buzzer in reception (probably a drunken guest).

On departure a staff member asked if we had enjoyed the stay. I outlined the points above and she seemed genuinely shocked. This young lady was very polite and professional. She verified my email and said I would be entitled to a refund (e voucher?). I will await information on this.

In conclusion the rooms near to reception are not fit for purpose. You are onto a hiding to nothing - it is impossible to get any peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Not recommended try Premier Inn Haymarket - was excellent in November 2013.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMR80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I was given an unexpectedly nice room, with a lovely view over the city. The hotel is in a good location close to Haymarket station and in a really pleasant street. Easy access to the Water of Leith for a run. Decent breakfast, and very helpful staff. No towels initially, but rectified the following day, and an acceptable breakfast - although would have been expensive as an extra.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

lovely quiet area. rooms were clean. staff were excellent. the hotel was easy to get to and for onward journeys. The railway station is only a few minutes walk away and yet the hotel is set in a lovely quiet area. brillliant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Found this hotel to be quite cheap for the days we wanted to go away. Didn't expect it to be as nice as it was! Very spacious, comfy beds, clean room. Just a short walk to the main streets. Receptionist showed us how to get everywhere and recommended a few places to eat and drink. Will definitely stay here again if the price is right!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Travel to Scotland twice a year and stay in EDi. Found Travelodge,
now don't look any where else. Prices, locations, cleanliness. Single F SAFETY IS A BIG PLUS for me. Most near the Airport bus route.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Valda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth
#121 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#73 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#133 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
Address: 24 Eglinton Crescent, Edinburgh EH12 5BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel Scotland
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing