We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still improving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #117 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
A TripAdvisor Member
“Still improving”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Nice rooms in a quiet part of town. Rooms to the back are particularly quiet as they face the scenic back gardens. Plumbing is in need of TLC with poor water pressure and lack of hot water at times, but it is an old house. The drinks were reasonably priced but no draft beer. Food is available 24/7 and the staff are extremely helpful

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    214
    133
    54
    54
See reviews for
151
230
54
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This "newly refurbished" hotel thinks that if you share a bed, you don't mind sharing EVERYTHING, ALL THE TIME - because there was no lock on the double room toilet door. A double bed had a bedside table one side only, there were only two power points in a room for two people (actually no, there were another two hidden behind the bed but that was bolted to the wall so we couldn't move it to get to them, they just tantalised us with their unattainability while we unplugged TV and kettle to fight over time for phone & laptop charging on the only two we could use. Chairs were 70s student accommodation throwbacks of rigid moulded plastic without any cushions, only one side of the (admittedly excellent) double bed had a bedside table - that's OK, I used a chair, it was no good for anything else), the curtains were so paper thin the early sunrise woke us each day & the two large lovely old sash windows were, respectively, sealed shut, and restricted to such a narrow opening you could barely air the place. Presumably they feared suicide attempts. I wonder why? So sad, because the poor under-resourced overworked staff were consistently lovely, warm, friendly and eager to help in any way they could. With the poor resources they were given, that wasn't much, but they wanted to and we felt sorry for them

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank CliveLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Friendly and welcoming, I visited with my three daughters aged between 8 & 21 and we couldn't fault this hotel. Everyone went out of their way to be helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Also recommend you book breakfast before you go to take advantage of the discount as we did; it was delicious and kept us going until evening! It is only a short walk to the centre of town and my 8 yr old managed without complaint!There is plenty of public transport if you need; the close proximity to the zoo also suited us as that was our main reason to visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank AliLondon5361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I recently stayed in the Haymarket Travelodge, it was easy access from the train station/ tram line so easy access to the airport which is why I booked it. The staff were friendly, I was scared by the "the bar is open all night" comment as I was expecting it to be noisy and I had an early flight to catch but that was ok. I didn't enjoy the size of the room and the bed was so narrow that is was smaller than my three year olds mattress. Much smaller than a single bed so I struggled to sleep.

Room Tip: don't book a single room, the bed is to small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice hotel within easy reach of all areas of Edinburgh. Good value very comfortable bed
Little touches missing like shelves in bathroom and bathroom window that stayed open
Over all good, nice staff
recommend for the money - yes

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket is a few minutes walk from Haymarket Station, and is located close to shops, cafes and restaurants. You get what you pay for, it is very reasonably priced even when the Fringe Festival and the Commonwealth Games were on, which is when we stayed. However, amenities are basic. We checked in very late, around 1am, and were treated well at reception, being served punctually and efficiently even though others were also checking in at the same time and it was late. One member of staff who had finished her shift stayed on to make sure we were all helped which I though was excellent service.
The Haymarket Edinburgh Travelodge is in a converted row of townhouses. It has a bar and can serve food, there is a vending machine in reception for snacks. We stayed on the first floor in a large room with a TV, wardrobe, desk, comfortable bed and clean new bedding and furnishings. The window opened and there was a view over the rear garden. It was clean and you can access free wifi for 30 minutes or pay three pounds for 24 hours. The bathroom was large, had a shower/bath, it was clean with plenty of towels and hand soap in a dispenser. It did have the hallmark of budget accommodation though in that there was no shelf to put any of your toiletries or hook to hang your clothes. Aside from this the only other downside was that when people in the downstairs room activated the extractor fan in their bathroom our floor vibrated and there was a perpetual hum, but neither were particularly intrusive.
Check out is late at noon which is good if you have onward travel plans or have had a late night. Service again at check out was good, there was no one at the desk, but when I rang the bell, two members of staff appeared in seconds and dealt with us efficiently and pleasantly. For a very affordable hotel within walking distance of a major transport hub and the city centre the Travelodge Haymarket was value for money and comfortable for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TokyoJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

What can I say - it's a Travelodge. But for £37 night in peak season and a 10 minute walk from Princes Street it's a bargain. Room 3 is quiet and has a nice garden view. 2-3 minute walk from Haymarket tram/rail station makes it ideal to reach by air or train.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jamestap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#71 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#88 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#144 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
Address: 24 Eglinton Crescent, Edinburgh EH12 5BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel Scotland
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing