We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The favorite place of my family in Edinburgh”
Review of Edinburgh at Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edinburgh at Home
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The perfect place to stay in Edinburgh for my family - for all the occasions! Visit, event, business, short or long stay - we could hardly imagine something else (this is always something not alright in the other options for us)! - It probably happens because we feel like at home at James square apartments - and at home it is always better! This is our fourth year of being absolutely charmed by James square apartments (twice a year at least, in every season - we saw everything).
If you don't like the hotels (like my family), the disturbing unnecessary cleaning every early morning, expensive breakfast (and not tasty very often) etc - James square is a magic alternative!
This is an absolutely unique place, one of the kind! Very nice apartments, clean and cosy, each has an individual style and most of necessary utilities (you could even not have enough time to use everything probably). The kind "good morning" compliment - bread, jam, milk, tea-coffee..., in case if you arrive late when all the shops are closed.
The elevator and the stairs.
The incredible views of Edinburgh from the roof - the conservatory and the open space.
Beautiful garden-patio. Parking. And the swimming pool! The water is clear and became warmer since the December 2012 (our previous stay, when we spend a quiet Christmas in the total relax).
All the problems are resolved quickly (from our first stay). The owners are incredibly responsible, thoughtful, welcoming, patient, kind and helpful!
Every time we stay at James square apartments, we always see some positive changes and a new details.
The place is very well situated - you will have all the choices - walking distance to Haymarket railway station and the city-center, plenty of buses (I prefer to walk, I always enjoy it there). The taxi arrives very quick.
Quiet district. Everything is close - supermarkets, restaurants, pubs, pizza and all kind of deliveries (chinese, thai, japanese, indian...). Cinema is about 5 minutes to walk (you can see the big building from the windows looking inside the yard and the garden).
The wi-fi internet, TV and video.
I can't remember something else I could need? - Perhaps just keep this place in secret ! - It is very popular - we need to book it early.
James square apartments is an absolutely ideal place for all my family!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EkaterinaA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

Excellent communication through out the booking process, before and on arrival, was met at the apartment and shown round and all the facilities were explained. There was a folder left with all the details in also so nothing to worry about should you forget any of the instructions.

The apartment was spotlessly clean, spacious, and well stocked with utensils/crockery/pans etc(there was loads of towels too) ,a major plus for us was the fact that there was milk, bread etc all in when we arrive, that said there are 2 major supermarkets within 5 mins of the apartment (1 of them literally 2 mins from the front door) so getting supplies is no hassle at all.

The location is perfect for a visit to Edinburgh's tourist locations,bus stop for Princess Streets is 2 mins from the front door, bus stop for the Zoo is a further 5 mins down the road. Cash point available at the supermarket 2 mins from the apartment.

We used the pool but not the roof terrace, the pool was excellent (access to it is completely internal so no need to go outside), it was clean and well maintained, the pool room itself was warm even though it was colder outside, a very welcome luxury.

We were 7 people and easily fitted into the apartment, will definitely book this apartment for our next visit to Edinburgh.

Overall a wonderful trip, the accommodation being so good being a large part of making this trip so enjoyable and stress free.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

From the effective communication before our visit and throughout our 3-night stay, we were able to feel very pleased with our choice of accommodation. We intend returning and for a longer stay next time. We quickly felt at home. We cooked dinner each evening. The WIFI was reliable. The parking is very secure, a real plus point in any city. The views were great. From our apartment, the swimming pool and sauna were via indoor access, a welcome feature. The location is good for access to public transport.
Now, not the fault of the accommodation but one very minor irritation was how many (14 at least) recycling bins we had to pass until we found one for glass bottles - up to the main road, into the supermarket car park.

Room Tip: If you want to swim, ask for one with indoor access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Perfect location with public transport ( bus) just 2 min up the road. Big fabulous supermarket just around the corner and some good places to dine all in that area. The appartment was so nicely furnished and designed. Very clean and spacious and homely somehow. Great kitchen so well equipped with any utinsel one can think of. Agnes and her daughter are so friendly and helpful. They even provided us with some fresh foods in the fridge when we arrived and fresh bread. We had plenty supplies of towels. Easy access to the swimming pool and sauna. Great view on top of the roof.

We were 6 people altogether and we really loved the accommodation and would book it again if we ever go back to Edinburgh which i hope we do.

Thanks Agnes for providing us with a lovely and special memory of Edinburgh.

Wish you and your family plenty of Happy tourists for the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Fantastic views over the city including murrayfield stadium. A short walk to Princes street. Basic provisions supplied in the kitchen & bathroom as well as plenty of towels! Extra luxury of having access to the pool. The building also has a roof terrace with benches if you need to relax outdoors. The only tiny issue was the iron in both apartments badly leaked water.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We spent 4 nights in the apartment that is very well equiped and very comfortable.
We enjoyed that everything was included (linens, towels, baby cot) and that everything was made to actually live in it for a few days.
It is a clean place with many bonuses: the swimming pool, sauna and terrace !

We had an overall great impression of it. Not very far from the center (30min walk) and it will be even closer when the tram will be working.

I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: One of the room has no window, be aware of it in case someone is claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mélanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

was so suprised at the standard of the apartment considering the price we paid. loved all of the furniture in the apartment and everything we needed was there. plenty of crockery, hairdryers towels etc. location was very good and nothing was more than a short bus journey away. the owner was there to greet us and was very helpful. had even left a welcome basket with tea, coffee, bread,milk juice etc which was much appreciated after our long journey. all in all we had an amazing stay and would love to come back. thanks alot

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateharry84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,598 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,001 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#105 of 394 in Edinburgh
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh at Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh at Home

Address: James Square | Caledonian Crescent, Edinburgh EH11 2AT, Scotland (Formerly James Square Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £38 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a welcoming complex, each holiday apartment has the use of a private swimming pool, sauna and private parking. Holday apartments range from 2 bedrooms to 4 bedrooms, all within the same building allowing a perfect destination for larger groups. The accommodation is within easy walking distance of the centre of Edinburgh, perfect for a family holiday, weekend break or business trip. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
James Square Apartments Edinburgh
Edinburgh At Home Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing