We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramsay's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramsay's B&B
Ranked #12 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Forest, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exceptional B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Entered the 2014 Edinburgh Marathon and booked Ramsay's for my wife and I and two other couples based on its very good reviews. What a great find! Arrived from the airport and received a warm welcome from Sharon and Norrie. We were all delighted by the quality of the spotless and comfortable rooms. We booked for three nights and throughout we were made to feel extremely welcome. Sharon couldn't do enough for us and gave us some very good tips and advice on what to do and where to go. Especially the Scotsman Bar on the Friday from 4pm to ?? (though in hindsight not the best preparation for a marathon!). The breakfasts were superb. Bookings were made and all in all we had a fabulous time. If you are looking for somewhere really nice to stay in Edinburgh at a reasonable cost and a fairly easy walk to the centre try Ramsay's - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    28
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
96
282
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is by far one of the nicest B&Bs in which I've stayed in my life (of about 12 or so in the US and UK). Norrie and Sharon made us feel so welcome and gave helpful tips for food, drinks, and sites; plus, they make a tasty breakfast! Convenient and quiet location, downhill from the train station and just blocks away from the new airport tram. When I return to Edinburgh, I'll be staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruskington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

A fantastic Guest House to spend a few days or longer. Norrie and Sharon were so welcoming and full of advice on how to make the most of your stay in Edinburgh. Our double room (4) downstairs was so clean and tidy and very modern (if you don't mind black). Our clothes were even put away/hung in the wardrobe even when they were neatly folded in the room. In a prime location ideal for restaurants, café's, shops, the theatre and no less than 3 hire car companies. Train station and Prince's Street is only 10 - 15 mins walk away. The Scottish breakfast was excellent and fuelled you up for a day sight-seeing. A very good selection of cereals, fruit and hot choices were on offer and mouth watering. My wife and I would highly recommend this friendly and very comfortable Guest House for business or pleasure - great value; you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at Ramsay's B&B. Norrie and Sharon made us feel so welcome and at home. The bus stop, shopping, and good restaurants are within easy walking distance. Sharon has made the rooms homey with lovely decor and special bathroom beauty supplies to make the women feel pampered. We had an early departure flight and Norrie and Sharon were so helpful. Norrie got up early to help us with our baggage and had called a taxi which was waiting for us. They even had a sack filled with yogurt, sandwiches, fruit, and juice so we could take breakfast with us. The atmosphere, the good breakfasts, the friendliness of our hosts, and the comfortable rooms all combine to make this a pleasant place
to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsklg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Look no further! Ramsay's is the best B&B in Edinburgh. This was my second visit bringing my husband to enjoy staying with Sharon and Norrie. I stayed with my friend in October 2012 and have wanted to return since. I was recognised and welcomed back as if my last visit had been last month! My 2012 Tripadvisor report called Ramsay's both a 'home from home and a special treat' and that was our experience this time too. The breakfast is definitely a treat and well presented as is everything, including the bowls of fruit and toffees. We had a perfect nights sleep on a very comfortable bed.
Nothing is too much trouble and although they were very busy Sharon and Norrie both found time to chat and offer advice about where to eat and how to find our way to different places. You need go no further than Broughton Street for a wide range of excellent restaurants and arty shops. We loved this small village atmosphere in the centre of the city.
We walked everywhere as the weather was good and nowhere is far to walk. There are buses if needed and now the tram can be caught at the terminus on York Place just at the top of Broughton Street. If you are catching a train at Waverley Station it is best to get off the tram at St Andrew Square and walk down to the station as the Princes Street stop is a long walk back.
Thank you again Sharon and Norrie for a very enjoyable stay. We look forward to coming again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freya12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Great find, our first visit to the city and made extra special by staying at Ramsays. Sharon and Norrie went out of there way to make us feel at home, helping with selecting restaurants and attractions to see. Breakfast is great with a large selection and very good quality. Thank you both for a great stay. Helen and Gary Peters

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Great value B&B located quite centrally. I walked around town all day long without ever having to take the bus. 10 minutes from Waverley station

Wifi was super fast

Booked the small room but they really made the most of it! Didn't feel small at all and it was nicely designed. Slept really, really well.


Best of all: amazing friendly hosts and really tasty breakfast. I've got a craving for kipper now!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Haikal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramsay's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramsay's B&B

Property: Ramsay's B&B
Address: 25 East London Street, Edinburgh EH7 4BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramsay's B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramsay's high quality bed and breakfast is ideally situated to take advantage of Edinburgh's many local attractions. It is located on the eastern edge of Edinburgh's New Town, close to Princess street and Edinburgh castle, and in walking distance to both the train and bus stations. Our spacious townhouse offers bright contemporary en-suite bedrooms, each with hospitality tray, LCD TV, hairdryer and free wireless broadband connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ramsay's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramsay`s Hotel Edinburgh
Ramsay`s Bed And Breakfast
Ramsay's B&B Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing