We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem!”
Review of Ramsay's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramsay's B&B
Ranked #13 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was recommended Ramsay's B&B through a colleague and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting Edinburgh. It's an absolute find in a fabulous location within walking distance of the station and all the attractions of Edinburgh. My colleague and I were given a warm welcome by Sharon, who even took the trouble to look up our transport options for the following morning. The B&B itself is beautifully decorated - fresh and modern! As we had a relatively early start, Sharon also provided breakfast (lovely smoked salmon) earlier than the scheduled start time so that we could begin the day well. Ramsay's B&B was a real treat and I only wish I had been able to stay for longer. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: I stayed in a fabulous king sized room which overlooked the lovely garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

WOW! A B and B in the city that is affordable, close to everything and welcoming. THis is a real gem. The owners are so friendly and the rooms are spotless. The location is almost perfect (at the bottom of a big hill makes it a challenge if you have a lot of luggage) but it is well worth it. Make sure you eat at the Conan Doyle pub at the top of the hill but get there early. Edinburgh is an awesome city and the stay at Ramsay's is icing on the cake!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at Ramsay's for three days in early May and loved it. Coming back to Ramsay's every day after sightseeing was like coming home. Norrie and Sharon's bed and breakfast has such a homey, welcoming feel. After our trip in Europe was over, having experienced other B&Bs in Brussels and Paris, Ramsay's was our gem. It felt like an exclusive boutique hotel. Our room was fantastic and always smelled freshly aired and clean. Breakfast was a veritable buffet of choices, and we tried out a number of options while we were there, including the full Scottish breakfast.

We were given a welcoming glass of whiskey, which was a fabulous surprise for my significant other (he wants to come back already), and when we needed some laundry done, Sharon and Norrie directed us to a great little laundrette not too far away. We were given great suggestions on where to see, where to eat, what would fit our budget, and even talked with Norrie about trad music on a Friday night. They're located a short walk from the train station and the Royal Mile, which was great. We explored all by foot.

It might have rained during our time there, but the warmth of hospitality we received at Ramsay's more than made up for the slightly crummy weather. Umbrellas were always available if we needed one.
We want to go back already.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for three nights in mid-June, and had a wonderful time. Our hosts, Sharon and Norrie, were great. We were met at the door, Norrie helped us with our luggage, and then he served us a welcoming dram! He gave us all sorts of good information regarding nearby transportation and restaurants. Sharon met us a bit later, since she was out dealing with other residents.

Sharon and Norrie practically adopted us. My wife and I both had nagging colds while there, and Sharon and Norrie prepared hot toddies for us, gave us some cold medicine (and told us where to get more from a pharmacy a block or so from the B&B), and generally just took great care of us. Sharon arranged our taxi for our "early" flight out of Edinburgh, and fixed us a take-away breakfast to have at the airport - sandwiches, chips, yogurt, etc.).

The location for Ramsay's B&B is great. It's in New Town, but just a couple of blocks from York Street and all the buses you could ever need to get around town. We went to Rosslyn Chapel, using the buses that Sharon identified for us. The buses for that trip cost 3 pounds/person (round trip), in contrast with a likely cost of 50 pounds for a taxi.

All in all, you can't go wrong staying with Sharon and Norrie.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rooms 2 and 4 (two couples), both below ground but with windows, and they were very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnoxvilleCouples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

What can I say??
From the moment we got there til the time we left, we were looked after, catered for and just generally had a great laugh.
Nothing was too much for Sharon and co, even meeting us with a wee Dram once we got there. And trust me, after a 30hour flight, that was perfect.

Great fun, full of good info....THE place to stay!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DaFuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Entered the 2014 Edinburgh Marathon and booked Ramsay's for my wife and I and two other couples based on its very good reviews. What a great find! Arrived from the airport and received a warm welcome from Sharon and Norrie. We were all delighted by the quality of the spotless and comfortable rooms. We booked for three nights and throughout we were made to feel extremely welcome. Sharon couldn't do enough for us and gave us some very good tips and advice on what to do and where to go. Especially the Scotsman Bar on the Friday from 4pm to ?? (though in hindsight not the best preparation for a marathon!). The breakfasts were superb. Bookings were made and all in all we had a fabulous time. If you are looking for somewhere really nice to stay in Edinburgh at a reasonable cost and a fairly easy walk to the centre try Ramsay's - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is by far one of the nicest B&Bs in which I've stayed in my life (of about 12 or so in the US and UK). Norrie and Sharon made us feel so welcome and gave helpful tips for food, drinks, and sites; plus, they make a tasty breakfast! Convenient and quiet location, downhill from the train station and just blocks away from the new airport tram. When I return to Edinburgh, I'll be staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,883 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 393 in Edinburgh
500 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#18 of 393 in Edinburgh
714 reviews
Fraoch House
#9 of 393 in Edinburgh
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramsay's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramsay's B&B

Address: 25 East London Street, Edinburgh EH7 4BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £90 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramsay's B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramsay's high quality bed and breakfast is ideally situated to take advantage of Edinburgh's many local attractions. It is located on the eastern edge of Edinburgh's New Town, close to Princess street and Edinburgh castle, and in walking distance to both the train and bus stations. Our spacious townhouse offers bright contemporary en-suite bedrooms, each with hospitality tray, LCD TV, hairdryer and free wireless broadband connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Ramsay's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramsay`s Hotel Edinburgh
Ramsay`s Bed And Breakfast
Ramsay's B&B Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing