We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely breakfast”
Review of The Booking Office

The Booking Office
Ranked #68 of 336 Quick Bites in Edinburgh
Price range: £1 - £14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: A JD Wetherspoon pub in the centre of Edinburgh serving Waverley train station. We don't take bookings or reservations, so come on in, find yourself a table and enjoy a cold drink, a hot drink, or something to eat in our modern, well-lit and well-stocked bar!
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

You can't go far wrong with a Wetherspoons breakfast. Brand new pub situated in a great location, we sat where we could people watch walking over the bridge. Big screen displaying train info so useful for the Waverly station right next to it.. Although staff still learning the job it wasn't a problem. Four great breakfasts enjoyed. Toilets lovely too.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank tillytortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BookingOfficeJDW, General Manager at The Booking Office, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Hello Sally!
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again soon!
Regards,
The Booking Office Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,082 - 1,086 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Popped in for breakfast with my family. Very nice ambience. Plentiful types of beers and food. Had a wonderful "Scottish Breakfast". ALL the staff was very friendly and from time to time they came and checked in on us regarding the food quality or if we needed anything else. I thought that was a good touch of customer care.

Will definitely dine in there one last time before I leave Edinburgh.

Cheers to the management.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank VincentCham32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BookingOfficeJDW, General Manager at The Booking Office, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Hello Vincent,
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again soon!
Regards,
The Booking Office Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Its a Weatherspoon's so you get what you expect from any other Weatherspoon's when it comes to food but the bar and surroundings were fab! nicely decorated with kind, eager staff! A busy wee place I am sure it will do well!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BecBeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BookingOfficeJDW, General Manager at The Booking Office, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Thank you for your feedback, Bec!
We hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
The Booking Office Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Decor impressive, well laid out. Let down by the food. Dried up chicken, small portions, not much imagination with presentation. Should have checked till reception before leaving - over charged. Not has good as George Street branch.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BookingOfficeJDW, General Manager at The Booking Office, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Hello John,
I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us. We hope this has not put you off coming back as we have taken your feedback on board and worked on improving our service and food presentation.
Regards,
The Booking Office Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Popped in here for lunch and really impressed by what was on offer, Very upmarket feel for a Weatherspoon pub and 1st day it opened. Very happy with the food and drink on offer. Staff were a credit being helpful and knowledgeable about the choices of dishes on the menu. I had the chicken piri piri washed down with a pint of beer . All in all perfect location for anyone planning on travelling to the airport on the bus or catching a train. Why pay more in the airport when you can have a meal before you travel there.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BookingOfficeJDW, General Manager at The Booking Office, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Hello,
We are glad you enjoyed you experience at The Booking Office and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Regards,
The Booking Office Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Booking Office also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Booking Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.