We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait”
Review of Henrick's Bar

Henrick's Bar
Ranked #279 of 2,527 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$29
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bruntsfield
Description: Welcome to Henrick's Bar & Bistro. Since 2010, Ailsa and Chris have continued to grow the Henrick's reputation, ensuring that we are always offering the best service, ambience, food and drink in the Bruntsfield and Tollcross area. Throughout our 7 years at Henrick's, we have evolved. We have had two refurbishments, a wedding (ours) and even started growing our own staff (Hamish was born in 2014), so whether your popping in for either a wee glass of something refreshing, a bite to eat or just a catch up, come ans say hello, as we love seeing new and regular faces each day.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Long wait”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The resturaunt was clearly understaffed with only two visible staff working. We waited over an hour for our food, having chased it up. Drinks were also slow to arrive after being ordered. The food was okay and we felt sorry for the polite and apologetic staff who clearly needed more hands on board. We ordered the pre theatre menu it's just a good job we were not actually going to the theatre or we would have missed the start

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    92
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uttoxeter
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent Food And charming staff”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We book this place after seeing good reports on trip advisor and was not dissappointed,the food was served quickly and had a wonderful flavour. The staff were very nice and could not do enough for us we will tell anyone who goes to Edinburgh to go here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wilkosteph28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good bar for a conversation.”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We spent a few hours here last Saturday night and we were impressed. While relatively busy, we got a seat without any problems and could easily have a conversation above the background music. Good selection of cocktails and accomodating staff happy to go out of their way. We would return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesiejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Pub, Welcomming and serving excellent Food”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We found this Pub a excellent choice for our dinner a late evening, we were greeted by friendly staff and we both had a nacho dish which we both found to be excellent, they have a good selection of drinks and friendly and swift service, we had to wait a bit for the food to be prepared but it was more than wort the wait, you could feel that it was made fresh and not reheats, the atmosphere is warm and relaxed, and there was decent privacy from other tables. Price-wise it was very reasonable. I would recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hahnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“This is a great family owned bar.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were lucky enough to meet one of the owners...hope the baby arrives soon!...lol...the lunch time stop included fried haggis spring rolls and local beers. Was So nice we went back for dinner and enjoyed the extremely hot and fresh beef burger and fish cakes....great staff and super food...thanks guys, it made Edinburgh that much more memorable?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank puckstopper31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Henrick's Bar also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Henrick's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing