We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Browns Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #60 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We were four people (two couples) who stayed at Browns for 5 nights during our stay in Edinburgh. Everything where perfect, the staff were both very friendly and helpfull and there where a wide variety of choices for breakfast (for being a rather small B&B).

The rooms where great with a large bed, plenty of storage for clothings and a bathroom in each room.

The location is great (around 10 min walk to the city core).

I would strongly recommend this to anyone who wants a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobias N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    26
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
124
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Lovely bed and breakfast in good location within walking distance of the city centre. Great breakfast selection with tasty haggis. Warm, welcoming hosts and very clean rooms which contain everything you could possibly need. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oyvindb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Decent B&B reasonable distance to center of old city and only a few blocks from theatre district. Kind of a marginal neighborhood but felt safe behind the two locked front doors. Small rooms but very clean and had everything you might need. Super nice breakfast. Friendly helpful nice hosts. Room 3 has a mini bathroom with the toilet practically in the shower. Enough outlets for charging gadgets but wifi not that strong or consistent. Good option if you want to spend one night after theatre but I would look for better location closer to old center next time.

Room Tip: I suspect room three has worst bathroom setup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PithyPacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night in this excellent bed and breakfast house. Norrie and Marion were extremely pleasant & helpful and added to our stay in Edinburgh.
The accommodation was very clean, well furnished and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was of an excellent standard with good choices and exceptionally well presented with quality accessories.
Set in a quite location, it is only 10 - 12 minutes walk into the centre of Edinburgh and only 5 minutes to the Playhouse.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianbrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here over the long weekend while on a mini break to Edinburgh. Browns B&B was an excellent choice of accomodation- really lovely and cosy rooms, very clean, great breakfast selection, central and very warm welcoming hosts! Its no more than 10 mins walk to the city centre. Would highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank jbodie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We booked two rooms for four of us and both were nice and clean (even one of them has an odd toilet design, but that wasn't a major problem).

Breakfast was also very nice. Just one suggestion is that Browns can consider improving the wi-fi set up as it is not working very well, especially at night. We always got disconnected in the evening my family and I want to do some Facebook-ing.

But overall it was a nice experience with Browns.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night as we were going to a show, on arrival we were greeted by Marion the landlady and this lady is the most charming lady you will ever meet, it was as though she had known you for ever and thats a big wow in our books. We were then shown to our room which was superb in every way and by the way Marion where do you get your bedding very nice indeed.Breakfast the following morning was awsome the sausages well they were superb everything on the plate looked too good to eat. All in all you wont get better than Browns so we have booked another two nights in June for our wedding anniversaryand another show.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetaximan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#14 of 392 in Edinburgh
544 reviews
Dene Guest House
#21 of 392 in Edinburgh
328 reviews
94DR
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bonnie's Guesthouse
#64 of 392 in Edinburgh
127 reviews
Barony House
#4 of 392 in Edinburgh
687 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 392 in Edinburgh
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Bed and Breakfast

Property: Browns Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 McDonald Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Browns Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns Bed and Breakfast located on the east side of the city, ideally located to take advantage of the cities attraction and sites as well as being within walking distance to both the train and bus stations. The surrounding area has a great selection and restaurants and pubs, offering something for all tastes. Each of our bright, modern and comfortable rooms have en-suite as well as hospitality tray, hairdryer, cable TV and free wireless Internet.Breakfast Menu for your choice to make ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Browns Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Bed And Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing