We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guest house.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Browns Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #65 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 October 2008

This is one of the best B&Bs that we have ever stayed at. The location is great, especially for the price. We walked to Princes Street - 10 mins, the Britannia 20 mins, the Playhouse theatre just up the road. If we didn't feel like walking, with lots of buses stopping 50 mtrs down the street and with the £2.50 all day tickets, it was easy to get anywhere in Edinburgh.
The food was great, full English/Scottish breakfast including haggis, lots of toast, marmalades and jams, tea or coffee, fruit juice, so much so that we didn't need to eat again till mid afternoon. The room was warm and clean, bed comfortable and the shower great. Plenty of teas, coffees and hot chocolate in the room as well as short-breads, biscuits and sweets. All very clean with lots of nice touches and a very warm reception from our hosts Marion and Norrie. Have no hesitation in recommending them to friends and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JimandJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Browns Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2008

We stayed at the MacDonald Guest House for 5 nights in September 2008.
Great location with a 10 m walk to "uptown" and Waverly Station.
We had a nice and completely quiet room (triple glass window) facing the street.
A delicious and complete breakfast (eggs, mushrooms, bacon, etc.) in a tidy and clean breakfast room.
There was an excellent shower in a new ensuite bathroom. And also a very much comfortable bed. Very fast Wifi internet connection was important for our work during our vacations.
And a great service from the proprietors.
Marion and Norman, thank you so much for your hospitality and professionalism.

María Inés and Rogelio
Buenos Aires - Argentina

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ARGEN2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

We loved our stay here at The McDonald Guesthouse. Our hosts, Marion and Norry were very friendly. Our room was very clean and cozy. Breakfast was delicious. Location is great...walking distance to the Royal Mile, Hollyrood Park, the castle, Princes St. We highly recommend this place and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhobelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

My friend sorted out this guesthouse and I was very pleased when we turned up. This is a small guesthouse with really friendly owners in walking distance from the central area of the city, but there are loads of buses and taxi was only £6 from the station. It's quiet and the front rooms are triple glazed to give an undisturbed sleep. Clean, newly decorated rooms were very homely, and I loved the Scottish breakfast with the addition of Haggis if desired (my first taste of haggis and I loved it!) we were so full we didn't eat again until tea time! Will definately stay here again and recommend it to anyone heading up to lovely Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenfa1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We recently stayed in this lovely B and B while on vacation. It was comfortable, clean, and cozy. Well situated so that you can walk to all the sites or easy access to all the bus lines. The owners are very helpful, and I really appreciated their laid back attitude. Breakfast was a feast and kept us going for the whole day! Excellent small touches in the rooms like hot water kettle, shortbread, and candies. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pattychiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

We loved the McDonald House and its great location. The B&B is clean, comfortable and offers everything you need for a great stay. Only a 15 minute walk to the castle. Great breakfast and Marion and Norman were great hosts.! We would definitely stay there again and hope to do so soon!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GaPeachGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

We really loved our stay at The McDonald Guesthouse. It's clean and comfortable. The hosts are very friendly and answered any questions we put to them. Location great for getting around to see the sites. The food was excellent and we will definitely be staying there again. No reason for us to even look for another place to stay. Our hats are off to you, Marion and Norman.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyKamper64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 393 in Edinburgh
516 reviews
The Hedges Guest House
#30 of 393 in Edinburgh
362 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#12 of 393 in Edinburgh
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraoch House
#8 of 393 in Edinburgh
767 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#19 of 393 in Edinburgh
708 reviews
Bonnie's Guesthouse
#59 of 393 in Edinburgh
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 McDonald Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £89 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Browns Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns Bed and Breakfast located on the east side of the city, ideally located to take advantage of the cities attraction and sites as well as being within walking distance to both the train and bus stations. The surrounding area has a great selection and restaurants and pubs, offering something for all tastes. Each of our bright, modern and comfortable rooms have en-suite as well as hospitality tray, hairdryer, cable TV and free wireless Internet.Breakfast Menu for your choice to make ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Browns Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Bed And Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing