We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Browns Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #61 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 April 2009

We stayed at the McDonald in March 2009. Marion and Norrie are charming hosts. The rooms are clean and the breakfast was lovely. There are loads of resturants around and it's a short walk up Lieth Walk to Princes Street. Good value for money rounds off a good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PijuDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2009

Hosts are incredibly warm and friendly! It is a short walk to Princes Street. Breakfast was tasty, we loved trying haggis. The room had lots of little comforts, tea, cookies and hard candies.The only flaw was that the toilet was oddly positioned in our bathroom, so it was a little bit of a squeeze. All in all this Guesthouse is a comfortable place to explore Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2BGartists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

I stayed there last weekend of february with 4 friends so we've booked tot. 3 rooms. All with private service, TV sat, Wi-Fi.
Clean, supply of all towels necessary, quit, breakfast choice (full scottish, fruits, sweets ..and so on).
Owners are really kind, available for all suggests about Edinbra trip and with a funny elegant little dog.
Next to Guesthouse there's a pub with good beers and choise of dishes at convenient price.
On foot you can reach old town and main monuments in about 15 minutes but that zone is also serviced by taxis and buses (and from 2010 ..with new suburban railway).

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damianocunego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

I stayed at the McDonald guesthouse with 2 of my sisters in Feb. The room was clean, service was excellent, and the hosts, Marion and Norman, were super friendly. The price was great too!! I stayed in the off-season, so I imagine it's a bit higher at other times in the year, but still worth it! You pre-order breakfast the night before and it is filling enough to get you through till late afternoon. The location is good too, we could walk to the center of town in about 10-15min and the area is safe. There are also some pubs and restaurants nearby so you don't have to go far in the evening. I would definitly stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabella421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

The couple who own this B&B make you feel very welcome. It is not far from Prince's street, which is where most of the good shops are.

Don't get a taxi from the airport. Get a bus instead as this takes you 15 mins away from the B&B. This is 3 quid each as opposed to a 20 quid cab ride

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drimell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at The McDonald Guesthouse last weekend and were really impressed with just how lovely this accommodation was.
The room was just perfect; a good size, very nicely decorated and furnished, had all the extras you could possibly ask for (wifi, freeview tv, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits (!), hairdryer, towels, toiletries, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space) had a large ensuite bathroom and was immaculately clean. We instantly felt at home in this space, and to be honest found it far nicer then a number of rather expensive hotels we have stayed in, in other cities.
Included in the room price was a hearty and very well cooked breakfast each morning which suited young tourists like us who spent most of our time running around the city trying to see as much as possible, very well.
An easy walk into the city centre meant we didn't need to catch a single bus and we got our bearings very quickly.
Marion and Norman are also great hosts, friendly and very helpful - thank you guys!
We have already given the details of this accommodation to all of our friends and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KCharleswilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

I stayed at the McDonald Guest House for 8 nights in Oct-Nov 2008, and really enjoyed. As a female solo traveller, it was very crucial to have a safe, homey, cozy place, and when I arrived there I realised that I had made a right choice. Safe area, only a few meters off Leith Walk, where you can cantch many buses to various directions (quite convenient), though you will find it very easy to walk to everywhere. Many cafes and restaurants near by, and Tesco express is just around the corner. The room's confortable, warm, functional, spotlessly clean with a lovely taste. There are lots of nice welcoming touches everywhere, such as plenty of tea, coffee with shortbread everyday in the room; hairdryer and hand wash of good quality; ice-cold water server in the hall. Breakfast was also great: you can choose whatever you like from the menu in advance (the night before), so it's really custom-made. Above all these good points, I was very impressed by the kind and honest hospitality of the hosts, Marion and Norman, who always cared if I was enjoying my stay. They truly made my stay happy and comfortable.I definitely go back before long. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank yum2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
Fraoch House
#9 of 394 in Edinburgh
780 reviews
Garlands Guest House
#83 of 394 in Edinburgh
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hedges Guest House
#29 of 394 in Edinburgh
364 reviews
Leith
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#53 of 394 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#14 of 394 in Edinburgh
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 McDonald Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £92 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Browns Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns Bed and Breakfast located on the east side of the city, ideally located to take advantage of the cities attraction and sites as well as being within walking distance to both the train and bus stations. The surrounding area has a great selection and restaurants and pubs, offering something for all tastes. Each of our bright, modern and comfortable rooms have en-suite as well as hospitality tray, hairdryer, cable TV and free wireless Internet.Breakfast Menu for your choice to make ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Browns Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Bed And Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing