We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic! Lovely!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Browns Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #67 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore
1 review
“Fantastic! Lovely!!”
Reviewed 5 September 2009

Marion and Norman are really warm and friendly, and were great hosts! They provided useful information about the city, places of interest and dining places. The triple room that we had was cozy and really lovely. Overall, we had a superb experience with The McDonald Guesthouse, and its a pity that our stay was so short. We'll definitely choose to stay with them again should we visit Edinburgh in the future.

:)
judith & friends from Singapore

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady-JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    26
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
123
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2009

This is the best place i have stayed at when visiting edinburgh.
Marion and Norman can not do enough for you,

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Covbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire, england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

I stayed here for two nights with my fifteen year old daughter. We were visiting the Fringe. The guesthouse was lovely and clean and the owners could not have been nicer. Marion and her husband were very friendly and helpful. The position of the guest house was great and the centre was within walkable distance. I will definitely return next time I visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2009

The location was very close to Waverley and all the attractions we wanted to see. Also, easy to find. The food was very good and the hosts were fabulous. The room was spacious,clean and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clemmons, nc
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

It was our first trip to Scotland and we couldn't have picked a more perfect intro to the country and the city. The Browns are true Scots people and will bend over backwards to be sure you have a good experience. The rooms and breakfast were lovely. Mr Brown even drove us to a residential area one day where we had set up a meeting with a relative of a friend back home. A tooth came out of my partial and Mrs. Brown sent us to their denture repair technician who had us going in 15 minutes for $15.00.
They are on the East end of The New Town area close enough to walk to the center or there are buses right there. There are some great neighborhood restaurants within a block or two. We thought it was an ideal location for less money that staying closer to the center.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzydlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the McDonald Guesthouse. The room and ensuite were clean and adequate size. Full Scottish breakfast daily (or lighter choice if preferred). The owners are very friendly - a history each morning with breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Room was lovely, exceptionally clean and homely, plenty of tea and coffee and welcoming packs of biscuits and sweets. Porridge was lovely followed by a full cooked Scottish breakfast including haggis!
Perfect location as few minutes walk to city centre and castle. About a mile to Ocean Harbour where Royal Britannia is berthed but buses are very frequent and there are nice pubs and restaurants there.
Marion and Norrie are very welcoming and friendly and we would highly recommend this Guesthouse to our friends and anyone visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sb57_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#38 of 444 in Edinburgh
106 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#10 of 444 in Edinburgh
526 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 444 in Edinburgh
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Kew House
Kew House
#6 of 444 in Edinburgh
784 reviews
Bonnie's Guesthouse
#75 of 444 in Edinburgh
118 reviews
94DR
#9 of 444 in Edinburgh
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Bed and Breakfast

Property: Browns Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 McDonald Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Browns Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns Bed and Breakfast located on the east side of the city, ideally located to take advantage of the cities attraction and sites as well as being within walking distance to both the train and bus stations. The surrounding area has a great selection and restaurants and pubs, offering something for all tastes. Each of our bright, modern and comfortable rooms have en-suite as well as hospitality tray, hairdryer, cable TV and free wireless Internet.Breakfast Menu for your choice to make ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Browns Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Bed And Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing