We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Browns Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #57 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Conveniently located only a short walk from the Royal Mile, the McDonald Guest house was a perfect choice for our visit to Edinburgh. Marion and Norman are excellent hosts, very helpful in giving recommendations and directions, and the breakfasts, with choices ranging from full Scottish breakfast to croissants, were wonderful. Restaurants were an easy walk, as was the castle and the Botanic Gardens; in fact, we parked our car the entire time we were in the city. We would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMMcD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2009

We (3 friends) have been there for 2 nights. The triple room was spacy and the scottish breakfast ideal to start the journey. Marion and Norman are marvelous hosts and real kind. In walking distance from the Center (+/- 15 min), the location is ideal to discover Edinburgh. We loved the place and would highly recommand it to anyone wanting to discover this beautiful city.
For car holders, we had some difficulties to find a parking area nearby, but this didn't bother us.
We'll be back soon

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Totte62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

Marion and Norman are really warm and friendly, and were great hosts! They provided useful information about the city, places of interest and dining places. The triple room that we had was cozy and really lovely. Overall, we had a superb experience with The McDonald Guesthouse, and its a pity that our stay was so short. We'll definitely choose to stay with them again should we visit Edinburgh in the future.

:)
judith & friends from Singapore

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lady-JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

This is the best place i have stayed at when visiting edinburgh.
Marion and Norman can not do enough for you,

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Covbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

I stayed here for two nights with my fifteen year old daughter. We were visiting the Fringe. The guesthouse was lovely and clean and the owners could not have been nicer. Marion and her husband were very friendly and helpful. The position of the guest house was great and the centre was within walkable distance. I will definitely return next time I visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

The location was very close to Waverley and all the attractions we wanted to see. Also, easy to find. The food was very good and the hosts were fabulous. The room was spacious,clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertaCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

It was our first trip to Scotland and we couldn't have picked a more perfect intro to the country and the city. The Browns are true Scots people and will bend over backwards to be sure you have a good experience. The rooms and breakfast were lovely. Mr Brown even drove us to a residential area one day where we had set up a meeting with a relative of a friend back home. A tooth came out of my partial and Mrs. Brown sent us to their denture repair technician who had us going in 15 minutes for $15.00.
They are on the East end of The New Town area close enough to walk to the center or there are buses right there. There are some great neighborhood restaurants within a block or two. We thought it was an ideal location for less money that staying closer to the center.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzydlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,633 reviews
New Town
The Guest Room
The Guest Room
#44 of 395 in Edinburgh
195 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#14 of 395 in Edinburgh
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Six Brunton Place Guest House
#12 of 395 in Edinburgh
546 reviews
Kellerstain Stables B&B
#20 of 395 in Edinburgh
171 reviews
West End
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
#50 of 395 in Edinburgh
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 McDonald Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £91 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Browns Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns Bed and Breakfast located on the east side of the city, ideally located to take advantage of the cities attraction and sites as well as being within walking distance to both the train and bus stations. The surrounding area has a great selection and restaurants and pubs, offering something for all tastes. Each of our bright, modern and comfortable rooms have en-suite as well as hospitality tray, hairdryer, cable TV and free wireless Internet.Breakfast Menu for your choice to make ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Browns Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Bed And Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing