We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very, clean, friendly and welcoming atmosphere, relatively well situated for the city sights.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Browns Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #67 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shropshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A very, clean, friendly and welcoming atmosphere, relatively well situated for the city sights.”
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We enjoyed our stay; the breakfast was very good and our hosts were very obliging and helpful. The room was innovative, with an interesting en-suite arrangement, but it served its purpose well. A good choice, at a reasonable cost. Parking could be a problem during a weekeday.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    26
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
124
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

My husband and I spent two very pleasant nights at The McDonald Guesthouse. The place was homey but modern and our bed/bathrooms were very very clean. The owners, Marion and her husband obviously put alot of thought in creating the best possible guest experience. I appreciate the hotel-style touches like the recessed lighting and toiletries in the bathroom; fluffy pillows and beverages in our room complete with wi-fi and a small plasma cable tv. Marion offers you a choice of a full scottish breakfast (haggis optional) or a lighter continental breakfast. If you don't have alot of time in Edinburgh, you may need to know that the guesthouse is not located at the Royal Mile, but a 5-minute bus-ride or (15min slow walk) would take you there or to Prince Street. Even with just 2 days, I found that the travelling was perfectly fine as buses were many and frequent. Everything would have been perfect if I hadn't been woken up at 2am the second night. The wall between my room and the house next door was thin enough for us to hear a neighbour who probably had a couple of drinks before he came home. After telling his mates about his day, I think he went to bed and so did we. Overall the experience was great and we would certainly come back the next time we visit again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cerealkiller_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Visiting Edinburgh and wanting to stay in the Leith Walk area, Marion and Norrie at the McDonald Guest House offered a warm and friendly welcome. The whole place is obviously well cared for and 'spic and span' throughout. Lovely breakfast and very comfortable, albeit short stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxwell8101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

We have just come back from a weekend at the McDonald guest house, it truely was home from home, Marion and Norrie were fantstic host and are lovely people who could not do enough for you, the room and guest house was immaculate the bed and pillows were more comfortable than ours at home. It was in a perfect location with and within walking distace to princess street. We will definatly recommend and will be going back whenever we are up there again

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotsWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Stayed at the MacDonald Guesthouse over a weekend in early March 2010. All the previous reviews are right on the ball. Really enjoyed our stay and would really recommend the MacDonald to others. It's well run, extremely clean, tidy and the rooms are incredibly well equipped. As other reviewers have commented, the hospitality and the breakfasts rally are top rate. We'll be returning to Edinburgh in June and September, MacDonalds will be our first choice for accommodation. Well done Norrie and Marian.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvador_convert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We were so glad to have been recommended this place to stay. It was very clean, warm and very comfortable beds. Norrie and Marion are excellent hosts who showed a very caring approach to us as guests. The breakfast was lovely and there is a choice if you don't want a full Scottish breakfast.

We will be back. Thankyou so much.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vara17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corby
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2010

our stay at this guest house was for the new year .we were made very welcome from the moment we arrived until our departure.everything about this guest house was first class,the room was clean and spacious with small comforts that make the stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithvallance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#14 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraoch House
#8 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Bonnie's Guesthouse
#75 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Abercorn Guest House
#30 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Bed and Breakfast

Property: Browns Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 McDonald Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Browns Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns Bed and Breakfast located on the east side of the city, ideally located to take advantage of the cities attraction and sites as well as being within walking distance to both the train and bus stations. The surrounding area has a great selection and restaurants and pubs, offering something for all tastes. Each of our bright, modern and comfortable rooms have en-suite as well as hospitality tray, hairdryer, cable TV and free wireless Internet.Breakfast Menu for your choice to make ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Browns Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Bed And Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing