We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Browns Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #62 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gem in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the McDonald Guesthouse last week. The room was clean and brightly furnished, the beds were comfortable and complimentary Wi Fi was available. These, combined with the personal touch mainfested through the warm hospitality shown by Marion and Norrie ("Pots") and the sumptous Scottish breakfasts cooked by Pots made us felt at home. What else could weary travellers ask for ? The McDonald Guesthouse in a rare gem in Edinburgh indeed. We would not hesitate to recommend it to other friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuekFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    26
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
123
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

We spent two nights at this family run guest house. The beds were comfy, the rooms incredibly clean and the owners Norman and Marion made us feel extremely welcome.
An ideal location and a fantastic breakfast have left us wanting to come back for more.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewDavid1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop's Stortford, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

Would thoroughly recommend this friendly and warm guesthouse. The rooms are well decorated with spacious en-suites and we liked the stylish breakfast room. The breakfasts were beautifully cooked with lots of choice, and as a non-meat eater I was offered veggie sausages. Marion and Norrie are lovely hosts and very helpful. The location is excellent - a few minutes walk from Princes Street and close to Valvona and Crolla which I always like to visit when in Edinburgh. There are lots of places to eat and drink nearby. Due to the volcanic ash saga we had to drive to Edinburgh instead of flying and we were able to park our car unrestricted just one street away. Indeed over the weekend we could have parked for free just opposite the guesthouse. If you don't want to walk into the city centre there is a bus stop within yards.
The prices are very reasonable too.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binstortford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

A big thankyou to Marion and Norrie, both fantastic hosts, lovely guest house ideally situated for all the sites in Edinburgh. Room was very clean as was the rest of the house and breakfast spot on (loved the porridge and kippers) and very good value for money. Bed was very comfy, only slight disadvantage for light sleepers was the close proximity to a fairly busy road (we were in rm 1 at the front) but we only noticed this one night and doesn't detract from the whole stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1980chimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

We enjoyed our stay; the breakfast was very good and our hosts were very obliging and helpful. The room was innovative, with an interesting en-suite arrangement, but it served its purpose well. A good choice, at a reasonable cost. Parking could be a problem during a weekeday.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

My husband and I spent two very pleasant nights at The McDonald Guesthouse. The place was homey but modern and our bed/bathrooms were very very clean. The owners, Marion and her husband obviously put alot of thought in creating the best possible guest experience. I appreciate the hotel-style touches like the recessed lighting and toiletries in the bathroom; fluffy pillows and beverages in our room complete with wi-fi and a small plasma cable tv. Marion offers you a choice of a full scottish breakfast (haggis optional) or a lighter continental breakfast. If you don't have alot of time in Edinburgh, you may need to know that the guesthouse is not located at the Royal Mile, but a 5-minute bus-ride or (15min slow walk) would take you there or to Prince Street. Even with just 2 days, I found that the travelling was perfectly fine as buses were many and frequent. Everything would have been perfect if I hadn't been woken up at 2am the second night. The wall between my room and the house next door was thin enough for us to hear a neighbour who probably had a couple of drinks before he came home. After telling his mates about his day, I think he went to bed and so did we. Overall the experience was great and we would certainly come back the next time we visit again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cerealkiller_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

Visiting Edinburgh and wanting to stay in the Leith Walk area, Marion and Norrie at the McDonald Guest House offered a warm and friendly welcome. The whole place is obviously well cared for and 'spic and span' throughout. Lovely breakfast and very comfortable, albeit short stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxwell8101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#11 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraoch House
#9 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Bonnie's Guesthouse
#72 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Abercorn Guest House
#39 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Bed and Breakfast

Property: Browns Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 McDonald Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Browns Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns Bed and Breakfast located on the east side of the city, ideally located to take advantage of the cities attraction and sites as well as being within walking distance to both the train and bus stations. The surrounding area has a great selection and restaurants and pubs, offering something for all tastes. Each of our bright, modern and comfortable rooms have en-suite as well as hospitality tray, hairdryer, cable TV and free wireless Internet.Breakfast Menu for your choice to make ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Browns Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Bed And Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing