We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the little extra that made it very special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Browns Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #57 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 November 2010

the hosts could not have done more to make our stay comfortable. They have thought about absolutely everything that we might have wished/wanted and there were little extra that made that b&b stand out.
the location is perfect and we had a very quiet bedroom at the back which is a bonus in the centre of Edingburgh. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liv020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2010

Really happy to find this B&B. Really good breakfast. It's clean and close to downtown. warm welcome from Marion.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeromeEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Unquestionably the best hosts in the north, Marion & Norrie. The hotel, the room, the dining area and the garden were immaculate, the brekkie was good and the beds were exceptional.

I've stayed in a few hotels and guesthouses but this is there at the top, affordable and every penny worth it when you get chatting to the hoteliers. Norrie was so good, he even borrowed his wifes car to nip us to our venue as it was raining! What more could you ask for.

If you're in Edinburgh, look them up. I'm going to the Tattoo festival next year and won't be staying anywhere else.....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I recently stayed at the MacDonald Guest House for my first visit to Edinburgh. I couldn't have asked for more. The rooms were spotless and the owners Marian and Norman couldn't have been friendlier, kinder, or more accommodating. The breakfasts were superb and it was a pleasure to talk with Norman and the other guests.

The rooms were clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, and there were nice "extras" that you don't normally expect from a B&B. There was plenty of tea, coffee, and the bathroom included shampoos and amenities that you normally get from a hotel.

The location was also excellent. It was a brisk 15 minute walk to Princes street, but was also across the street from a bus stop that would take you virtually anywhere. We walked to Princes street a few times, but took the bus to Edinburgh castle since it was rainy. Either way, the walk is straightforward, a bit up hill, but nice nonetheless.

There were plenty of restaurants and pubs within walking distance, but again, the bus can get you anywhere you want to go for only 3 pounds for a day pass.

Overall I highly recommend the MacDonald Guest House as well as Edinburgh. Fantastic B&B, fantastic city and fantastic people. I thank them for making my first trip to Scotland, a great one. No doubt I will be going back the next chance I get!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilpup24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

The McDonald Guesthouse was a great place to stay for our first time in Edinburgh. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and our room was great.

The room was clean, very comfortable and had everything you needed for a pleasant visit. The house itself is very close to the city center as it's only a ten minute walk to Princes Street.

We will definitely return to The McDonald Guesthouse next time we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvestri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

This guesthouse is one of my favourites. The hosts, Marion and Norrie are warm and welcoming and just love the company of their guests. We received a warm welcome and we arrived early afternoon, but this was no problem to have an early checkin. We were assisted with finding a nearby free street park. All rooms are on street level, a bonus for those of us who don't know how to travel light. The guesthouse is about 1km walk to Princes St. Buses available on the corner to take you into the city. Even though this is an inner city location, the room was quiet and peaceful. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. The breakfast was selected the evening before and carefully prepared by Marion. We had the company of Lady Mirren, when we ventured down to breakfast. Hosts helped us with our sightseeing plans. Room was warm and spacious and we had free wi-fi to keep in touch with loved ones. All the little things that matter have been catered for at McDonald Guesthouse. In particular, shower gel, body lotion, soaps, hand sanitiser, tissues, lollies in the room and guest area and a large range of coffee (including decaf) teas including a range of herbals plus hot chocolate. Also plenty of mirrors near power outlets which is helpful when drying and styling hair. Favourite thing would be a really comfy bed and soft luxurious pillows. This place has earnt it's 4 starts. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shippieshake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We stayed two nights. The breakfast was great and the hosts were very nice and helpful. If in Edinburgh we will stay there again if vacancy allows.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarboroughdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Garlands Guest House
#80 of 394 in Edinburgh
119 reviews
McCraes B&B
#49 of 394 in Edinburgh
231 reviews
The Hedges Guest House
#34 of 394 in Edinburgh
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Antler Guest House
#47 of 394 in Edinburgh
70 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Scott House
Scott House
#48 of 394 in Edinburgh
63 reviews
Leith
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#52 of 394 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 McDonald Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £93 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Browns Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns Bed and Breakfast located on the east side of the city, ideally located to take advantage of the cities attraction and sites as well as being within walking distance to both the train and bus stations. The surrounding area has a great selection and restaurants and pubs, offering something for all tastes. Each of our bright, modern and comfortable rooms have en-suite as well as hospitality tray, hairdryer, cable TV and free wireless Internet.Breakfast Menu for your choice to make ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Browns Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Bed And Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing