We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location hotel”

Macdonald Roxburghe Hotel Spa
Ranked #15 of 69 Spas & Wellness in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice location hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here as as group of tourists during 3 nights. Hotel's location is perfect. Arts Gallery is a walking distance but bars and shopping are even closer:) Plenty of room in the lobby area and around. Room was nice and clean. The only small negative was absence of internet in the room. Even downstairs wifi was not very well working. Sometimes it just would not connect.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SergeyOsadchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    11
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Titchfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great bits with some ok bits”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

The hotel is split between some areas that are superb and others that look tired and in need of some TLC.
Rooms were comfortable and the views of the catsle are splendid

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located at the end of Princes St furthest from the Royal Mile, this did make it feel a long way when walking to the tourist attractions in the gusty Scottish weather, but it was perfectly located for the galleries and wandering the beautiful Georgian streets of the New Town. It also meant that it didn't feel like a tourist haunt, and there were certainly no stag parties. The venue does seem to be used a lot for functions, these seems to use the main atrium as extra space which does make you feel under dressed when dragging yourself in from the rain to come face to face with black tie finery. The staff were very helpful and the room well appointed. There are tea and coffee making facilities, no fridge and a bottle of water (just the one between two of us, but at least it was provided)
The hotel has a spa which we did not get to use, nor did we eat in the hotel preferring to go out into Edinburgh proper. A well designed and pleasant looking hotel which does feel 5 star

Helpful?
Thank MistiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here 17th November for a few nights from Newcastle. We found the hotel lovely and so close to the centre of Edinburgh. All staff were happy to help and always so polite! The food we had was very good dinner and breakfast and service was to an good standard too!...

We also use the spa facilities while our stay at the hotel, only thing is we noticed is they r a little run down but still enjoyed it as something extra for us both to do! We always managed to book spa treatments last minute which was a extra special treat! Our therapist's Fiona and Emma were so professional and made us feel so comfortable. The treatments were so relaxing so thank you girls!

Overall I would recommend this hotel as it made a fanastic break away and we will definietly be returning!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank melaine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
2 reviews
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Very nice gym and swiming pool. it have lockers and a place to get changed. steaming room didnt worked while I stayed in the hotel. Just a little bit cmplicated to find it in the hotel.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Macdonald Roxburghe Hotel Spa also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Macdonald Roxburghe Hotel Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing