We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of West End Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West End Hotel
Ranked #102 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

just had my sisters hen wkend in Edinburgh. we stayed here for 1 night. staff very friendly-colin, manager, was very accommodating, we got early check in and late check out, great for us as a large group (17). rooms were clean and warm, plenty of space. only comment is hadn't realised we shared bathrooms with others so could be crowded and not 'tidy', but we managed. bar facilities were fab, 20% off food and drink if guest in hotel. service was quick and food was lovely- no complaints there. as a group we were respectful of others and we weren't disturbed by any noise from others-prob down to big thick walls of old building :-) breakfast was again quick service plenty of choice for money. i would def recommend for groups, great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    104
    30
    14
    14
See reviews for
21
43
59
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Just got back from having a night stay at the hotel for my friends hen do, I've been reading some of the peoples reviews & I think some people just like to be picky, all staff was very helpful, beds very comfy (did squeak abit but can't be helped) bedroom & bathroom very warm, the only thing which I didn't like was that there was only one toilet but 3 showers (upstairs) but we all survived, food was lovely good platefuls too may I add you get 20% off for being a guest which is fab, would defo stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend to go and see the Scotland v England (Six Nations)
We booked this hotel as it was near to Murrayfield and a very good price as some of the other hotels were charging top dollar!!!
I was a little unsure when I realised they also had group accommodation but I must say that it didn't bother us in the slightest. The place is an old Townhouse which has been converted into a hotel and completed to a very high standard. As the place has high ceilings there is quite a few stairs to climb but to be honest I don't mind the exercise! This also means the walls are thick to drown any other noise out.
The breakfast in the morning was included and was more than enough to set you up for the day. We also had lunch before the game which was of top standard and you also received discount off your bill for being a guest.
The staff at the hotel where always there to help and were very friendly.
I will be back to The West End Hotel and highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This review has to be seen in the context of the fact that we paid £570 for a four night stay. That's £142.50 a night! The explanation was that it was a rugby weekend when hotel rooms can be at a premium in Edinburgh and clearly this was a disastrous mistake on our part. That said any hotel that charges that much must surely deliver minimum standards and although we were foolish to make the booking they were not just greedy but borderline dishonest to offer the deal.

This is not an hotel at all. What it is is a hostel for groups of young people who sleep in dormitories. The hotel type rooms like ours are small but adequate - or would be if the prices were reasonable and the conditions adequate. We were on the 2nd Floor which is a hefty climb up a steep staircase. There is no lift. We shared the floor with one of the dormitories where the young people made a huge amount of noise well into the early hours - 3:30am on one night.they were unsupervised and the proprietors made no attempt to get them to be quieter.

On the first day we were there our room was not ready when we returned at 3:00pm. The "housekeeper" was apparently busy - making up dormitory beds I expect! We were given drinks and chocolates as compensation - some sign of guilt perhaps!

The public rooms are a bar and a dining area. On Friday and Saturday nights there is live music which means that if this isn't your thing you have to stay out or go to your room. The breakfasts (included !) were good and the staff pleasant. At, say, £50 a night for a double room - and if you don't mind the noise - this might just be an acceptable place to stay. But my advice would be to avoid like the plague - unless you're eighteen and want to run free and make a row!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PaddyBriggs46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M, General Manager at West End Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay.

I am sorry to learn of the unfortunate experience you had during your visit. All hotels have group bookings and noisy customers from time to time, in particular during weekends of high demand, such as Rugby, and we always take appropriate steps to deal with noise or improper behaviour. Unfortunately on this occasion none of our night porters were alerted to any disruption from any of the rooms.
I did advise on check-in that the Night Porter could be contacted from the telephone in your room should any problems arise during the night.

I apologise for the room not being serviced on your return to the Hotel at 3pm on your first day, we were extremely busy that day due to a full check-in and our housekeeper was running behind schedule. We always aim to have rooms serviced by 3:30pm at the latest. At the time, you accepted our offer of complimentary chocolates and drinks in the hotel bar, as a gesture of good will & I did make arrangements for your room to be serviced at the earlier time of 12:00pm for the remainder of your stay.

With regards to your comments on the hostel accommodation, we do not hide the fact that we offer shared accommodation in the Hotel and our website does state that we offer both private rooms and shared accommodation, and there are pictures of our dormitory rooms on all websites where the West End Hotel is bookable. We advise any potential customers in our property description on our booking sites that all rooms are accessible by stairs only and there is no lift. This is due to the building being a B listed conservation building and structural changes such as adding a lift are not permitted and so this is an area outwith our control.

Unfortunately if complains are not brought to our attention during a guests stay we are unable to to remedy the matter.

Again, I can only apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us but I am pleased to say bad reviews are in the minority.

Please be assured that your feedback is important to us and we endeavour to continually improve our standards to meet all our customers’ needs.

Once again I should like to apologise for any inconvenience caused on this occasion.

Best regards,
Management representative
The West End Hotel Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raalte, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed with a group of friends (16) for a weekend.
We had a fantastic time in a great hotel with perfect hostel facilities.
The hotel is near station Haymarket and is cheap, clean, with a nice bar and live music in the weekend.
The food is of perfect quality and most of all, the staff is extraordinary.
A lot of compliments for all of them.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The West End Hotel was a joy to stay at. We spent 2 nights there for Hogmanay and could not fault it. We arrived slightly early for check-in, but were invited to either leave our bags or have a drink in the hotel bar. The decor was modern, clean, warm and vibrant throughout. The room was always warm enough, comfortable bed and with tea and coffee facilities and a very nice powerful shower and modern bathroom made it a very pleasant stay. The staff were always helpful and polite and breakfast was lovely. They also offered a discount in the bar for residence. The bar is open to the public, but was quiet and comfortable with sky sports.

Princes street was only 10 mins walk and another 10 mins to the castle and Royal Mile. We paid £3.50 each way on an Airlink Bus, to and from the Airport, which takes about 25 mins and can get off at Haymarket, which is just around the corner.

It also has dormitories available for groups or cheaper options.

It was New Years Eve when we stayed, so cost a lot more than normal, but everywhere did too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

This place is far from what you'd call a hostel, it's so nice. I've stayed in so many hostels around the world and it's the best by miles. So clean and it feels like your in a proper hotel. Bathrooms amazing kitchen facilities brill and FREE to use laundry...it's such a great place. Oh and 20% off lovely food they do. Love it!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Agils86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
27 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#11 of 205 in Edinburgh
1,365 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 205 in Edinburgh
1,488 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#22 of 205 in Edinburgh
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Hotel

Property: West End Hotel
Address: 35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh EH12 5AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — West End Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning City Centre B&B Edinburgh with Stylish & Comfortable Accommodation.The West End Hotel Edinburgh offers stylish, comfortable accommodation in a mixture of tastefully decorated standard and ensuite rooms in the centre of Edinburgh, close to all this magnificent city has to offer. Providing a high standard of customer service and with a great location and well equipped accommodation, the West End Hotel is an ideal choice whether you are visiting Edinburgh for business or pleasure.The hotel is located in a quiet residential area, while still in the heart of the city, just a 15 minute walk from the West End of Princes Street as well as being conveniently located withing walking distance of Edinburgh’s many tourist attractions and the city’s main business districts. It is only 5 minutes walk to one of Edinburgh's main bus routes and a 10 minute walk to Haymarket Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing