We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, comfortable stay. Nice B&B”

15 Merchiston Gardens
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
15 Merchiston Gardens
Ranked #311 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for three nights whilst visiting family. Enjoyed my stay here. Nice continental breakfast which you choose the night before and it is delivered to your door with a cheery 'Good Morning'. Very comfortable room. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Office E, Receptionist at 15 Merchiston Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate the time you have taken to write a review and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay at our home. Hope to see you again, all the very best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

3 nights there with a couple of friends for this very nice B&B, very quiet, easy connexion to the city center, perfect wifi.
We felt sometimes like in "Harry Potter" very quiet house.
The 2 rooms we have seen with simpathetic views on typical backside garden

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Office E, Receptionist at 15 Merchiston Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We can see what you mean when you say it gives you a happy potter vibe, it is a lovely example of a Victorian terrace house with architecture just like in Harry Potter. The reason for this is that J.K Rowling, author of Harry Potter and Edinburgh local, lives not 20 minutes away and was inspired by this gorgeous city! Perhaps if you visit us again you could even check out the elephant café in town where she actually wrote some of the books! Hope to see you again, all the very best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We made a booking for four nights at Merchiston Gardens through booking.com several weeks in advance of travel and were all set to travel up by plane to Edinburgh then got a phone call the day before travel from the owner saying that she had to cancel our booking. She claimed that she had tried to contact us by phone, although no messages had been left, and furthermore claimed that we had not emailed in advance to check on the accommodation, although I had emailed twice and had received replies on both occasions. It seems very likely that she was intent on accepting a higher priced booking application rather than our discounted online one, something which chimes with other experiences articulated in some of the other TripAdvisor comments. Fortunately we were able to find alternative accommodation at the last minute, but this did not make up for the stress that this cancellation caused. If the B&B is going to use booking.com it needs to honour bookings made and not jettison such bookings if another potential customer makes an approach at a higher price.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank jezconolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here for a total of 6 nights with a 2 night break in the middle while we went on a tour. We found this place lovely and very homely. This is not a hotel it is a family home so anyone looking for glitz and glamour look in the city. It is located in a quiet street and not far from the city which can be accessed rather easily by bus. The couple that own this place are lovely and made us feel very welcome when we did see them. It was confusing at times when you needed to speak to someone but all in all we had a lovely time and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

15 Merchiston Gardens is a bit of a conundrum, to be honest. For a bit of context, we travelled as a couple for a long weekend at the Fringe during mid-August, staying for a total of four nights. After struggling to find available rooms in the city, we stumbled upon this place via an agent website. At £139 per night it was a bit on the expensive side, but as we were running out of options and, having already booked our trains, didn’t want to forgo our much-anticipated trip and paid one night’s rate as a deposit.

Realising we wouldn’t be getting there until way past midnight as we were booked on an evening train, we contacted the owners (via the booking agent) and asked if someone would be up at that time, or if they could leave a key somewhere. All credit to them, arrangements were made for our keys to be left outside for when we got there – which they were.

Apparently, the owners like to “personally check in all our guests”. Obviously this wasn’t feasible given we arrived at 1am, but naturally we assumed we’d get a knock on the door or a friendly welcome note left. Nope, nothing. During our stay we had no contact with the owners whatsoever – nobody told us where things were, nobody told us what time we had to check out by or anything – we were pretty much left to work it out for ourselves. The only person we ever saw was the teenage hired cleaner, who knocked on the door on the morning of our departure to ask (in broken English) how we’d like to pay. Charming.

The website paints it as the epitome of luxury, which I’m afraid it’s just not. Some red paint and a few scatter cushions does not equal luxury. The room is referred to as a “suite” – it’s not a suite, it’s just a bedroom. Don’t get me wrong, it was perfectly adequate, but unfortunately not the sumptuous house of indulgence it claims to be. According to the website, “gorgeous fluffy” bathrobes are provided, I assume to cover modesty when making the dash across the hallway to the SHARED bathroom. (We were fully aware we were sharing a bathroom before we stayed, but it doesn’t exactly scream luxury.) These were nowhere to be seen. Also, if having “every sensory detail […] carefully refined to be just right” means being woken at 7am by screaming children, then I’d rather have my sensory details unrefined, thanks. (Again, we were fully aware there were children – we just assumed they’d been told to curb the noise around the guests.)

It seemed that to the owners, 15 Merchiston Gardens is first and foremost a family home, and a B&B as an afterthought to make use of a few spare bedrooms. Before and during our stay, we were constantly reminded that it’s their family home, and provided with a seemingly never-ending list of services they’re unable to provide because of this. Technically it’s just a ‘B’ – breakfast isn’t included in the price, only continental is offered and you have to eat it in your room – with no table or chairs. Which is fine, because I LOVE toast crumbs in my bed. Luckily, there’s a burger van on the way into the city, which does an excellent bacon sandwich for £1.50.

Our stay here was perfectly adequate, but a far cry from what it was made out to be. If you do stay here, expect a 40-45 minute walk into the city (not 20-25 as advertised, unless you’re an Olympic sprinter); expect to not see or hear anyone, except when they want to take your money; expect to be thought of as little more than an inconvenience infringing on a family home; and do expect the so-called “luxury” to be slightly fraying at the edges. Do not expect to feel “completely at home”, as the website promises. You’ve been warned.

They do have a nice cat though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I had a lovely 2 day stay at 15 Merchiston Gardens in Edinburgh. We were made very welcome and our accommodation was excellent. The renovated Victorian house has large comfortable rooms and the laid back atmosphere was very welcome.
The residence is within a easy 25 minute stroll of central Edinburgh and there are several good restaurants on Morningside road which is a 5 minute walk from this residence.
All in all a very pleasant stay .

Room Tip: The Glenturret Suite has a large ensuite bath/shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

All of family stay at merchiston for 1 day we have amazing stay in suite room. Had size big bed and beautiful bathroom. Children's of the house were really lovely to our children's and making us feel so very special. Russ and lorna people of the house thank you for very special memories if only for 1 day..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,016 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 15 Merchiston Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 15 Merchiston Gardens

Address: 15 Merchiston Gardens, Edinburgh EH10 5DD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:2 star — 15 Merchiston Gardens 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No 15 is a beautiful bed and breakfast in a wonderful residential suburb of edinburgh, just a 10 minute bus ride or 25-30 minute walk to Princes Street and the castle. There is free wifi. There are lots of fabulous restaurants close by plus wonderful shops. The house has 3 gorgeous bedrooms, all furnished with genuine antiques, persian rugs and wonderful deep sprung mattresses ensuring a peaceful deep night's sleep. Parking is free all weekend and from 5.30pm to 8.30am each week day. There is totally free parking all week just 400 metres from the B&B. This is a family home with 3 young children, who can be noisy in the mornings so ideally suited to those who want to experience life in a scottish household and want a lovely immaculately clean room and really friendly hosts. Continental breakfast is served to your room by breakfast tray on request for £5.00 per person. All credit card payments are subject to a 2.5% charge. We always try to check in all guests personally but having children does mean that sometimes we can't always be home but your key will always be available in the key safe so please let us know your arrival time where possible or call on arrival if there is no immediate answer at the door. We are strictly non-smoking. Our aim is to help you have a lovely visit to Edinburgh and one that you will always remember and look forward to coming back to. Please note that our latest check in time is 9pm unless prior arrangements have been made. Late check in is usually possible but only when we know about it before hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your 15 Merchiston Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
15 Merchiston Gardens Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing