We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gil Dun Guest House
Ranked #15 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Even I arrived a bit late due to my flight condition, they were very kind and gave me enough information to do in Edinburgh. I felt a warm welcome. Excellent breakfast with choice of hot meal as well :-) I would definitely stay Gil Dun Guest House again when I travel to Edinburgh in the near future!

Room Tip: As a solo traveller, I stayed in a room without bathroom. However I had my own bathroom (with a key...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuki917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    36
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
106
202
29
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Gil Dun Guest House over New Year for Edinburgh's Hogmany festivities. The room was spotless, with a large comfortable bed and a clean, modern ensuite bathroom. The staff were really friendly and helpful, ordering taxis and giving us advice on bus routes etc.. They also very kindly put "New Year" wine and chocolates in the room in addition to the usual tea/coffee tray.

Breakfasts were excellent with a good range on the menu. About 20 minutes walk from the Royal Mile and on a good bus route as well.

Would definately stay here again :)

Room Tip: Room 6 is very nice with views looking over the hills outside the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnsignElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We have just arrived back from our visit to the Gil-Dun Guest House and Edinburgh and once again we were not disappointed. The last time we came here was three years ago an it was like home from home. Gerry and Bill were so gracious made us feel really welcome nothing was too much trouble gave us so much valuable information service was second to none. When we decided that we would visit Edinburgh again we did not hesitate in booking the Gil-Dun again as we enjoyed our visit the first time. We were not disappointed, the rooms and guest house were spotless warm and inviting, breakfast was delicious as it always was with plenty to choose from and Gerry was there making sure that everything was ok which it was. If you are an animal lover you have to meet Troy he is adorable and so friendly just like his owners! The city centre is within walking distance aswell as easily accessible by public transport we chose the first option as it made a refreshing change. Once again I would highly recommend the Gil-Dun Guest House for amazing hospitality, I would certainly return here and would not entertain staying elsewhere. Thank you Gerry and co for having us see you again soon !!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rcarter20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Just got back home after a great weekend in Edinburgh. The Gil Dun Guest House is brilliant. From the first moment we stepped through the doors we were made to feel so welcome, nothing is too much trouble for them and the whole of the guest house is so clean and fresh and the bedrooms were nicely presented and spotlessly clean! On arrival we were given lots of useful information on buses and places to eat. The Breakfasts were amazing, we were spoilt for choice. The Full Scottish Breakfast was wonderful and plentiful, we will definitely be returning, thank you Gil Dun!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My friend and I are young girls in our early 20's traveling alone. The Gil Dun Guest House made us feel safe and conformable. All of questions and needs were met as well. It was very clean, close to the city, quiet and great food! I would certainly stay there again during my next trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The owners were most welcoming and helpful, with advice on transportation options and restaurant suggestions. The location was about 20 minute walk from the Royal Mile, but within a 10 minute walk were two of the top 5 rated restaurants in the city, and several more dining options we wished we had time to visit. A charming pub is just up the street. Free parking in front of the building is a bonus not always found in city bed and breakfasts. (Room for about 4 cars) The room was absolutely beautiful and very quiet and the bed very comfortable. As other reviewers have mentioned, breakfast is top rate. I loved Edinburgh and would love to visit again, and would definitely make Gil-Dun my home base.

Room Tip: Our main floor room was very spacious and faced the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston Spa, New York
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Based on recommendations from Rick Steves (my travel guru!) and Trip Advisor I booked a single room for the too short 3 nights that I visited Edinburgh.

What a fabulous choice! The whole place was so warm and inviting. The rooms that I saw were all just as gorgeously decorated and clean as mine was. Gerry and Bill took excellent care of me, starting with taking my luggage upstairs and then giving me detailed bus instructions so that I made it back "home" each evening.

Breakfast is beautifully served with linen tablecloths and napkins and menus, with each room assigned a table--no chance that you might not have a place to sit when you are ready for breakfast! There was a huge variety of items to choose from on the breakfast table and then of course there was a wonderful selection of items that were cooked to order. My main regret about breakfast was that I couldn't stay long enough to be served on the last morning--but I had some fresh fruit and yogurt and more waiting for me grab on the way to the airport.

What I thought would be a problem turned out to be a minor inconvenience--the single room has a bathroom a short way down the hall. And I normally have to make a trip at least once during the night. But it is a large private bath--locked so there was never a worry that someone might be using it when I headed there. And there is also a sink in the bedroom. I had no problem with WiFi access (as I had had in a couple of other places I stayed on this trip).

The bus stop around the corner is very convenient but it's also an easy walk into the city. I walked down and gave my feet a break after walking around the city and came back by bus. And yes this location is very convenient to the south access trail to Arthur's Seat, but you might want to consider the other trail if you are not in the best physical shape--it's a lot more gentler approach. (I speak from direct personal experience!)

Thanks again to Jerry and Bill--I must come back because I ran out of time as I knew I would--of course, it will be a joy to return to Edinburgh and the Gil Dun!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwk_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 149 in Edinburgh
971 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prestonfield
Prestonfield
#3 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,120 reviews
0.0 mi away
94DR
94DR
#7 of 392 in Edinburgh
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#3 of 392 in Edinburgh
701 reviews
0.3 mi away
23 Mayfield
23 Mayfield
#4 of 392 in Edinburgh
951 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsway Guest House
Kingsway Guest House
#13 of 392 in Edinburgh
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gil Dun Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gil Dun Guest House

Property: Gil Dun Guest House
Address: 9 Spence Street, Edinburgh EH16 5AG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:4 star — Gil Dun Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet cul-de-sac within the oldest Edinburgh district of Newington, close to the city centre and walking distance to Edinburgh Castle and on a regular main bus route. Re-furbished to a high standard in 2010 whilst maintaining many traditional Victorian features. Official four star accommodation. Popular with guests from the USA and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Gil Dun Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gil Dun Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Gil Dun Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing