We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend trip to Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gil Dun Guest House
Ranked #15 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“weekend trip to Edinburgh”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Friendly,very Clean and quiet not too far from city centre. Good bus service worthwhile, correct money only, every 5 min, £1.50.
Ideal for couples and Business possibly not for those wishing to spend their time in the pub.
Try the salmon for breakfast, and rooms warm with the odd touch, which showed thought had gone into providing a service.

Foodies avoid Salisbury arms, experience little better than a Brewers Fayre but with nicer surroundings.

Tend to be critical, ( don't like spending money) but happy to endorse Gil Dun.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david and Judit... h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    37
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
106
203
29
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leander, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Despite arriving early, we were promptly and warmly greeted and shown to our room. We had some issue making the shower work properly, but the proprietor was happy to show us how to work it and offered to transfer us to a different room.
We were cheerfully greeted each morning and chose the hot breakfast, which was delicious! Bacon, poached eggs, beans, tomato, & toast for me, a full Scottish breakfast for my husband. Plenty of hot tea, too. As we were visiting in the off-season, our host happily chatted with us and answered our many questions about where to go, what's worth seeing, etc. He & the staff even left us an anniversary card & bottle of wine to help us celebrate! How thoughtful!
I would strongly recommend this gem to anyone visiting Edinburgh! The location is excellent...easy to find, very near the bus route, yet far enough off the main road to get a bit of quiet.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The cheapest and best place we stayed during our 2 week trip to the UK, We stayed at the Gil Dun 6 nights. Rooms are large and clean. Gerry is an extraordinary host, always happy to serve and share advise. A wide range of breakfast options, both hot and cold. The house is on a quiet dead-end street. The neighborhood is safe. The bus stop is just a couple of minutes walk. If there were nothing else to see in Edinburgh, I'd go just to stay at the Gil Dun!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megmc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Gil Dun in December with another couple. Was very apprehensive about staying in a b&b as would normally stay in a larger hotel chain !! What a fantastic surprise no need to worry . We were greeted at the door by the owners who advised us that our room wasn't ready ( it was only 10.30am) but no worries they would keep our bags and pop them in the room for us while we went out . We were then advised of the best buses etc to use to get back to the centre which is approx 10 mins away and buses run till late at night & you can buy a day pass !! The rooms are very clean and en-suite appeared to be new. Fabulous nights sleep comfy bed, pillows and very quiet . I can only say 1 thing about the breakfast FANTASTIC !! Would defiantly recommend this B &B and only reason for 4 stars is location a little way from centre .

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris29758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is a very comfortable place to stay. The rooms are very nicely set up, breakfast is delicious--don't miss the smoked salmon--and the owners are helpful about what to do and not do in Edinburraa. We were there for the August arts festival and their tips were useful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCDC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Even I arrived a bit late due to my flight condition, they were very kind and gave me enough information to do in Edinburgh. I felt a warm welcome. Excellent breakfast with choice of hot meal as well :-) I would definitely stay Gil Dun Guest House again when I travel to Edinburgh in the near future!

Room Tip: As a solo traveller, I stayed in a room without bathroom. However I had my own bathroom (with a key...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuki917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Gil Dun Guest House over New Year for Edinburgh's Hogmany festivities. The room was spotless, with a large comfortable bed and a clean, modern ensuite bathroom. The staff were really friendly and helpful, ordering taxis and giving us advice on bus routes etc.. They also very kindly put "New Year" wine and chocolates in the room in addition to the usual tea/coffee tray.

Breakfasts were excellent with a good range on the menu. About 20 minutes walk from the Royal Mile and on a good bus route as well.

Would definately stay here again :)

Room Tip: Room 6 is very nice with views looking over the hills outside the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnsignElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 149 in Edinburgh
974 reviews
Prestonfield
#3 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,121 reviews
94DR
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barony House
#3 of 392 in Edinburgh
703 reviews
Kingsway Guest House
#13 of 392 in Edinburgh
488 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gil Dun Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gil Dun Guest House

Property: Gil Dun Guest House
Address: 9 Spence Street, Edinburgh EH16 5AG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:4 star — Gil Dun Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet cul-de-sac within the oldest Edinburgh district of Newington, close to the city centre and walking distance to Edinburgh Castle and on a regular main bus route. Re-furbished to a high standard in 2010 whilst maintaining many traditional Victorian features. Official four star accommodation. Popular with guests from the USA and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Gil Dun Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gil Dun Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Gil Dun Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing