We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful day trip :)”

Highland Explorer Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$60.68*
and up
Full-Day Trip to Loch Ness and the Scottish Highlands
Ranked #22 of 201 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our superb selection of cultural, scenic and culinary tours are specially created to showcase our wonderful country and finest Scottish produce. They are designed to make the most of your time and to give you an authentic experience of Scotland. These tours whisk you through the most essential sights of Scotland and include award-winning samples of Scottish food and drink. It’s the most appetising way to experience Scotland in a day.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful day trip :)”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

On March 14 we took a beautiful day trip to the highland with Highland Explorers. Our guide Joe was exceptional. Not only was he an unending well of knowledge about the areas we were visiting, he was also very friendly and gave us excellent tips for planning the rest of our stay in Scotland. The day trip was one of the highlights of our vacation :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SamAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorerTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Explorer Tours, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable time on tour with us and Joe. Joe is a great story teller and we are sure he showed the best Scotland has to offer.
Should you visit Scotland again in the future we would love to welcome you on board another Highland Explorer Tour.
Kind Regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,143
    307
    78
    30
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Up Helly Aa Festival”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Best adventure of my travels so far! Our guide, Dougie, led us on a fantastic tour up to Shetland, sharing with us his long standing passion for this wonderful festival and making sure we saw everything on our itinerary in spite of challenging weather conditions. The torchlight procession at the festival was unforgettable. The Vikings were fantastic as was the sense of community throughout the event. Either side of Up Helly Aa we saw the stunning scenery of Shetland and mainland Scotland. Thanks Dougie and the people of Shetland for a brilliant adventure!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CLtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorerTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Explorer Tours, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for this great review - we are delighted to hear you enjoyed the Up Helly Aa festival with Dougie, he certainly loves this festival and knows his stuff!
A tour like this is a great way to experience the festival and also see some of Scotland along the way.

We would love to welcome you on tour again in the future.

Kind Regards

The Highland Explorer tours team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loch Ness 1-day trip”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was a truly incredible experience.

Andy, our driver/guide for the day was just brilliant - he was extremely knowledgeable and it was clear that he loved his job. He kept calm and was very professional when we got into a bit of trouble in the snow on our drive back to Edinburgh - he deserves a gold medal!

Considering it was Winter and the nights draw in early, Andy made sure we saw lots on the way to Loch Ness. The views were genuinely so breathtaking it was incredible to stand in the snow and admire the huge mountains and lochs. Value for money is great - would never have got as much out of the same trip if I had driven myself. A tour is definitely the way to go.

A trip I'll never forget, thank you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller24104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorerTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Explorer Tours, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hi there,

It's great to hear you had an enjoyable tour with Andy. He certainly is a great story teller and a little snow wouldn't stop us getting you to Loch Ness. The weather always adds to the experience and the highlands do look stunning in the winter months.

Thank you for this great review - we will be sure to pass your comments along to Andy.

We hope to welcome you on tour again soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Truly an Amazing Experience...(Loch Ness Day Trip)”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Excellent service from ground handlers to driver. They were a bunch happy people who sincerely love their work. Our bus driver Greg was awesome. His ability to narrate old Scottish tales was second to none. He kept us entertain with his Scottish jokes while we were enjoying the amazing sight along the way to Loch Ness. Too bad we didn't get to see the good old Hamish or "Highland Cooo" (as the Scots would like to call it) on our first stop.

Overall it was an unforgettable experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CeaserBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorerTeam, Manager at Highland Explorer Tours, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi, many thanks for your great review and sharing your feedback about our Loch Ness Explorer Day Tour. We're delighted that you enjoyed your experience so much and will pass on your comments to Greg and the rest of the team. Best wishes, Nikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Loch Ness day trip- A must do!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Amazing trip and incredibly narrated by our guide Stevie! His story telling was just as impressive as the views out the window. I would suggest running day trips just to sit in a pub and listen to him talk Scotland!! A very proud Scot and rightly so!

Brilliant day out,amazing sights and wonderful food!

A must do!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gmacken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExplorerTeam, Manager at Highland Explorer Tours, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi, what a great review for Stevie! We're delighted that you enjoyed your day tour with him so much and will let him know that you'd be happy to spend some more time listening to all his stories. Haste ye back! Best wishes, Nikki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highland Explorer Tours also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Highland Explorer Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing