We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 19:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Cobble Tales
from US$75.28
More Info
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
119
1
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
119
1
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews edinburgh university architecture knowledge tours guide history facts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Very impressed with the quality of this guided walk. Lots of intriguing information, with detail it would be hard to find out for yourself. Really put this part of the city into a fascinating historical and architectural context.
The guide was excellent, he knew his subject and could convey it with animation and conviction. His practical care of the group was meticulous.
Can't recommend this enough. We thought we knew the city moderately well, but this was two hours very well spent. Ace!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank greave2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed the Dean Village tour with Cobble Tales. Our guide - don't remember his name, but he was of Belgian descent - was very knowledgeable, friendly and smiley. Even in an emergency that took place during the tour, he acted professionally and kept all the group at ease. He would engage us by asking questions and giving fun facts. I've lived in Edinburgh for 10 years now, and knew of many places he showed us, but finding out about the history behind those buildings was absolutely fascinating. I've learnt a lot. There was even a wee treasure hunt which added to the experience. I had a great time and would strongly recommend this tour to anyone who's into architecture!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank sunshine19828282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Took the great 2 hour architectural walking tour of Dean village. Despite the fact that it rained, I loved the tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Even though I had been to Edinburgh 4 times before, I had never been to Dean Village - it is well worth a guided visit, and I highly recommended this tour.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank BizLuxTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga G, Owner at Cobble Tales, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

The Tour gingen by Olga was very Interesting.. She had many facts and good knowledge about architectural Details in general and the Georgian buildings specifically. The three hour tour Lead us through the main streets and minor places in Edinburghs newtown, built in the Georgean period. We also got a stroll through the private Park in Queenstreet, a place you are normally Not allowed to visit. We can highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga G, Owner at Cobble Tales, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

We usually explore new places on our own, but decided to take this in-depth private tour to learn more about this fascinating area. We're so glad we did. Our guide, Olga, was extremely knowledgeable and a joy to spend time with. She explained the historical context of how Edinburgh was developed, showed us examples of the Scottish Baronial style as well as a sample of high quality contemporary buildings (including the Scottish Parliament Building) and pointed out architectural features. It was a great way to be introduced to Edinburgh.

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga G, Owner at Cobble Tales, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you so much, it was my pleasure to show you around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews