We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice traditional breakfast ”
Review of The Royal Mcgregor

The Royal Mcgregor
Ranked #195 of 2,698 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$42
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: We are a wee Whisky Bar & Restaurant with Grand food on Edinburgh's famous Royal Mile!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Walking along the royal Mile we had breakfast in this pub: a British full and a Scottish full with tea...of course. Tasty food and nice service. About 7 pounds per person.

Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalMc, Manager at The Royal Mcgregor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey Alex F,
Thanks a lot for your review - super glad you enjoyed your breakfast with us :)
Cheers,
The Royal McGregor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 1,190 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They were very helpful in selecting a whisky flight. But the food was really not that great. Steak pie was okay but small portion and the hamburger was really dried out, to the point of being crumbly. Service was okay. This was our first night in the city and didn't come back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vino2go50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalMc, Manager at The Royal Mcgregor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey vino2go50,
Thanks for the kind feedback about our whisky flights, but we are disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal.
We can only apologise and we will, of course, pass on your much appreciated comments to our chefs.
Cheers,
The Royal McGregor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Worst service I experienced in my entire holiday.
Staff were woeful in extreme. I took in excess of an hour for them to not even give us the food we ordered. We got our money back and left.
Terrible.

Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalMc, Manager at The Royal Mcgregor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey James D,
We are extremely sorry about the experience you had when you joined us.
As we explained on the day - we had a problem with our internet provider and our till system was down, therefore your food order did not reach the kitchen.
Once again, we are extremely sorry you weren't able to enjoy the food you ordered and we do hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Edinburgh.
Cheers,
The Royal McGregor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were strolling the Royal Mile looking for a breakfast place with some local character, a traditional menu for a fair price. We could not have chosen better! Portions were generous, service was great!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris60880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalMc, Manager at The Royal Mcgregor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey Chris60880,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast with us - just what we aim for :)
Cheers,
The Royal McGregor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed my forest meal in Edinburgh here a good few years ago...and a good many since. Always great food and well served. Small, cozy, warm atmosphere. Good selection of single malts. Well worth a visit. Below I say it isn't a hidden gem...as it is in the middle of the busiest street in town.....but a gem it surely is.

Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalMc, Manager at The Royal Mcgregor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey there Mel L,
Thanks so much for your amazing review. We are so glad you've enjoyed your visits with us... and we are delighted to hear we are a 'gem' in the middle of the Royal Mile :D
Cheers,
The Royal McGregor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Mcgregor also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Royal Mcgregor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing