We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable”
Review of Shamoli

Shamoli
Ranked #509 of 2,511 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$8 - US$80
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: Shamoli specialises in food from North India and Thailand - perfect for groups who are split in what kind of Asian food they would like. There are a range of Thai stir fries and also Thai curries including Chicken Panang a dish which combines coconut sweetness with a few sparks provided by red chillis. Punjabi Lamb Korai is one of the meat based dishes from the North Indian half of the menu. Average prices are £7.95 for a set lunch, £19 for an evening meal and house wine is £13.95 a bottle. They have child-friendly facilities and a takeaway service.
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Had the buffet lunch for £7.95 which was quite good with a reasonable choice , £2.50 for a goggle do diet coke was way too expensive , not sure if there is a pudding . Would go again, pleasant staff .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank m_watson49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    130
    56
    23
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely go”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The staff and manager always make you feel welcome.
The cuisine - not really my cup of tea, but I love popping in from time to time to try something new and every time I leave happy, fed and full. Guys are always there to help or recommend what to mix with what.
Unfortunately I always pick early time to dine, so not many tables around and place might seem to be a bit dead - but still seems really good - pick a table by window near the bar if dining early - my partner didn't really like quite 'high pitched' vocals from the back speakers - I didn't really mind.
Great place for larger parties.
Will be back!
Thanks Guys!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Inka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food, friendly people”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were looking forward to eat Indian that night, and were not disappointed at Shamoli. The food was terrific, the crew at Shamoli friendly and in for a joke. There weren't too many other quests, which might have been time of day or week.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Tikka Massallam”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Tikka Massallam and tandoori mixed were both excellent, as was the naan. The complimentary starters of crunchy things and sauces were just so-so, but everything else was very good. The two gentlemen working were very friendly and chatted us up a bit (in a good, invited way). We're glad we checked them out!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening meal”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Was by myself, looking for an evening meal while on a business trip. Hot an expert in Thai cuisine, had a very pleasant roast duck dish with side dish and rice. Excellent, tasted very good, meat was tender and tasty, and a good selection of vegetabes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shamoli also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Shamoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing