We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent for city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rodney Street Apartments by Destination Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

great value for money compared to a hotel room in Edinburgh and within walking distance of both Leith and city centre. good selection of bars and restaurants close by. the apartment itself although basic was vey clean and tidy. staff very friendly and accommodating. would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrj257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for 3 days at the Rodney Place - 6 people total. The flat is in a good and safe location, 15 min walk from the city centre. Plenty of shops and places to eat nearby. They had towels for everyone, cutlery, tea, coffee... The couple who had the sofa bed in the living room said it needed a clean but otherwise the flat was clean. Always has hot water. We really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: There's no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ieva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

good location (walking distance to city center), nice flat (quite), very professional support (very friendly also). the only room that might be improved is kitchen... (but we didn't use it). We were at third floor (and no elevator) but it was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vittorio p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Spacious apartment, spotlessly clean, really well equipped and at a good price.
.
Close to Tescos, interesting restaurants and small independent shops. 10 - 15 min walk to Waverley Station, uphill, but the return trip is quicker!

We'd love to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindersWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our family (6 people) and our sons' two best friends stayed in Edinburgh for two nights. We booked two apartments, and it worked out really well. When we were about an hour away from the apartments, we called and were met when we arrived. As others have mentioned, the building is a little tired, but both apartments were clean and spacious. The apartment management contacted us ahead of time to ask how we wanted the bedrooms configured, which was nice. The apartments consist of two bedrooms (each with either two single beds or a two singles pushed together to make a double bed), a full bath, a full kitchen (with a clothes washer), and a living room. There is a Tesco right across the street, which is great when travelling with a family. We stocked up on drinks, snacks, and breakfast food, which saved some money because we didn't have to eat every meal out. There are some nice restaurants and pubs close to the apartments. The castle and the Royal Mile are within walking distance (about 20 minutes). If you have a car, you can park it in the apartment parking lot, and then just walk or take public transportation everywhere. Overall, it was a perfect place for us to stay with our family/friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

On entry the apartment blocks looks very tired. We were greeted by a very helpful man who was more than happy to tell us everything we needed to know.
On first impression I did think its not exactly top quality but actually the kitchen living area and bathroom were fine. Very spacious and clean. The bedroom was a bit basic. 2 beds pushed together was a double bed.
Much more space than a hotel but not quite as glamorous but when I remind myself how much I paid... It was actually alright!
Tesco round the corner and walking distance into town centre in about 10 mins.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Lovely apartment, close to tesco to stock up on groceries & not too far from town centre.
Would definitely stay again.
Much better than staying in a hotel.
Welcomed by a very friendly & helpful man who gave lots of local info.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lettuce77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#91 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodney Street Apartments by Destination Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodney Street Apartments by Destination Edinburgh

Address: 32 Rodney Street, Edinburgh EH7 4DX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £68 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rodney Street Apartments by Destination Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Modern, light & stylish apartments. *Fully furnished with TV/DVD players *Well equipped kitchens, including washing machine facilities *All apartments contain fully made up beds & towels *Situated in a nice quiet residential courtyard setting, just off the main road *Located in the prestigious New Town area of city, near to the Royal Botanic Gardens *Princes St is a 10 min walk *5 min walk to the lively Broughton St area, with many restaurants, shops & bars *A free private car park is provided with each apartment *Free wifi provided *Large supermarket just around corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rodney Street Apartments by Destination Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodney Street Apartments By Destination Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing