We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garlands Guest House
Ranked #80 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Actually there is nothing to complain about at Garlands Guest House.

The service and employees are great.
The room was large, very clean, tidy and beautifully designed and furnitured.

The breakfast was made by the owner himself and we never left the table hungry.
We could get some advices for the city first hand and they helped us out where ever they could.

The flat is located about 3 bus stops from the city centre.
By foot it takes about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnnyeightpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

A very well located B&B in a nice neighbourhood .Our host Bill was charming and very accommodating .The breakfasts were wonderful,served In a beautifully furnished dining room. Our room was well equipped and clean.

Room Tip: Request rooms on upper levels if you don't want to be at street level and hear passing traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for the Edinburgh Marathon, I chose the B&B for close location to the start line and the porridge reviews! We were not disappointed, Bill was a wonderful host and was welcoming from the start, the room was a good size and very clean.
My parents joined us and they also really enjoyed the welcome and the accommodation.
(The porridge I can recommend and I give full credit on getting me round the 26.2 miles!)
Leith Walk (the main road from Pilrig Street) leads to the city center, about 15 mins walk and good value compared to the more central locations.
Thank you Bill you were a pleasure to stay with.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chloe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Bill is a great host and I had a very comfortable week at the spotlessly clean Garlands Guest House. Can't recommend this guest house highly enough.
I was a bit short of time in the morning as breakfast starts at 8am and I had to catch a bus at 8.35am. You can have a breakfast tray if you need to breakfast earlier, however, I so enjoyed chatting with the other guests over breakfast that I chose not to do that!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomNisbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Folks,

Make sure if you're in Edinburgh, you book Garlands. A classy, period house, which is warm, cosy and spotlessly clean.

Bill the host is a perfect gentleman, and the cooked breakfast is just perfect.

Free parking outside the establishment is a great boon, and the city centre is a nice fifteen minute stroll away, albeit the area is well-served by a very regular bus service.

Wonderful, I will stay again in the future! : )

Room Tip: Perfect in every way, just book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We, two friends, stayed mid April in Garlands guest house. We truly enjoyed the stay. The accomodation is clean, nicely decorated, friendly and a large breakfast menu is available. We just had one minor point which was the reception of the wifi signal on the top floor. Reception was poor, but did work. Not a major issue as in the downstairs hallway there is room to sit and the wifi reception is excellent.
There is a bus stop out front a more busses stop on a major road about 300 meters from the B&B. All have direct links to the city.
You can store luggage at the B&B but we found out that you can leave luggage at the National Gallery and the National Museum (it saves time having to travel back and forth). A cabin approved suitcase will just fit the lockers. The National Museum has a few bigger lockers available as well that can hold big suitcases and backpacks. You may want to come early though, as only a few are available.

Room Tip: We were given a room on the top floor with 2 single beds. It is a large room that is situated at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giggi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at Garlands Guest House during Easter Holidays for three days. We were given the room at the top floor. The room was clean and comfy. The two owners, Bill and Ian, were very helpful and polite, provided with maps and information about the city. The full english breakfast was a good way to start your day but generally options for breakfast were limited.
The hotel is a good 20 minute walk from Princess Street (main High Road of the city) which was not really an issue if you had all day bus tickets .(£3.50 each)
I really liked the decoration of the hotel.
Overall great stay.

Room Tip: Room number 5 at the bottom floor is more spacious.!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FiviMarkidou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside Guest House
#59 of 396 in Edinburgh
306 reviews
Garfield Guest House
#38 of 396 in Edinburgh
361 reviews
Kellerstain Stables B&B
#21 of 396 in Edinburgh
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#14 of 396 in Edinburgh
549 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,053 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garlands Guest House

Address: 48 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £87 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garlands Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Garlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garlands Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing