We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly & good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Northfield House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Northfield House Hotel
Ranked #165 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Friendly & good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stay in Northfield House Hotel when I am visiting family in Edinburgh. I have found it to be friendly, comfortable and good value for money. It is convenient to the city center by a frequent bus service - 20 mins gets you there. Bus stop just across the road from the hotel! The rooms are comfortable, well kept and with wi-fi access. The bathrooms are always spotless. Breakfast is tasty and well presented. Staff go out of their way to be welcoming and accommodating at all times. I always go back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annmuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    24
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
16
31
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights & had a very good time. The food was excellent, bedroom very comfortable & staff extremely friendly & helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. They even provided us with a microwave so my husband could have his pre-marathon porridge early!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panjim, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed here for one night whilst touring Scotland with friends. Had booked two rooms here and both were really good equipped with all essentials. The staff was very friendly. I loved their restaurant with the outdoor seating. A nice place to have a cold beer on a sunny day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aughton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We stay here often as it is convenient for visiting family. Buses for the town centre stop outside and are frequent(except for Sunday when they are every half an hour).
Rooms are simple and clean. It's not luxury, but fine for the price.
Full Scottish breakfast was freshly cooked to order and tasty. Yoghurts, cereals and fruit were also available.
We will be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
Level Contributor
520 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst attending a family funeral. We also held the wake in the hotel and the staff coudn't have done any more to make sure that everything went well. There was ample well-filled sandwiches as well as a selection of cakes and biscuits. The coffee pots were continually filled up.
After the wake had finished I was shown to my room. Despite only requesting a single room I was upgraded to a double room at no extra charge - a nice touch. The room was spacious, clean and was very warm which was appreciated, as despite it being a sunny day when the sun went down it was quite cold. The room also had free wi-fi, which had a fast connection. Another nice touch. The bathroom was a bit dated but more tham met my needs.
I also dined in restaurant at night with other members of my family and again the service and food was excellent.
After a good nights sleep, and a few drinks in memory of my late aunt, the cooked breakfast was much appreciated. It is my intention to return in the summer and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rojo447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here with friends on Dec 30th as we were going to see The Lion King. Great wee hotel on the outskirts of the city, only 15 mins by bus which stops right outside the hotel. The rooms were perfect and really clean, beds were really comfy and the staff were lovely. Breakfast was first class. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Short and sweet,
Went out for a christmas do here and had a great evening.
The food was delicious and full of flavour.
The staff were very friendly and service was with a smile.
Have never been here before but will definitely be returning soon.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ThinkingWishfully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Doris Crook Bed and Breakfast
#278 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Emerald Guest House
#195 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#18 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Arden Guest House
#178 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northfield House Hotel

Property: The Northfield House Hotel
Address: 115 Lasswade Road, Edinburgh EH16 6UD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Northfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Northfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Northfield House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing