We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, traditional B & B”
Review of Invertruin B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Invertruin B&B
Ranked #114 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Me and my friends came to stay in the B&B for a long weekend and a University reunion. We came from all over to enjoy the city from Brighton, Manchester and Italy.We all loved our stay at Invertruin.

The owner Liz is lovely, very charming and extrememly welcoming. She is helpful and has useful suggestions about the city. The rooms are clean, warm and comfy with everything you need. The breakfast is plentiful and varied.

HIghly recommended for anyone visiting the city. We're sure to return. Make sure you make it to King's Wark in Leith too - brilliant pub and grub.

Room Tip: You can see the castle at the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amykaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

I've just stayed in Edinburgh for a long weekend at Liz's B&B and was very impressed with the quality, cleanliness, finishing touches and hospitality provided by Liz the owner. There were fresh towels on the bed on arrival, tea and coffee facilities in the room including biscuits and a hair dryer.

The B&B was immaculately clean and beautifully decorated, with tall ceilings and thick, cosy carpets with bay windows and a view of Edinburgh castle out the front.

Breakfast was amazing, with different kinds of fresh fruit every day, cooked breakfast with eggs cooked your way, fresh coffee or tea and juices, cereals, yoghurt and more.

Liz was extremely friendly and hospitable and thought of everything that people visiting may need, such as travel adapters in the room and change for the buses.

I highly recommend Invertruin B&B and would definitely choose to stay here again for future visits to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie_R007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at this lovely B & B. Everything was delightful. The room was very comfortable, cosy and peaceful. The en suite was clean and modern. I did not try the cooked breakfast, but my husband said it was very tasty. The fresh fruit (different every day) was perfect for me, as was the cereal and yoghurt. It was the little touches, such as
fresh milk and bottled water in the fridge on the landing, that we really liked. Liz, our hostess, has thought of everything and we would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VON12A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My sister and I booked into this excellent B&B in Edinburgh last weekend for 3 nights. We were having a little 'me time' together. It was warm, welcoming and very comfortable, the showers were excellent and the scrambled eggs to die for!

The owner, Liz, made us feel very welcome and was very helpful suggesting places to visit. On Saturday morning we found ourselves in underground caves in Gilmerton, a very old mining village only a few miles from the city centre. A fascinating experience :o

Invertruin has parking, but we also chose to use the bus, as Edinburgh is notorious for it's super efficient traffic wardens and it also meant we could have a wee dram! There is a bus stop just outside Invertruin and it was only 10 minutes to Hanover Street (city centre) buses run every 10 minutes - why oh why do they need trams?

Edinburgh is. of course, amazing, but such a warm and welcoming home base made our weekend away really special. Thanks Liz - we will be back :)

Linda El-Miligy& Pen Fitzpatrick Swindon Wiltshire

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lem51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at Invertruin. It's not far from the city center, it's a ten-minute bus ride. The rooms here are very cozy, spatious and have great views. The rooms are immaculate (as is the bathroom) and the bed is really comfortable. Every room has a bookshelf full of novels you can read during your stay. it's a great place to unwind after a busy day of sightseeing. the breakfast was superb: all kinds of fruit, cereal, toast, plus your full English breakfast. Liz is an excellent host who knows how to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frisss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I'm just back from 5 days spent at Invertruin for the occasion of the Edinburgh University Alumni Weekend. These reviews of Invertruin are so correct. I stayed in the Lilac room - very comfortable, and, I'm glad to say, warm enough for me being usually such a cold buddy. The room looks out over a lovely garden and you can see the hills of Fife in the distance. Gracious architecture, high ceilings, lovely staircase, interesting art on the walls: I recommend Invertruin to anyone wishing to stay in a quiet, quality environment, within easy reach of the town centre. Thank you, Elizabeth, for a superb stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a fantastic B&B. Liz is the consummate host, the house is immaculate, and the breakfast is ample & delicious. Recommend this very highly. A great value in the Edinburgh area, ad a great location with easy access to bus stations, restaurants, and so on.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyLSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,057 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#91 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,097 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invertruin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invertruin B&B

Address: 416 Ferry Road, Edinburgh EH5 2AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £70 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invertruin is a spacious, Victorian house located in a residential area and close to The Royal Botanic Garden. Accommodation is available for single visitors, couples or families. All rooms are equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryers, WiFi and T.V. + Freeview. There is parking in the front garden. Invertruin is on a direct bus route into the city and the journey takes approx 10 mins. Payment by cards accepted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Invertruin B&B Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing