We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely recommend and stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Giles Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would definitely recommend and stay again”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Pros: excellent location, located right off Royal Mile, walking distance to castle and all tourist locations, clean beds, bathrooms and floors, large apartment, full kitchen and washing machine (which was the best surprise ever), it was a very welcoming environment

Cons: no wifi

We were in Europe for two weeks, this was our favourite place to stay! Too bad we could only stay one night. We arrived late but the instructions to the keys were crystal clear. Thanks for your hospitality! Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellite88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    95
    27
    14
    18
See reviews for
139
63
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were very impressed with these apartments. Firstly their location could not be any better. They are central to everything from the Grass Market to George Street and just down from the Castle. Secondly they were clean, tidy and very well kept with more than enough room for everyone that stayed.

We were there 3 days and couldn't have wanted more from the accommodation. I strongly recommend staying here when visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We strive to provide affordable high quality accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh and hope to welcome you back to our fine city soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Where do I start ? Well, stepping off the train, ringing for directions, and from Edinburgh Waverley the Polish woman could not direct us. We found it eventually, it's a ten minute walk ???? IF your'e an olympic uphill sprinter. the offices are located in the old town, up a steep bank, so be prepared, its tough going. I'm agile too. I can't blame them for that though, but the description should be more honest. Once we finally located the offices, (after being given the wrong directions, and many phone calls later, we eventually asked a policeman). We were given the keys to our one bed apartment. Another 10 minute walk with cases, although an easier walk. We were told a welcome pack would be delivered in the next few hours, we asked for it not to be, as we didnt need it, as we were going exploring. Apparently we had to have it, so would have to wait in for it !!! (Turns out they had forgot to put it in the room before our arrival) This was not boding well.........But it got worse, and worse again, then worse again. The apartment was situated through a locked iron gate, through the courtyard, and into the building. To get there you had to pass through the courtyard, were there was a restaurant rear entrance, wher the kitchen was located. The smell was horrendous as ALL THE RUBBISH BINS were right at the entrance gate, with black bin bags piled everywhere. There were also groups of workers (around 10) smoking right beside the opening of the iron gate entrance. It was very intimidating. We were 2 young girls on our own, and to have to walk through this group of men with our cases, was not pleasant. We werent even inside the apartment yet !! When we got in, it was NOT like the photos. The furniture was dated, the shower was decrepid, and the place was tiny. By this time, we just wanted to relax. One of us hopped in the shower, whilst the other went out for supplies..............AND COULD NOT GET BACK IN !!!! The buzzer system to the gate was not working !! So after standing at the gates for ages, had to ring and get back in via mobile phone, and friend coming out of the shower, back through the courtyard, to allow key entry back in (We were only given one set of keys between 2 of us) We decided to call it a day, as it was down a dark alley, and we no longer felt safe, so decided to request our money back.......Back up to the office !!!!.............The attitude there was absolutley disgusting !!! and I do not say this lightly !!! We were completely intimidated by a very large man in the office, REFUSING a refund, or even to listen. We had taken photo's, of all the workers, the bins, the decrepid decor. We even asked to be transferred if no refund to a safer apartment, which they wanted to charge us £50 pp for !!! We declined, and after 30 minutes of arguing with them (YES , full blown arguing) but we are geordies, and not easily intimidated by 3 people in our faces, we FINALLY got a refund (although they charged us £10 for using the shower !!!!!!! Even though we touched nothing else, and used our own towels ) The refund was returned to the card (3 days later) but thankfully we had enough money to book a proper 4 star apartment. The room was horrendous, the staff even worse. They give the scottish a bad name at St Giles, and should be ashamed treating anyone, never mind 2 young women that way. Shame on you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jemma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We appreciate feedback when it is honest but are astounded by the inaccuracies and contrived nature of this "review". While we accept the accommodation was not to the guest’s satisfaction and refunded them in full in order that they leave our property we hope the alternative accommodation was more to their standard. It is unfortunate when expectations are not met but the several hundreds of guests we have satisfied already this year alone are testimony we offer excellent value, fantastic locations and great properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Booked 4 apartments for my daughter's hen weekend. Perfect in location and facilities

My only negative comment would be that the wifi is not great in all parts of the accommodation.

Highly recommended in the heart of the city, a stone's throw from the major tourist attractions.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DH_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Please beware, this isn't a review about the facilities, it is simply about the stunningly unhelpful manager. An error in booking with an agents website resulted in the wrong dates being booked, I contacted the company within 5 minutes of receiving the confirmation to try and re-schedule and they would not re-schedule unless I increased the duration of my stay (which I could not do) at a cost of several hundred pounds (which I could not afford). I politely asked if I could cancel and was even willing to pay a cancellation fee, they insisted the cancellation fee would be 100% of the cost (£500). Bizarrely the weekend booked has a very important rugby match going on and if they had accepted a small cancellation fee they would have easily been able to re-sell the apartment thus making significantly more money, as it is they may have got my money but will never get my custom again nor anyone I know or can influence via the large number of review sites and booking sites they gain bookings through. As I regularly book large group trips to rugby venues this is a reasonable number. Very poor customer service and questionable business acumen also.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately when booking a NON REFUNDABLE rate through a third party booking site we are unable to accept any changes. As it states clearly at every stage of the booking process that this rate is fully pre-paid with no cancellations or changes, and therefore substantially discounted, we do advise careful consideration made prior to placing your booking. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused but please note bookings made directly with us have a 30 day cancellation period for only a nominal fee of £10.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Found and booked this apartment for 2 nights @ £125 a night through Booking.com, so not cheap but needs must as everyone including these cowboys increased their pricing for a Rugby game at Murrayfield ! Although if booking direct with St Giles it was nearer £300 for both nights/

Anyway booked and paid in full as St Giles Terms unlike so many others that Booking use. However once I received the confirmation email at midnight I noticed immediately that only one night had been booked on the system, tried to log in and book another night but to no avail !! So I emailed and contacted the apartments and booking.com and checked the cancellatuion charge..........£65 of thr £125 for an error at their end.....daylight robbery, but worse to come.

When they finally deemed to respond to the query at 11am the next day the cancellation charge had increased to the entire amount............clearly why they waited to respond. Cowboys. As for their explanation, they couldn't care less, all I got was a one liner from a silly receptionist saying "Please read the T&C's"

Thankfully I found a luxury apartment in a better location with 100% positive feedback instead elsewhere.

Enjoy the £125 you extorted from me.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Miss_Chief1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately you booked through a third party booking site and we were constrained by the terms and conditions you agreed to when making the booking. Our offices are closed overnight and we work through emails from first to last received which is the reason we were unable to respond until 11am. However, we do have a 24 hour emergency contact number and should you have called us directly we would have dealt with the situation immediately. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused but please note bookings made directly with us have a 30 day cancellation period for only a nominal fee of £10.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We rented 2 apartments for a girls weekend away, was moved to the Old Fishmarket apartments which wasn't far away and apartments were perfect. There was no wifi as promised but the apartments did have everything else, bar salt and pepper! Be warned the apartment is on a steep hill but we all survived it in our heels on the night out!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DonegalLassies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,602 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles Apartments

Property: St Giles Apartments
Address: 375 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Giles Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Giles Apartments offers self catering accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh at great value for money. Our self catering apartments are furnished to excellent standards, designer finished, fully equipped with all crockery and linens. Situated conveniently for all of Edinburgh’s attractions our apartments make for an exceptional base while visiting our historic city.By staying with us you will find great value when comparing to a city centre hotel but with the added benefit of your own living room, dining area, fully equipped kitchen and most importantly privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St Giles Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
St Giles Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing