We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't recommend highly enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Giles Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't recommend highly enough”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Staff were great, extremely friendly and do helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. Apartments ideally located for Holyrood and Royal Mile and short walk to Princes Street. Lovely touches as toiletries, chocolates, bottled water and orange juice provided.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSIS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    97
    27
    14
    18
See reviews for
140
63
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in appartment 2 and were very impressed. Perfectly situated on the Royal Mile it is a very easy walk to all the attractions of this lovely city. The bedrooms were a good size with comfortable beds,crisp linen and fluffy towels. The lounge/kitchen area was big with plenty of room for four of us and every thing was very clean. Although it is situated in an old building the interior is modern and tastefully decorated we would highly recommend these apartments.

Room Tip: No lift so choose lower floors if this could be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussieivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just returned from a trip to Edinburgh for my hen weekend. The accommodation was excellent very clean, modern and spacious. We booked two 3 bedroom apartments on the Royal Mile (rooms 3 and 5) the rooms boasted amazing views of St Giles Cathedral and the Royal Mile. The beds are so comfortable and the layout of the apartments are fantastic with a well equipped kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine, 3 double bedrooms the master with en-suite, a separate bathroom and living room. You couldn't hear one noise from any other room, although the street is very busy but we didn't mind as it was fantastic to be in the heart of Edinburgh and watch everyone pass by, there was a street parade and the view was excellent. The apartments are a 10 minute walk from the train station but as the Royal Mile is built on a high ridge if you have a lot of luggage I would recommend a taxi from the station as we were so tried after climbing all the steps although we did discover an uphill street that also took you to the same area. I would highly recommend the apartments at St Giles to anyone. We were a group of 12 women age range from 29-51 and everyone loved the apartments and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy_R0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Pros: excellent location, located right off Royal Mile, walking distance to castle and all tourist locations, clean beds, bathrooms and floors, large apartment, full kitchen and washing machine (which was the best surprise ever), it was a very welcoming environment

Cons: no wifi

We were in Europe for two weeks, this was our favourite place to stay! Too bad we could only stay one night. We arrived late but the instructions to the keys were crystal clear. Thanks for your hospitality! Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellite88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were very impressed with these apartments. Firstly their location could not be any better. They are central to everything from the Grass Market to George Street and just down from the Castle. Secondly they were clean, tidy and very well kept with more than enough room for everyone that stayed.

We were there 3 days and couldn't have wanted more from the accommodation. I strongly recommend staying here when visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We strive to provide affordable high quality accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh and hope to welcome you back to our fine city soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Where do I start ? Well, stepping off the train, ringing for directions, and from Edinburgh Waverley the Polish woman could not direct us. We found it eventually, it's a ten minute walk ???? IF your'e an olympic uphill sprinter. the offices are located in the old town, up a steep bank, so be prepared, its tough going. I'm agile too. I can't blame them for that though, but the description should be more honest. Once we finally located the offices, (after being given the wrong directions, and many phone calls later, we eventually asked a policeman). We were given the keys to our one bed apartment. Another 10 minute walk with cases, although an easier walk. We were told a welcome pack would be delivered in the next few hours, we asked for it not to be, as we didnt need it, as we were going exploring. Apparently we had to have it, so would have to wait in for it !!! (Turns out they had forgot to put it in the room before our arrival) This was not boding well.........But it got worse, and worse again, then worse again. The apartment was situated through a locked iron gate, through the courtyard, and into the building. To get there you had to pass through the courtyard, were there was a restaurant rear entrance, wher the kitchen was located. The smell was horrendous as ALL THE RUBBISH BINS were right at the entrance gate, with black bin bags piled everywhere. There were also groups of workers (around 10) smoking right beside the opening of the iron gate entrance. It was very intimidating. We were 2 young girls on our own, and to have to walk through this group of men with our cases, was not pleasant. We werent even inside the apartment yet !! When we got in, it was NOT like the photos. The furniture was dated, the shower was decrepid, and the place was tiny. By this time, we just wanted to relax. One of us hopped in the shower, whilst the other went out for supplies..............AND COULD NOT GET BACK IN !!!! The buzzer system to the gate was not working !! So after standing at the gates for ages, had to ring and get back in via mobile phone, and friend coming out of the shower, back through the courtyard, to allow key entry back in (We were only given one set of keys between 2 of us) We decided to call it a day, as it was down a dark alley, and we no longer felt safe, so decided to request our money back.......Back up to the office !!!!.............The attitude there was absolutley disgusting !!! and I do not say this lightly !!! We were completely intimidated by a very large man in the office, REFUSING a refund, or even to listen. We had taken photo's, of all the workers, the bins, the decrepid decor. We even asked to be transferred if no refund to a safer apartment, which they wanted to charge us £50 pp for !!! We declined, and after 30 minutes of arguing with them (YES , full blown arguing) but we are geordies, and not easily intimidated by 3 people in our faces, we FINALLY got a refund (although they charged us £10 for using the shower !!!!!!! Even though we touched nothing else, and used our own towels ) The refund was returned to the card (3 days later) but thankfully we had enough money to book a proper 4 star apartment. The room was horrendous, the staff even worse. They give the scottish a bad name at St Giles, and should be ashamed treating anyone, never mind 2 young women that way. Shame on you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jemma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We appreciate feedback when it is honest but are astounded by the inaccuracies and contrived nature of this "review". While we accept the accommodation was not to the guest’s satisfaction and refunded them in full in order that they leave our property we hope the alternative accommodation was more to their standard. It is unfortunate when expectations are not met but the several hundreds of guests we have satisfied already this year alone are testimony we offer excellent value, fantastic locations and great properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Booked 4 apartments for my daughter's hen weekend. Perfect in location and facilities

My only negative comment would be that the wifi is not great in all parts of the accommodation.

Highly recommended in the heart of the city, a stone's throw from the major tourist attractions.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DH_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
958 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,627 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 149 in Edinburgh
332 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,521 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles Apartments

Property: St Giles Apartments
Address: 375 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 212 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Giles Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Giles Apartments offers self catering accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh at great value for money. Our self catering apartments are furnished to excellent standards, designer finished, fully equipped with all crockery and linens. Situated conveniently for all of Edinburgh’s attractions our apartments make for an exceptional base while visiting our historic city.By staying with us you will find great value when comparing to a city centre hotel but with the added benefit of your own living room, dining area, fully equipped kitchen and most importantly privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Giles Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
St Giles Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing