We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPOINTING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Giles Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed from the 12th to16th July in Fishmarket apartment. The area was fantastic however there were a few issues with the apartment, such as rubbish bags and overflowing cigarette bin outside which was left like it for two days.
There was no wifi, the shower temp was not adjustable and shower head fixing broken, there was a lot of noise from the plumbing and the TV was ancient, a big cathode ray box! We turned it on to watch the world cup final and it actually started up in black and white until we turned it off and on a few times.
I agree with previous comments about the entrance being grubby and I left all of my issues on the feedback form so if the response is that "why didn't you mention it at the time" there are two reasons, it wasn't by any means a disaster and I don't go on holiday and spend my valuable time complaining and secondly, I provided feedback when I left. The reception staff were great and really helpful however the owners need to up their game.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your comments. We strive to make our guests experience as enjoyable as possible and constructive feedback helps us to improve our service.

Please do accept our apologies for any rubbish or cigarette butts left by other residents that may have caused an eyesore during your stay. I have spoken to our housekeeping team and they will be checking the outside area on a daily basis, to ensure that the area is kept clean and clear at all times. We have also re-painted the entrance and deep cleaned the stairwell, which will continue on a weekly basis as well. I am also genuinely very sorry to hear that you experienced problems with your shower. I have spoken to our maintenance engineer who has checked the issue (a temperamental thermostat) and as a result has installed a brand new shower in the apartment. We will also replace the TV to ensure no future guests experience the screen appearing in black and white. Unfortunately we do not have wi-fi in our Old Fishmarket Close apartments but we do not advertise the apartments as such and are looking into installation to ensure guest satisfaction. The majority of our other apartment buildings do indeed have wireless internet.

We appreciate your taking the time to make us aware of the issues you encountered and please be assured that we are in the process of putting into action steps to ensure these do not re-occur. We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Four of us stayed here last week for three nights. You could not get a better location. It was so central to everywhere and within walking distance of all the major attractions.

The rooms were small, shower wasn't great but I would still recommend these apartments as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had apartment 3 @St Giles, this was fine for our party of 5. Three lovely double bedrooms, one en-suite. Good welcome pack of water, orange juice, tea, coffee and sugar. Nice touch was also the pack of shortbread biscuits!!! Only thing missing was milk, however not a big issue as just popped to local papershop and bought a pint.
Its was a warm weekend and windows were able to be left open to let air in.
Perfect base for sightseen and exploring all that Edinburgh has to offer
We stayed 2 nights Saturday & Sunday..Royal Mile is extremely busy with traffic noise, late night revellers returning home during the early hours..and the late night saxophone player!!! IF your not used evening noise this may keep you awake.But on sunday night the street noise was quieter. However it didn't ruin our stay.

Room Tip: The smaller double bedroom on the back of the apartment is the quietest !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twain_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The apartment was adequate, bedrooms a little small, but linen was of good quality and clean. It is well placed (except if you have travelled by car - multi storey is £24/day - we used local knowledge and parked out of the centre). Exterior looks promising.
Areas for improvement:
- very noisy bathroom fan & water pump
- chipped mug, cheap unmatched cutlery, missing handle from bodum
- dining table missing varnish in a large patch
- shower extremely hot even when dial on cold
Most significant issues:
- path into the block from Royal Mile stained and covered with pigeon excrement & fag butts (horrid when wheeling a suitcase through) & rubbish in torn bags left by the entrance all weekend (this was cleared during out 4 night stay)
- stair well was concrete, stained and so reminiscent of a car park I expected to smell stale urine every time is used it (I didn't!)

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank June G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

We appreciate feedback when it is fair but on this occasion we do have to dispute some of your points. The apartment you booked is located in the heart of centre, like many city centres, there is no free parking in the close vicinity. However, we do provide guests with information on the closest and cheapest parking options.

As with the majority of stairwells in Edinburgh, the communal areas within the building do indeed have concrete floors. These may be worn in certain areas due to age but are cleaned regularly by our housekeeping team. Our housekeeping staff also clear any rubbish from inside and outside the building on a daily basis. The road leading to the apartment block is unfortunately outside of our control as are pigeons flying in sky. We do our best though to ensure all areas within our properties are maintained as well as possible.

While we accept that there may have been some minor issues with the apartment we would have resolved them if we had been made aware during your stay. Our Housekeeping Manager and Maintenance Manager have both now both been advised and will take action where appropriate.

I do apologise for any inconvenience and can assure you that we strive to provide our guests with good quality apartments at affordable prices. It is unfortunate that on this occasion you did not contact our reception team who would have been able to resolve the bulk of your comments straight away. If you wish to discuss this further, please do contact me directly at our reception office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

no real complaints, spent 2 nights, rooms were clean and we were close to the royal mile (300 yards) I would recommend people staying in Edinburgh to rent here. Staff was friendly, rate was fair. if you are looking to be in the heart of the action (pubs, restaurants, castle etc)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank canadianguy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you to Edinburgh again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights in 11/2 Old Fishmarket Close. Never stayed in an apartment before and after this experience likely never to again. Dodgy people hanging around entrance to apartment smoking some kind of drugs, drinking cider and loads of litter, with 2 children didn't feel safe going out/in of the apartment. Something weird going on with plumbing, really loud noise coming from water system every time you used any tap. Don't let the photos fool you, these apartments are shoddy. Would I visit Edinburgh again, absolutely yes, loved it. Would I stay here again, no way, best off in a hotel.

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank HEADshr1nker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

I am sorry to hear your comments, however, it is unfortunate that our reception office were not made aware of any issues during your stay. In order to help guests as much as possible, we also provide a 24 hour emergency telephone line. Should there have been anyone “hanging around” in the vicinity of your apartment building, at any point, our staff would have immediately assisted you and taken appropriate action. I find this a slightly surprising comment though, as our apartments are located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Old Town, one the safest cities a person could hope for. It should be noted that our Housekeeping Manager and several housekeepers entered the building on several occasions and no dodgy persons were present.

With regards to the plumbing noises, we have never experienced any issues in this apartment prior to your comments. We actually have a full time Maintenance Engineer within our team and should you have reported the issue we would have dealt with this immediately. Furthermore, these 4 star apartments were recently refurbished and as such are in excellent condition. We try our best to maintain our high standards and we have had positive feedback from hundreds of guests this year alone that will testify to the fact we offer excellent value, fantastic locations and great properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I received the best help ever from a member of the reception team who went out of his way to ensure the apartment we booked was suitable for one of our group who has a medical condition. Thank you so much. Some five star hotels could learn a lesson from the way you dealt with my request.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Mads857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesaptsedinburgh, Manager at St Giles Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Mads857, thank you for your lovely comments and I am very glad that my colleague was able to assist you with your requests. I will pass your comments along to him and we hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,097 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,758 reviews
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,645 reviews
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles Apartments

Address: 375 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £64 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Giles Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Giles Apartments offers self catering accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh at great value for money. Our self catering apartments are furnished to excellent standards, designer finished, fully equipped with all crockery and linens. Situated conveniently for all of Edinburgh’s attractions our apartments make for an exceptional base while visiting our historic city.By staying with us you will find great value when comparing to a city centre hotel but with the added benefit of your own living room, dining area, fully equipped kitchen and most importantly privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St Giles Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
St Giles Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing