We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a family weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Giles Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Fine for a family weekend.”
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We booked it for a weekend in october 2010 and thoought the place was good for a short stay. The reason for the caveat is that the appartments are rather small for our family with children. In all other respects- the location is perfect, right off Royal Mile, around the corner from the St Giles... The appartment itself is reasonably well equipped has a modern furniture and clean. However, probably because of the small size of the accomodation, plumbing and electricals are rather noisy... No parking (but overnight is available on steer parks at nearby Blair street, Chambers street and the NCP one at the Castle Terrace... The Old fishmarket close cane be little noisy up until 10-11 o'lock due to ghost tours, but unfortunately no ghosts :(

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank caledonian_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    95
    27
    14
    18
See reviews for
139
63
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed one night in Edinburgh, and although the apartment came at 150 GBP, it was good value for our family of 4. Ours was the Fishmarket Close apartment, which is very near to the St Giles Cathedral. But I must warn you that the street is incredibly steep & narrow to negotiate for someone with more than one piece of luggage. This done, there is very much to compliment the apartment, as the furnishings provided are top class. The kitchen was ample, and the living, as well as bed rooms were excellent. And the location is top-class as the street ends right up in the middle of the atmospheric Royal Mile. Its a good choice for a family visit to the Scottish capital.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashish2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We had a great surprise when we discovered that the apartment we´ve rent in Edinburgh was situated on a street that goes directly on the Royal Mile Street, the famous and most fantastic street of Edinburgh! And we had the luck that during our stay the famous "Fringe" festival was taking place there! Amazing! From morning to late night there were a lot of events and programms there to enjoy, we could watch theatres, plays, parades, etc. We had so much fun!
The apartment was big and very comfortable, we really recommend it. There were 2 Bedrooms, a big kitchen with everything we need there, 2 bathrooms, 1 dining room and 1 living room. The shower was no big deal, but everything was fine to us. I just must say that the Old Fishmarket Close is a narrow small street with a huge descending part, and the cab cannot go down there, so you´ll need to have some skills to drive your lugagges downhill and uphill when you check out.
Although the apartment is very near to the Royal Mile, we heard no noises at night, we could sleep well and comfortable. I recommend it specially when you are in 4 people, the price worths the investiment.
P.S.: It is not a Hotel, so don´t expect them to change your towels or sheets everyday! It is really an apartment.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laetitiaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

On arrival for several days at the fringe festival this place seemed great. Fantastic location, nice furnishings (which one would expect for £200 per night).

I don't recommend these apartments though. Our hot water wasn't working, which we discovered on the first morning. The shower was freezing and the hot water tank isn't big enough to fill one warm bath, let alone two. We called the owner, who came up and said that he'd get a plumber out.

We returned late that night to find that we had no hot water whatsoever! God knows what the plumber had done, if indeed a plumber had ever been called. We rang the emergency mobile number provided and were assured that a handyman would visit at 10 am. We missed two shows whilst we hung around in the apartment waiting for the handyman to finish. When he left, we discovered that the shower dial had been forced such that it only disgorged scorching hot water, which would have burned anybody standing beneath it. It soon exhausted the hot water tank. Cue second morning of cold showers. We were furious. We called the office AGAIN and asked that our hot water be fixed. Nobody came.

It spoiled our trip because it took away any sort of spontaneity. We were really annoyed at the owner's inaction; the aim of the trip was relaxation and we didn't get much of that. Constantly ringing the apartments' office and taking cold showers is not restful.

Also, you only get one big towel and one small towel each, which they expect you to use for the duration of your stay. How hard would it be to change them when you're charging £200 a night?

We'd warned the staff that we'd be looking for recompense from the owner of the apartment for the problems with the water (as with many of these arrangements, they make you pay in advance before they release the key). We waited in the office on our check-out morning for the owner, who finally appeared with very ill grace. We very reasonably asked for a discount on the cost of our accommodation since we'd been unable to take a warn shower or bath during our three night stay. The owner said that we'd have to take it up with his plumber!!!! He also accused us of breaking the shower ourselves, which was nonsense. We told him that he'd breached an implied term of his contract with us and that our remedy, if he refused to negotiate with us, would be to dispute the VISA transaction. He said that there would be no refund because of "the attitude you're showing"!!

The owner is a thoroughly unpleasant man and we felt quite intimidated by him. OK, the apartments are nice and well located, but these people aren't professional and don't know the first thing about customer service. AVOID!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Finance23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We travelled to Edinburgh in Jul 2010 - I booked St Giles Apts - but we ended up in Avocates Apartments
we arrived late around 11pm - this was not an issue as we had let them know in advance & the company had left keys in a secure location for us
would recommend getting a taxi from the Airport as we did though - if we had not I think we would have been a little lost as the entrance is in one of Edinburgh's closes
We were allocated an apartment in Advocates close overlooking princes street -
the apratment was over two floors - with 2 double bedrooms & bathroom on the lower level and a good kitchen and lovely lounge on upper level
This suited our family well - but I would mention that it was up 1 flight of stairs to lower level and stairs in apartment were steep enough - not a problem for us & 2 teenage boys but would think carefully if you had small children or were less mobile
We arived late at night after a delayed flight and were delighted to find Tea , Coffee Sugar, Milk & even orange Juice & bottled waterleft for us - very welcoming. The Apartment was very clean and well furnished
Lovely views from the lounge over Advocates close & down to Princes St
Overall would I recommend these appartments

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaureenGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We booked with Apartments Edinburgh (http://www.apts-edinburgh.co.uk/) through Lastminute (about 6 months in advance) having read the great reviews on here about large spacious rooms etc etc.

On booking we received an email confirming that it was an Apartment in Old Fishmarket, so emailed to check that booking was correct and was assured that Fishmarket was as good as St Giles.

Either all the St Giles reviewers are wrong OR Fishmarket is far inferior.
1) The bedrooms were so small that you had to physically move the bed to shut the door about 1ft of floor space on all sides.
2) No rails or hooks to hang bathroom towels on, so had to hang over backs of dining room chairs to dry.
3) Food on the floor on arrival under dining table
4) Boiler between the rooms very noisy from 11pm
5) Can hear the occupants of the flat above when they used their bathroom.
6) Windows could only be opened a couple of inches and even with all of them open the place was boiling hot all night (and it was cold & wet during the day)
7) The alleyway outside was used for ghost tours til 2am so every 30 minutes a noisy crowd came past and stopped for a story on the steps below - I would assume no worse than anywhere else just off the Royal Mile in peak tourist season though.

For £458 for 3 midweek nights we were expecting a high end apartment, we could have booked the Radisson nearby for that cost.

On the positive side, for a tourist trip it is a perfect location halfway along the Royal Mile and not too far from Waverly Station.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsCouple76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

The apartment was up a couple of flights of stairs, but the 3-bedroom apartment was huge and nicely decorated. We looked directly out on the Royal Mile across and just uphill from St. Giles Cathedral. Beautiful!

Check-in was easy. Tons of space. A little bit noisy in the early morning hours, but being on the Royal Mile, I would expect that. Just be certain to ask about the hot water heater. It's a bit tricky. Overall, nice place to stay, and I would stay there again, especially for a few days rather than just one night.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeline42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
930 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,598 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,485 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles Apartments

Property: St Giles Apartments
Address: 375 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 206 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St Giles Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Giles Apartments offers self catering accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh at great value for money. Our self catering apartments are furnished to excellent standards, designer finished, fully equipped with all crockery and linens. Situated conveniently for all of Edinburgh’s attractions our apartments make for an exceptional base while visiting our historic city.By staying with us you will find great value when comparing to a city centre hotel but with the added benefit of your own living room, dining area, fully equipped kitchen and most importantly privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St Giles Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
St Giles Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing