We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here, you will not be disappointed!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wallace's Arthouse Scotland
Ranked #159 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed for 3 enjoyable nights at Wallace's Arthouse. Wallace is a very welcoming host and his arthouse is lovely and quirky. The room we stayed in had comfortable furnishings and a nice ensuite bathroom and large shower. The breakfasts we had each morning were lovely with a selection of fruit, cereals, toast and warm pastries. Wallace makes a good cup of coffee too.
The Leith area is a very interesting place with many options for eating out. The busses are frequent and it is a short ride to the city centre.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielsv650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

We were looking forward to stay in Wallace´s Arthouse from what we had read on his website. And when we came to the B&B, and met him in person it was even better than we had expected. The room was very nice and with fine details and fresh white roses, even if the bed was a little hard. He even had designed a closet which contained a shower and a toilet, also with fresh roses, in the room. After our first breakfast together it was like staying with an old friend. Wallace have a good sense of humor and we had many funny and interesting conversations. He is a really charming and educated man who made us feel well in his company. I can recommend Wallace´s Arthouse with all my hart and we hope to be able to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trinemellem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

thank you for such a warm welcome, it couldnt have been better! love the house, the champagne and the company. thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohall8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

A stay at Wallace's Art House, in Leith, is a real pleasure. Wallace himself, a charming and very well travelled Scot, full of anecdotes and useful local information, greets you on arrival , and is on hand whenever help is needed. The bedrooms are quiet, the beds comfortable with beautiful linen and plenty of pillows. However, do not miss the terrific breakfast in the contemporary kitchen, where Wallace makes you feel instantly at home. In fact, he makes you feel at home from the minute you arrive till the moment of departure.
Wallace's Art House is located in a grand 18th century stone mansion. The top floor apartment is spacious, clean, beautifully appointed, in an elegant and contemporary style. One can relax at home and read from his extensive library, or go out to enjoy the many eating establishments in the town.
Leith, which was unknown to me, is a charming Edinburgh-style Scottish town, now rapidly becoming a cultural, recreational and business hub, only a very short bus ride from Princes Street, Edinburgh.
I warmly recommend a stay in Wallace's Art when you visit Scotland.

Room Tip: Both rooms perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WARWICK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The best aspect of staying at Wallace's Arthouse is the opportunity to befriend Wallace and the worst aspect is having to say goodbye. Wallace is a charming man with a great sense of humor. He was a consummate host -- he welcomed my partner and I into his home like we were close friends, whereby he immediately cracked a bottle of Prosecco and spent the next hour catching up with us in his living room. Conversation was easy and fun and that encapsulates the experience staying with Wallace. His space is well designed with beautiful art and a comfortable feel. Breakfasts were simple, delicious and included seemingly unlimited coffee. He took care of our restaurant reservations and helped with sightseeing recommendations. There were many positives about our visit to Edinburgh, but getting to know Wallace was the top attraction. I look forward to my next return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_Milbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Wallace is first and foremost a great artist and this shows in every aspect of his fantastic guesthouse! He is a wonderful host and has created a beautiful home away from home.

The accommodation is immaculate and inviting, the furnishings and art are incredibly well considered and the overall feel of relaxation and comfort is second to none!

We advise visiting friends and family to stay with Wallace and can fully recommend that you do too!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niall T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Wallace is a true host. He cares about every individual guest and shows interest. The rooms are charming, clean and warm. Everything was just fantastic. Leith itself is an amazing side of Edinburgh that not every tourist gets to see and staying there is really worth it: lots of nice restaurant, bars, pubs, good connections into the centre... If you don't try it out you would miss something!! Thank you Wallace!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benedikt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,615 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,016 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallace's Arthouse Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallace's Arthouse Scotland

Address: 41/4 Constitution Street, Edinburgh EH6 7BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I have a simply designed bed and breakfast with two en suite queen size rooms. There is central heating and wifi in all rooms. Breakfast is a simple affair with cereals, fresh fruits, a variety of local healthy breads as well as fruit juices and teas or coffee. There is a comfortable sitting room and is within 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Edinburgh, Leith (the local area) is blessed with many good eating places including 2 Michelin starred restaurants and also good fresh seafood eateries. There is good public transport in to the city area as well as taxi services. You will have a warm welcome to the Arthouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wallace's Arthouse Scotland Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing