We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Wonderful Host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wallace's Arthouse Scotland
Ranked #107 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Most Wonderful Host”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I found Wallace's Art House by chance and this is one of those gem discoveries that you wish to share with everybody. I was there with my family (4 of us) and Wallace was incredibly hospitable and cordial, so much so that you felt it the moment you arrive at his place. It was modern with lots of quirks - paintings, decorative ornaments which drew your eyes to discover something naughty or humorous on closer study. It was just like staying over at a friend's and Wallace gave us a tour of the Art House and made us feel so at home. The rooms were clean and the bed was plush and inviting. In the morning, he laid out a scrumptious breakfast and was the attentive host while he sat with us to share tales and have a giggle. Staying in 5 star hotels can be a luxury but on occasions like this, you are reminded that there is something about genuine warmth that sticks deeper and sweeter in your memory.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HY_H_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
107
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is a gem. I can't think of a place I felt more at home and where I enjoyed every single thing about getting back "home" (not to the hotel). I mean it is the home you would like to have. The bed sheets are amazing, the beds are super comfortable, the room has style in every detail yet it is not at all pretentious and is functional, comfortable, bright and spacy....that would be enough! But the rest of the house, from the kitchen to the living room and the corridor also make you feel like you are in your own house (of your dreams). Everything has got style, lot's of pieces to discover every time you look but nothing is pretentious or uncomfortable, including the amazing breakfast! Then last but not least...Mr Wallace ! He is the most interesting and super lovely person, with a great taste (obviously), a great cultural background and has been a top fashion designer in NY, lived in Spoleto (Italy), travelled through Asia for 20 years...and more. He also advised us on superb places to eat, to drink, how to get around Edinburgh .
The location of the B&B is also special, in Leith, just a walk to the sea, with a special charm and a relaxing atmosphere (after two days we felt as if living in the neighborhood) but 5 minutes on the bus to Edinburg center.
We made a point of going back every year! Don't miss out !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

What a great find. Wallace was so very hospitable and a kind host. This is not a place for those who like cookie cutter hotels or who like anonymous faceless experiences. It is the warm friendly welcome from a skilled host with a wealth of knowledge and interests.

This is a fun area with all of life going on outside the windows. Close enough to walk to the city but separate enough to have its own life. Treat yourself and stay for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here for easter weekend and loved it - Wallace is a great host and his home is gorgeous and full of cool furniture - the location is handy with plenty of nice restaurants and pubs in walking distance. The accommodation is lovely - we stayed in a beautiful big georgian bedroom with ensuite and woke to a delicious breakfast in the sunny kitchen.Wallace knows all the good places to go and can find tables for you at the best restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

What everyone else has written is true! Wallace has a wonderful place and he himself is a fabulous host. My husband and 15 year old daughter and I shared a large room with a large en suite bath in late June 2012. Wallace assisted in so many ways (including getting up late to greet us as our train was delayed several hours by floods). We would recommend Wallace's Arthouse to anyone for a stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Wallace and his nicely designed B&B go together like tea and biscuits. Together, they just click. Wallace is a charming gent who, upon your arrival, is ready to welcome you with a glass of red or prosecco. He then makes sure to make you feel comfortable. Armed with interesting stories and not shy, he makes breakfast interesting over a choice of fine breads, cereals, jams and coffee. His location in Leith is great - a short walk from the fine dining institutions of that area; walk to Old Town is about 25 minutes. The little bricks and bracks about his home are nice and collected from various parts of the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilbur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

What can I say about Wallace that hasn't already been said? He dealt with my plethora of detailed queries before arrival, he recommended perrrrfect places for lunch and dinner...he was convivial, utterly charming - even more so once he overcame his shyness :). The large bed was beautifully adorned, the room charming and elegant, the shower room was bijou but pefectly formed with superb lighting and more mirrors than a girl could possibly need... We hope to return again one day....

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Moody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
#91 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Pillars House
#91 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheridan Guest House
#22 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Crioch Guest House
#132 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Leith
Swan Lake Guest House
Swan Lake Guest House
#193 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallace's Arthouse Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallace's Arthouse Scotland

Property: Wallace's Arthouse Scotland
Address: 41/4 Constitution Street, Edinburgh EH6 7BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I have a simply designed bed and breakfast with two en suite queen size rooms. There is central heating and wifi in all rooms. Breakfast is a simple affair with cereals, fresh fruits, a variety of local healthy breads as well as fruit juices and teas or coffee. There is a comfortable sitting room and is within 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Edinburgh, Leith (the local area) is blessed with many good eating places including 2 Michelin starred restaurants and also good fresh seafood eateries. There is good public transport in to the city area as well as taxi services. You will have a warm welcome to the Arthouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wallace's Arthouse Scotland Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing