We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warmest and friendliest welcome you've ever had”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wallace's Arthouse Scotland
Ranked #103 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warmest and friendliest welcome you've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The place which is decorated with a perfect taste and style, spotlessly clean, spacious and airy is just a tiny 1% of your unforgettable experience with Wallace Art House. The host is the man that makes it truly unique experience when visiting Edinburg. Very nice afternoon wine and cheese in a cosy room was an unexpected pleasant gift from Wallace and this was accompanied by a very interesting conversation by all sorts of things in the world, we could discuss everything with Our host starting from just a weather in Scotland and ending by Russian culture and theatre. You would most likely skip some of the city sights to spend more time heaving breakfast with this charming old lad.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
107
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had been recommended to stay at Wallace's by some friends who said "If you're going to Edinburgh, you have to stay at Wallace's". We're very glad we took them up on their advice!

The building itself is impressive and situated in a great location in Leith - we walked into the city (about a 30 minute walk) and really enjoyed being close to some lovely restaurants but out of the bustle of the city centre.

The rooms was bright and clean with lovely comfortable beds. The bathroom pods are a great idea!

Wallace himself was a wonderful host - full of interesting stories and brilliant company! His breakfasts were simply delicious. We can't wait to stay there again!

We

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalmar, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were very happy with our decision to spend four nights at Wallace's Arthouse. Wallace gave us a warm welcome in his tastefully decorated guesthouse. The bed was comfortable, the room was nice and tidy with extra consideration taken to details such as fresh flowers and books by Scottish poets. Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruits and tasty bread. We found Wallace to be an excellent source of information on what to see and do in Edinburgh.
Leith was a great neighbourhood to stay in, with plenty of restaurants, bars and cafés to choose from. Getting in and out from the city centre was easy and took about 15 minutes by bus.
Wallace took great care of us, and he even took the time to introduce us to proper Scottish cheese! The personal touch on the interior as well as service set this bed and breakfast apart from the others we stayed at during our vacation in Scotland.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AvonSchuppler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Staying at Wallace's Art House whilst visiting the Edinburgh Fringe Festival was such a great decision as there was nothing that could have been improved on.
A perfect experience with Wallace's thoughtful added touches- white roses in the room with chocolates and delicacies appearing during our stay. The warm welcome to his home accompanied by the invitation to share a bottle of Prosecco and easy conversation was quite unique. Wallace was just such an amazing host providing an ample healthy breakfast which he would then join us for with great stories and useful tips about enjoying the area. As a host he really knew how to make us feel special and his wonderful Scottish sense of humour was such fun and very entertaining!
Wallace's Art House is a very convenient location with good on street parking, easy access into Edinburgh either bus or taxi and we enjoyed a lovely walk through Leith and then along the wide walkway/cycle paths right into the centre of the city.
From the early e-mail contact I knew this was going to be a special experience and it was just like leaving family on our departure so he will be seeing us again soon!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Located only a short bus (1.50 pound) or taxi (8 pound) ride from the city centre, Wallace's Arthouse is an excellent place to stay away from the noisy tourist hype of downtown Edinburgh. Bus stops are conveniently located nearby, as are cafes, pubs, restaurants and convenience stores. Wallace is an excellent host, providing clean, wonderfully presented spacious rooms and a very nutritious continental breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit - something that is well needed to balance the heavy Scottish fair! Four of us stayed for a 3-day weekend for my father's birthday, which was complete with birthday cake and streamers, all courtesy of Wallace!! The beds were very comfortable but I was woken in the early hours of the morning by seagulls - a small price to pay for being located near the waterfront.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

It was an absolute pleasure staying at Wallace's Arthouse. Wallace is a great host, and the rooms furnished with great care. Breakfast is served in the kitchen, and shared with Wallace. It felt as though we visited a friend!
Located in nice surroundings with a good choice of restaurants. Ask Wallace and he will help you find a nice place to eat!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Thanks for a wondreful stay! From the initial welcome to the relaxed scumptious breakfast Wallace is an excellant host! Having lived all over Edinburgh in the past, his location in Leith is perfect for visitors as you are close to the beating heart of the city but with room to breath and enjoy the waterfront and its eateries at your leisure!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank McSwanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
#94 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
Pillars House
#97 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheridan Guest House
#21 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Crioch Guest House
#121 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Leith
Swan Lake Guest House
Swan Lake Guest House
#213 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallace's Arthouse Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallace's Arthouse Scotland

Property: Wallace's Arthouse Scotland
Address: 41/4 Constitution Street, Edinburgh EH6 7BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I have a simply designed bed and breakfast with two en suite queen size rooms. There is central heating and wifi in all rooms. Breakfast is a simple affair with cereals, fresh fruits, a variety of local healthy breads as well as fruit juices and teas or coffee. There is a comfortable sitting room and is within 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Edinburgh, Leith (the local area) is blessed with many good eating places including 2 Michelin starred restaurants and also good fresh seafood eateries. There is good public transport in to the city area as well as taxi services. You will have a warm welcome to the Arthouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wallace's Arthouse Scotland Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing