We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely lovely homely and welcoming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wallace's Arthouse Scotland
Ranked #157 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We had one just one evening staying with Wallace at his lovely arthouse bed and breakfast in Edinburgh (not nearly long enough I'm aftraid). As soon as we walked through the front door we immediately felt at home. The bedroom was lovely - sheepskin rugs on the wooden floor, white bed (yes it does make a difference!), electric blanket, en-suite bathroom with lots of shelves, lots of clothes hanging space......you get the picture! Not a tartan carpet or burgundy bed throw in sight! You get a real sense of Wallace's love of art and design - there is a great mixture of things which is so refreshing to find anywhere really!
Very good location - in the centre of Leith and close to loads of great restaurants and bars. We ate at a brilliant Spanish place (Tapa I think it was called) and it was lovely to be able to walk home as we were so close to the b&b.
Enough said - I cannot recommend Wallace's Arthouse more!
Go and stay there!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tweeky1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2010

I have been very fortunate to travel extensively over the years and every now and again you stumble across a real gem. Wallace's place is well laid out, stylishly decorated and roomy. One of my best mates from Uni and I where in Edin for a friends wedding, arriving on a Friday night and leaving on Sunday.
Wallace greeted us with a sense of warmth and hospitality that reminded us of an old family friend or uncle. We where made feel completely at home, our rooms both had en-suite showers and Wallace has a sense of style that really sets his place apart.
He spoilt us to a fantastic breakfast, not a heavy fry up but fresh juices, cheeses, figs, croissants and lots of strong coffee.
It turns out that Wallace, has led a very interesting life. Having been in New York for some 20 yrs and more recently spending time in running a guest house for artists in Italy. He is a major part of the charm and a true gent. I would recommend his place to one and all.
Don't bother with the characterless hotel chains when you can stay here for less but gain so much more.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Immers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We Stayed at Wallace's Arthouse for 5 nights over the new year and it was a fantastic experience. Wallace greeted us with Prosecco to start off the Hogmanay festivities and even offered us late lunch as we hadn't eaten on our journey.. what a wonderful host.
Wallace's apartment is lovely, bright and beautifully decorated with all the amazing things he has collected over the years. Our room was very spacious and light with a comfy bed and open fire.. it was really warm and cosy especially as our electric blankets would be switched on each night for our return.
Wallace gave us a personal tour of Leith which is a great little place with nice restaurants and cosy pubs. It's an easy bus ride into the centre of town and I would recommend staying in this charming area to see another side to Edinburgh away from the tourists.
The best thing about our stay was meeting Wallace.. who we fell in love with for his warmth, generosity and humour. Thanks Wallace, hope to see you again soon. :)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moorelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Wallace is a star and his Arthouse is a welcoming home from home - staying there really was like staying with an old friend, with whom we'd never had the pleasure of a previous meeting. Down in Leith, it's perhaps a little far out for some but it boasts some amazing fish restaurants round the corner - Wallace is happy to book you a table at his favourite - and the locality, like Wallace himself, is a bit quirky and interesting. Took us about an hour to walk up to the Castle, a bus does it in 20 minutes and you don't need to go anywhere other than the Leith harbourside for an evening drink and meal. Wallace's two rooms - we saw both - are fab, plenty of space, spotless, ours had a fire and was cozy and warm for a tea-time read and relax. Then there's the sitting room where you're welcome to chill and chat with the papers and a bottle of wine - Wallace's signature welcome is over a bottle of his own Prosecco in there whilst getting to know each other. The breakfast kitchen is informal and homely and another chance to meet up for a chat - with Wallace and other guests, it's a sociable affair and tattie cakes are guaranteed. After that, we were able to happily come and go as we pleased, it felt like using the house a little or a lot was fine. The house is still a little 'in progress' but not detrimentally so, at all - we thought a sneak preview of the unfinished bits was one of the highlights. Leith harbourside restaurants, bars and pubs were a refreshing change from the obligatory bagpipes and tartan up in town. We ate at Fishers both nights, sitting up at the bar and tucking in to great seafood and wine at sensible prices. Afterwards, we had a treat of live music - Appalachian folk jam - in the pub next door. Beware of some of Leith, though, especially overseas visitors, as it still has its less salubrious bits very close by. Wallace's Arthouse, for B&B, was topside of our usual price range but, in the Edinburgh price range, it was good value. Wallace has what others simply don't - himself. If you like impersonal, bog-standard, same-the-world-over stuff, it's not for you. We don't. And we'll be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bristolmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

My partner and I recently stayed at Wallace's Arthouse for five nights on a business trip. Wallace was a charming but unintrusive host. He was very helpful in sorting out the practical details of our visit. Our room was spacious, quiet and well-equipped, with an excellent en-suite shower and toilet. Highly recommended.

Incidentally, the single one-star rating on this site seems to be a slip of the finger -- the review is actually extremely positive!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDeece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

We arrived about 11pm and were greeted by Wallace with a glass of Prosecco. He was such a lovely host throughout and made our stay in Edinburgh very special. He even presented my boyfriend with a birthday cake & a card! The room was lovely & spacious, warm even on a chilly night. At breakfast Wallace was so attentive, even lending us bus fare for the day! I would definitely recommend a stay here. Edinburgh centre is a short bus ride away, and there are some great restaurants about 5 mins walk down the road.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lottiefoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

I found Wallace's Arthouse to be an amazing place to stay. I was just intending on staying one night, but based on Wallace's hospitality and great conversation, I ended up changing my plans and staying another night. He showed me some cool little spots for dinner and some cozy drinks after just around the corner in Leith. The whole experience was just delightful and will make my way back there again. The interior was a great eclectic mix of old and new, telling of Wallace's travels around the world.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
Thank GranTurismoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,016 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallace's Arthouse Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallace's Arthouse Scotland

Address: 41/4 Constitution Street, Edinburgh EH6 7BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I have a simply designed bed and breakfast with two en suite queen size rooms. There is central heating and wifi in all rooms. Breakfast is a simple affair with cereals, fresh fruits, a variety of local healthy breads as well as fruit juices and teas or coffee. There is a comfortable sitting room and is within 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Edinburgh, Leith (the local area) is blessed with many good eating places including 2 Michelin starred restaurants and also good fresh seafood eateries. There is good public transport in to the city area as well as taxi services. You will have a warm welcome to the Arthouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wallace's Arthouse Scotland Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing