We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful experience. Wonderful attention to detail. Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wallace's Arthouse Scotland

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wallace's Arthouse Scotland
Ranked #104 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
holmfirth ,yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A delightful experience. Wonderful attention to detail. Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

Arriving at the grand Exchange buildings,entering a vast echoey hall and climbing several flights of winding stairs created a little trepidation...what had we come to, but behind the door of appartment four we entered into a haven of peace and beauty.Wallace made our stay very special ...a welcoming glass of prosecco and a dreamy room full of light and white, full of delightful touches...the chocolates, the white roses, the cool white dressing gowns, the quirky books, the lovely bed linen and even a happy birthday banner for me! Wallace is friendly without being intrusive. Breakfast was lovely, fresh fruit , yummy bread and preserves. The whole experience was wonderful and I would love to go back ...for me it was exactly what bed and breakfast should be like.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boadacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
107
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

The Arthouse was a wonderful place to stay full of memorabilia from Wallaces travels when he was a designer in New York and the Far East. Wallace was a most attentive and erudite host who looked after our every need.He was a fund of knowledge on any event that was happening in The Arts in Edinburgh.He also produced local guides of restaurants and places of interest in the Leith area -It has three micheilin starred restaurants.! I was most impressed by his willingness to give of his time to make you feel at home and make sure your stay was memorable Ours certainly was. I would recommend Wallace's Arthouse to anyone who enjoys comfort in aesthetically pleasing surroundings

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

We spent two nights at Wallace's - I cannot say enough good things. Wallace is *the* nicest host.

As for the B&B itself, it is very chic & eclectic. Architecturally beautiful with rooms of grand proportions - all completely and sympathetically refurbished. The room we had, whilst at the front of the building, was nevertheless quiet. It was also *enormous*. A lovely old fireplace, big sash windows, a massive (king or queen) comfortable bed, proper duck/goose down pillows & duvet, lovely antique furniture - everywhere you turn there is something interesting to look at. Whether it is artwork on the walls, fabulous cushions, interesting bedside books, plush rugs on the floor, crisp white cotton bathrobes in the antique wardrobe...

The ensuite was big with a large walk-in (hot & powerful) shower. All the rooms are ensuite. Breakfast was lovely & healthy and the COFFEE WAS ASTOUNDING. (Yes, in Britain....).

Ample free parking, the area is very boho chic and gentrified.

Wallace is a font of knowledge and quite simply one of the nicest men you're likely to meet. If I was back in Edinburgh, and not able to stay here, I would somehow feel the trip was poorer for it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland - borders
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

We had one just one evening staying with Wallace at his lovely arthouse bed and breakfast in Edinburgh (not nearly long enough I'm aftraid). As soon as we walked through the front door we immediately felt at home. The bedroom was lovely - sheepskin rugs on the wooden floor, white bed (yes it does make a difference!), electric blanket, en-suite bathroom with lots of shelves, lots of clothes hanging space......you get the picture! Not a tartan carpet or burgundy bed throw in sight! You get a real sense of Wallace's love of art and design - there is a great mixture of things which is so refreshing to find anywhere really!
Very good location - in the centre of Leith and close to loads of great restaurants and bars. We ate at a brilliant Spanish place (Tapa I think it was called) and it was lovely to be able to walk home as we were so close to the b&b.
Enough said - I cannot recommend Wallace's Arthouse more!
Go and stay there!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweeky1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maida Vale, London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

I have been very fortunate to travel extensively over the years and every now and again you stumble across a real gem. Wallace's place is well laid out, stylishly decorated and roomy. One of my best mates from Uni and I where in Edin for a friends wedding, arriving on a Friday night and leaving on Sunday.
Wallace greeted us with a sense of warmth and hospitality that reminded us of an old family friend or uncle. We where made feel completely at home, our rooms both had en-suite showers and Wallace has a sense of style that really sets his place apart.
He spoilt us to a fantastic breakfast, not a heavy fry up but fresh juices, cheeses, figs, croissants and lots of strong coffee.
It turns out that Wallace, has led a very interesting life. Having been in New York for some 20 yrs and more recently spending time in running a guest house for artists in Italy. He is a major part of the charm and a true gent. I would recommend his place to one and all.
Don't bother with the characterless hotel chains when you can stay here for less but gain so much more.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Immers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

We Stayed at Wallace's Arthouse for 5 nights over the new year and it was a fantastic experience. Wallace greeted us with Prosecco to start off the Hogmanay festivities and even offered us late lunch as we hadn't eaten on our journey.. what a wonderful host.
Wallace's apartment is lovely, bright and beautifully decorated with all the amazing things he has collected over the years. Our room was very spacious and light with a comfy bed and open fire.. it was really warm and cosy especially as our electric blankets would be switched on each night for our return.
Wallace gave us a personal tour of Leith which is a great little place with nice restaurants and cosy pubs. It's an easy bus ride into the centre of town and I would recommend staying in this charming area to see another side to Edinburgh away from the tourists.
The best thing about our stay was meeting Wallace.. who we fell in love with for his warmth, generosity and humour. Thanks Wallace, hope to see you again soon. :)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moorelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

Wallace is a star and his Arthouse is a welcoming home from home - staying there really was like staying with an old friend, with whom we'd never had the pleasure of a previous meeting. Down in Leith, it's perhaps a little far out for some but it boasts some amazing fish restaurants round the corner - Wallace is happy to book you a table at his favourite - and the locality, like Wallace himself, is a bit quirky and interesting. Took us about an hour to walk up to the Castle, a bus does it in 20 minutes and you don't need to go anywhere other than the Leith harbourside for an evening drink and meal. Wallace's two rooms - we saw both - are fab, plenty of space, spotless, ours had a fire and was cozy and warm for a tea-time read and relax. Then there's the sitting room where you're welcome to chill and chat with the papers and a bottle of wine - Wallace's signature welcome is over a bottle of his own Prosecco in there whilst getting to know each other. The breakfast kitchen is informal and homely and another chance to meet up for a chat - with Wallace and other guests, it's a sociable affair and tattie cakes are guaranteed. After that, we were able to happily come and go as we pleased, it felt like using the house a little or a lot was fine. The house is still a little 'in progress' but not detrimentally so, at all - we thought a sneak preview of the unfinished bits was one of the highlights. Leith harbourside restaurants, bars and pubs were a refreshing change from the obligatory bagpipes and tartan up in town. We ate at Fishers both nights, sitting up at the bar and tucking in to great seafood and wine at sensible prices. Afterwards, we had a treat of live music - Appalachian folk jam - in the pub next door. Beware of some of Leith, though, especially overseas visitors, as it still has its less salubrious bits very close by. Wallace's Arthouse, for B&B, was topside of our usual price range but, in the Edinburgh price range, it was good value. Wallace has what others simply don't - himself. If you like impersonal, bog-standard, same-the-world-over stuff, it's not for you. We don't. And we'll be going back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bristolmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
#92 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
Pillars House
#92 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crioch Guest House
#126 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Leith
Swan Lake Guest House
Swan Lake Guest House
#212 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Oakhill Apartments
#6 of 214 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallace's Arthouse Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallace's Arthouse Scotland

Property: Wallace's Arthouse Scotland
Address: 41/4 Constitution Street, Edinburgh EH6 7BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I have a simply designed bed and breakfast with two en suite queen size rooms. There is central heating and wifi in all rooms. Breakfast is a simple affair with cereals, fresh fruits, a variety of local healthy breads as well as fruit juices and teas or coffee. There is a comfortable sitting room and is within 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Edinburgh, Leith (the local area) is blessed with many good eating places including 2 Michelin starred restaurants and also good fresh seafood eateries. There is good public transport in to the city area as well as taxi services. You will have a warm welcome to the Arthouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wallace's Arthouse Scotland Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing