We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gateway to art, culture, food and fun”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wallace's Arthouse Scotland
Ranked #158 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Having traveled throughout England and Scotland, we ended our trip in Edinburgh.
Apparently, we saved the best for last. Wallace greeted us warmly, guided us to
everything we wanted to do, and guaranteed we were comfortable. His Arthouse is
well-situated, very clean and, of course, full of art. We feel like we got the
perfect host, a gateway to all that is good in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vfkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2010

Up 3 flights of stairs to a comfortable apartment, a stones throw from the Water of Leith and wonderful selection of restaurants. About 30min walk into Edinburgh or catch the easy 36 bus

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaxley90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Brilliant place, tucked away from the hustle and bustle but near enough to walk into the city. Wallace is an awesome guy, full of interesting things to say and incredibly friendly!
I have recommended this B and B to my parents, my friends and my family as I think they would all enjoy it here. Great breakfasts, (a feast and something different every day), comfy beds, great proximity to all the delicious restaurants in Leith and a short walk to the city make this a truly fantastic place to stay.
Thanks Wallace, you are a dude and we hope we'll stay again soon! xx

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JemmaSavillewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We have just returned home after 4 wonderful days at the Wallace art House. The best thing we can tell is that we are missing Edinburgh as the beautiful and charming city it is, but what we will really miss is the warm welcoming by Wallace as he is the real heart of Leith . We will miss the breakfast in the morning served by Wallace with love and dedication, the conversations and the jokes.
Wallace made us feel as home and helped us in every possible way. Thanks for the umbrella!!! :-)
It rained almost every day of our stay but in Wallace house is always sunny.
This place is recommendable 100%, so if you are planning a trip to Edinburgh there's no doubt!!! We were the first Spanish people, but we are really sure we won't be the last ones.
Un abrazo desde Madrid! xxxx
Juan and Nerea

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nerea_Juan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

This is the second time I am writing a review about Wallace's Arthouse in Edinburgh. The first time was in 2008, before Wallace Shaw had his place refurbished, and we had a wonderful time, exploring Edinburgh in the August sun and enjoying the time we spent in his B&B, which was already an intriguing mix of antiques, design and curiosities and which he ran with exceptional hospitality.
This year we came back and took our twins of almost 13 with us. We were less lucky with the weather, but staying at Wallace's was as wonderful as ever. Even more so, as it became a warm and welcoming haven after a day's cheerfully trudging in the rain.
It turned out that he'd given his place a makeover. His two rooms, which have always been comfortable and beautifully decorated, both sport a well equipped bathroom now (great showers!). His kitchen is newly refurbished as well, but still had the beautiful old dining table and the piles of books. Breakfast is still the elaborate feast it was two years ago, with hot food for those who want and plenty of fresh stuff for the health-conscious.
In short, Wallace and his Arthouse have won a permanent place our heart and as we all seem to have developed an addiction to all things Scottish, we will definitely be visiting him again in future holidays. Perhaps we may add a few days in the South of France, to make sure we get a suntan too...

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Wallace's Arthouse is located in Leith, close to an enormous selection of excellent restaurants and bars, galleries, the docks and views over the Firth of Forth. (Leith is also very easy to get to from the airport and getting into the centre of town is also not a problem). The apartment itself has been modernised beautifully, still retaining its high ceilings and original features. My room was large and quiet and the bed was very comfortable. I have stayed three times now and would stay again based on the location and property alone. But whether it would be quite the same without Wallace, I'm not so sure. His warmth and sincerity mean that when I now visit Edinburgh to see my friends, I include Wallace as one of them! He is an excellent host and I wholeheatedly reccommend the Arthouse.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anglocelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Staying at Wallace's was a very memorable experience from start to finish. On arrival stepping into his immaculately white flat, which was filled with interesting pieces of art and furniture, we were offered presseco and Wallace had even gone to the effort of presenting a lovely birthday cake for my boyfriends birthday! (he had also booked us into a very nice fish restaurant before we arrived which we had requested.)

The room was unique; bright and clean with artwork and textile pieces dotted around, super comfy bed and a very interesting bathroom installation. Breakfast was a lovely change from the norm, served in his homely modern kitchen, with fresh fruit, all different types of cereals, breads, jams, juices, and some great savory items such as mackerel pate, lentils as well as the best coffee ever!

We both felt the best part of our trip to Edinburgh was having the chance to stay here, it was like staying in a (much more interesting) home away from home. Wallace is a pleasure to talk to and such a helpful and kind gentleman, always on hand to offer tea, coffee, a chat or anything else you may desire.

It was defiantly one of the best places i have had the pleasure to stay at.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandDanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Pillars House
Pillars House
#85 of 394 in Edinburgh
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ardmor House
Ardmor House
#89 of 394 in Edinburgh
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheridan Guest House
Sheridan Guest House
#18 of 394 in Edinburgh
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#51 of 394 in Edinburgh
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallace's Arthouse Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallace's Arthouse Scotland

Address: 41/4 Constitution Street, Edinburgh EH6 7BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I have a simply designed bed and breakfast with two en suite queen size rooms. There is central heating and wifi in all rooms. Breakfast is a simple affair with cereals, fresh fruits, a variety of local healthy breads as well as fruit juices and teas or coffee. There is a comfortable sitting room and is within 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Edinburgh, Leith (the local area) is blessed with many good eating places including 2 Michelin starred restaurants and also good fresh seafood eateries. There is good public transport in to the city area as well as taxi services. You will have a warm welcome to the Arthouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wallace's Arthouse Scotland Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing