We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Unique - both the house and the host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wallace's Arthouse Scotland

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wallace's Arthouse Scotland
Ranked #90 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unique - both the house and the host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

Great house with so many interesting features - the best being Wallace himself. Lovely rooms and exceptionlly comfortable beds and a super breakfast. Beautifully situated for the historic port of Leith with lots of excellent restaurants and interesting buildings yet only minutes from Princes Street and the centre of Edinburgh (with first class local transport). Sounds like an advertisement but this comment is based on experience!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank douglas_munro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
107
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

We stayed at Wallace's Arthouse after finding it on Tripadvisor the day before arriving. We were a bit worried about the location but only because we had never been to Leith or Edinburgh. There was nothing to fret. Leith is a lovely town that provided a nice hometown break from the bustle of Edinburgh.

For his part, Wallace is an exquisite host. He even went out of his way to make my birthday a bit more special with some fun truffles in our room The house is a wonderful reflection of his varied talents and artistic energies. To top it off, he is an excellent local advisor. The muscles at Fishes were wonderful.

Well done Wallace. I wish we would have visited your B&B in Italy.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sillejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

This B & B is a 20 pound taxi ride from the airport but worth it. It is close to the main drag of Edinburgh and the rooms are delightful. Wallace was fantastic. He couldn't do enough for my niece and I and the breakfast was to die for.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Great location in Leith with a pleasant quick walk into central Edinburgh. Run by the nicest man you'll meet with very clean and spacious rooms. Brilliant breakfasts.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billfred51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

I have now stayed in Wallace's Arthouse a number of times. Why? Firstly, Wallace has made a stay in his B&B a very special experience for everyone who goes there. It's a beautiful space, full of light, wonderful touches like bowls of fresh cherries in the bedroom and fluffy white bathrobes, not to mention spotless, top quality bed linen. It manages that wonderful mix of feeling really stylish and really comfortable. This last time he was even hosting a wonderful art exhibition in the public rooms.

What else? Well it all comes down to Wallace himself. You'll never find a more genial host, offering wine or tea as soon as you're through the door. He'll make breakfast at your convenience and to your tastes. Once he knew I liked fresh fruit and yoghurt for breakfast, that's what he serves me, in great abundance. He treats everyone as a friend, yet absolutely observes their privacy.

I have stayed with Wallace when staying over in Edinburgh to go to theatre shows and so on and also for business, as it's a short walk from the Scottish Government headquarters, where I sometimes work.

And lastly..it's a stone's throw from some really world class restaurants. What more could a woman want?!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowDil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

My father and his partner stayed here when visiting me in Edinburgh. Wallace is a fine host: welcoming, interesting and interested, who has created a wonderful atmosphere. The rooms are light, comfortable and clean; the house is beautifully designed and a million miles from most hotels. I am told the breakfasts were excellent too. An example of the charming service? Biscuits and chocolates had been placed in the room, but my father isn't really a biscuit person and said they were unlikely to eat them. On returning the following day, a bowl of fresh cherries had taken their place...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TallulahR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

Wallace is the charming owner of the house, filled with plenty of art! (There was an exhibition going on while we were there)

The room is excellent, with plenty of room, unique one off furniture and we love returning every night to discover that Wallace has turned down the duvet and also left some chocolates and fruits for us to munch on. There is a hot water kettle in the room with plenty of tea selections.

The bathroom is ensuite with a powerful showerhead, hot water and plenty of mirror such that my friend and I can put on our make up together at the same time. There are flowers in the room and the living room has lots of books to browse through.

Wallace is also very friendly and helpful, helping us to navigate around Leith and Edinburgh. Talking to him in the morning over breakfast is a very pleasant experience. He is exactly like the uncle that you always wish that you have.

The breakfast in the morning is fantastic in terms of variety! It beats what I have eaten before in hotels. Wallace is a very sweet man and after staying at this place, there is no other place that I will consider in Edinburgh!

The place is accessible by a pleasant half hour walk or just catch bus 22, 16 from the bus stop at princes street going toward leith walk. 10 minutes bus journey.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eveinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
#93 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Pillars House
Pillars House
#99 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#35 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheridan Guest House
Sheridan Guest House
#20 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fraoch House
Fraoch House
#11 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallace's Arthouse Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallace's Arthouse Scotland

Property: Wallace's Arthouse Scotland
Address: 41/4 Constitution Street, Edinburgh EH6 7BG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I have a simply designed bed and breakfast with two en suite queen size rooms. There is central heating and wifi in all rooms. Breakfast is a simple affair with cereals, fresh fruits, a variety of local healthy breads as well as fruit juices and teas or coffee. There is a comfortable sitting room and is within 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Edinburgh, Leith (the local area) is blessed with many good eating places including 2 Michelin starred restaurants and also good fresh seafood eateries. There is good public transport in to the city area as well as taxi services. You will have a warm welcome to the Arthouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wallace's Arthouse Scotland Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing