We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not sure I'd stay again...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Brothaigh House

Brothaigh House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brothaigh House
Ranked #321 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not sure I'd stay again...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

PLUSES
Friendly and helpful owners;
Spacious room (booked a double, got a three bedded room instead);
Bus stop right in front of the guesthouse;
10 minutes ride to city centre (North Bridge).

MINUSES
Rooms weren't made on a daily basis;
Bathroom was quite big but also rather cold - plus, we wish we had a shower instead of a bathtub with a hand shower (really annoying) and no curtain;
Carpeted floor didn't look all that clean, especially in the bathroom;
Breakfast choice is poor if you're not into Scottish breakfast (I was expecting at least some croissants) and portions were smallish.

All in all, I can't really say we had a terrible stay at Brothaigh House... but I don't think I'd stay here again. Rates were also extremely high for a B&B and yeah, it was Festival season, but still...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leila92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    12
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
22
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our group of 5 shared one large room in this B&B in July 2013. The room was normally a quad but they put an extra bed in it at our request. There was still plenty of room to move around.
The beds were very comfortable; the room was clean and nicely decorated. Our room was on the road side of the house, but it was still quiet. The bathroom was reasonably sized for a B&B. There was a small tv which we never used. There was also a kettle for coffee & tea in the room. The owner was quite charming and helpful - breakfasts were made to order and were wonderful.

This property is a ways out from most of the tourist-type attractions. There is a bus that stops right outside the house; however it was cheaper for us to take a cab (10 minutes?). In any case the distance was not an issue at all.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Just tell them what you are looking for and they will likely try to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohio123traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natty0701
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Clean and good value for money but we were rather surprised that there was no soap in the bathroom and that there was no proper shower (an attachment only that barely worked). Still have to say the owner was a character and the breakfasts made up for the slightly basic amenities. For the price and convenience to where we wanted to be (easy to get to town) might stay again.

Room Tip: See if any have a proper shower?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natty0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We found our way to Brothaigh house just by fortune - a travel agency offered it among a few others, and we just picked one.
On the arrival with a rent car, we appreciated it could be found easily, as situated at one of the main north-to-south roads with bus routes.
The host and owner was wery pleasant and welcoming, he looked to be really pleased with our arrival. The room in the Victorian-style house was not big, but stylish and cozy, as well as small clean bathroom with shower. The only minus was the bathroom electric ventilator, switched together with bathroom lights and a bit too noisy when used by night.
The breakfast dining room was nice as well and the service was excellent. The host provided us willingly with advices about car parking, city bus lines and as well proposed places to see around.
We were completely satisfied and decided to come again, should we see Edinburgh once more.

Room Tip: Room No1 is viewing to backyard, so it is not impacted by the bus traffic in the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleš P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

The bedroom and the bathroom were extremely small but we did know this before booking, the TV also was the smallest we have seen. It was their smallest and last doubleroom available and the price reflected this. It was a very cold night and the heating in our room was turned off at 9.00pm and was extremely cold soon after. I was so cold I had to get into the bed to keep warm. I know heating is expensive but it is a B and B and guests should be comfortable in their room up until they are ready to go to bed. The heating should stay on until at least 10.30-11.00pm.The breakfast room was nice as was the breakfast and the host seemd very nice.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank missyperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Brothaigh last weekend on business and we very impressed with the welcome we received.The room was nice and clean and it was home from home.The breakfast was very tasty you couldn't ask for more.The next time we are are in Edinburgh we will stay with this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greypuss49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Lovely people and excellent service. Warm welcome. The room and bathroom were very clean. Comfortable beds offered. Excellent breakfast cooked to perfection. Spoilt for choice of buses with the bus stop just outside the gate. Hilarious Graham is wonderful and very helpful. Will stay at Brothaigh House again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank StellaNgwako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kingsley Guest House
Kingsley Guest House
#126 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#46 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#91 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.3 mi away
23 Mayfield
23 Mayfield
#1 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#4 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brothaigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brothaigh House

Property: Brothaigh House
Address: 18 Craigmillar Park, Edinburgh EH16 5PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:3 star — Brothaigh House 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Brothaigh House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing