We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shirt break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“shirt break”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I decided to visit trip advisor before I went on this holiday, after booking it. I was feeling disappointed and was not looking forward to the holiday from hell after reading some bad reviews.
On arrival we went to our allocated room pleasantly surprised with our apartment. Very clean, and every appliance you would need if you were self catering, all the staff was cheery, helpful and polite.
.
From reception, to housekeepers we found every one of them fantastic !! room was cleaned and nice.


All in all if your looking for 5 star then keep on searching for the over priced hotels, but don't book a 4 star expecting 5 star service. I would definitely go back and I HAVE stayed in 5 star before.
Please don't let other peoples negative comments put you off, if your looking for cheap and cheerful then Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments are the right choice.
Hope this helps.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anetakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    29
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013

flat is on outskirts of leith, which is an amazing area, which feels both safe to walk around even at night and has maintained a lot of its hostoric buildings. the Flat itself was spacious, beautifully designed, very well kept and was better than some of the places ive lived in! really allows you to chill and relax after spending the day in the city centre. shops are really close by as well which is great if you plan to make use of the kitchen facilities and cook while youre there. Beds were very comfy and the whole building was very quiet as the flat is mixed with residents so its easy to a good nights sleep, a great touch also with the flat having blackout curtains for those wanting a lie in.
Staff were polite and helpful, and theres always someone to call even on sunday afternoon if youre stuck. literally the only negative of this place is the lack of tourist information leaflets about nearby attractions, but with tourist information right by the station and on the way to the location its not even really a problem. overall; great place don't hesitate to stay here if you can.
Read less

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeds29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I stayed in one of the penthouse apartments for 3 nights with 15 other girls. It was my hen do so we wanted somewhere central and sociable. It was great that we were all together rather than split between different apartments and we there was enough room - even enough bathrooms (though the biggest bedroom needs a full length mirror)!
There's a co-op just around the corner and it's relatively central. We mainly caught taxis (too many high heels!)
Just be careful about the parking permits. For an apartment catering for 16 we found out that we were only allowed 2 permits and they weren't there when we arrived. Eventually they stopped answering the phone and we had to leave handwritten notes in our cars. When we returned (at silly o'clock in the morning) the permits were on a table. I wasn't happy that they had let themselves in when we were out. However, we had 3 (and found one behind a sofa) so we managed.
All in all a good place to stay if all you're wanting is somewhere to get ready and crash your sleepy head. The keys in a box worked well and saved hassle too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissButtercup17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We were very pleased with the apartment - very nice and clean, close enough to city center and attractions, supermarket and plenty of restaurants around, good assistance from the staff over the phone, we have never met them (keys and instructions in safe box, money left on the table the next morning).
The only advice is to take care with the included free parking. The permit provided is for the parking of the apartment complex, which is behind the building. If you park in the street in front of the building, on the permit holders area (like we did at first) you will get your car towed and that's very expensive (although the car pond is just a 10-15 min walk). We did not clear info on the parking at first nor did we know there are several types of permits.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I chose these from booking.com as I use them regularly for weekends away. I thought an apartment would be better than a hotel as it was me and my partner and his mum and daughter so thought it would be nice as we would be able too sit in the living room and night rather than seating in deprecate hotel rooms. The apartments were advertised as luxury and with a lift and we chose a 2 bedroom one . When we arrived at the apartments we had to find the key boxes which had our key and the instructions to find our apartment. When we did find our block we had a parking space which was great but was greeted with a used nappy in the doorway. The building had key code entry but no code was on the letter . We looked around for someone to ask when a couple came over looking confused and said they had about 20 students scattered around the apartments . I was thinking it was strange that luxury apartments would be full of students . Then someone who worked for Easylet apartments came over and said the code should have been on the letter. Once in we wished we hadnt bothered we were greeted by the most hideous stench and a nice hole in the wall. We discovered there was no lift and we were 4 floors up. I found this very distressing as I have a weak heart due to cancer treatment which makes me out of breath and my mother in law is asthmatic . The problem was getting up 4 flights of stairs holding your breath because the smell made you want to vomit!! When we got on the apartment we were very disappointed with the standard. The furniture was cheap and shabby , all the walls were painted dark brown or dark red which bade it seem very oppressive . The standard of cleanliness was very poor the skirting boards hadn't been cleaned for months and the ensure had hairs all stuck in the dust. There were no hand towels just 4 very small thin bath towels. The lounge curtains were hanging of the tracks. There were coffee stains all over the mats on the table. The double bed was 2 singles strapped together so spent all night falling in the gap. There wasn't any mirrors except in the bathroom so there was no where to do your hair. The standard of this appartment spoilt our stay in Edinburgh. I complained to booking . Com who they basically said weren't responsible for the problems and they would contact Easylet and they said not responsible for the entrance or the stairs and smell and the people in the appartments but they would look into the cleaning of which I've heard nothing. They offered me 15% of my next stay !!! I wouldn't stay if the paid me. The block was building 11 if anyone does stay there . The smell on those stairs will haunt me forever as noone could pin down what it was .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tallullah1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

Difficult to find the apartment - weird set up to check in.
Apartment 83/4 seems to have hosted a boxing match; holes in doors and walls, loads of scuffs everywhere.
One scratchy towel per guest, and no tea towel/dishcloth for the kitchen is really poor.
No guest info AT ALL.

Good size apartment in a great location - could be soooooo much better.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Excellent location, large airy apartment, plenty of hot water and easy to regulate central heating, free parking, close to City centre but why has management not listened to the negative comments of previous guests?
Kitchen - 2 non-matching wine glasses in an apartment for 4 (similar problems with other crockery). No teatowel or dishcloth or a simple welcome pack of tea, coffee etc.
Bedrooms - quilt did not fit bed, too few pillows,
Bathrooms - no towel rail or hooks for clothes etc (or toilet roll holder)
Lounge - no information pack, for contact of reception, how certain pieces of equipment work (eg WiFi) or what is on in town.
Maybe the conditions vary from apartment to apartment and therefore please note this review refers specifically to apartment 12/4

Room Tip: Avoid aprtment 12/4 for reasons given above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W-Sussex_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
The Salisbury Hotel
#87 of 148 in Edinburgh
819 reviews
Calton Apartments
#65 of 205 in Edinburgh
72 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Richmond Place Apartments
Richmond Place Apartments
#29 of 205 in Edinburgh
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Nicolson Apartments
Nicolson Apartments
#25 of 205 in Edinburgh
132 reviews
Oakhill Apartments
#4 of 205 in Edinburgh
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments

Property: Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments
Address: 44 Clerk Street, Edinburgh EH8 9HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing