We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location, great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal location, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Apartments about 15 mins walk from Princes Street, nice big rooms. Everything you need for weekend break. Would definately stay again. Kitchen could have been better equiped with pots and utensils etc but for girlie weekend was fine. Had to phone maintenance once as bathroom light didnt work, they came out straight away. Brilliant value.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    29
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

As we pulled up near the apartments we passed 3 men swigging cider from 2 litre bottles on the kerb! Having eventually found the key and parking we were faced with 8 flights of stairs to the apartment! No lifts! Whilst this did wonders for my fitness levels it was seriously hard work with 2 young children and a pram!
Once inside the apartment I was pleasantly surprised with the size and cleanliness ! However the facilities were basic!
There was no welcome pack or numbers or leaflets about local amenities which was disappointing ! The apartment itself was secure and felt safe however, the same cannot be said for the park across the road , which attracted many unsavory characters which we saw hanging around the coded doorway ! Very frightening and really unsettled our family! On day one we noticed a poster stuck to the wall on the communal stairwell which stated that residents must be extra vigilant about 'local unsavoury characters' who had gained access and a 'serious incident' had occurred! Again extremely unnerving for the whole family!
This apartment would be ideal for hen and stag parties as it is a 10 min walk up hill into the city however as a young family we were put off by the lack of communication/ information left in the apartment and by the before mentioned characters!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinklady16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Playhouse apartments with my husband and young son as we were going to the Playhouse theatre. The location is ideal for the theatre, about a 5-10 minute walk. The apartments were clean, comfortable and warm however they are a bit tired and could be doing with being freshened up. The most disappointing thing was that our apartment had a strong smell of smoke!
When we arrived the apartment number we had been given was the wrong one and the key therefore wasn't there, we had to telephone the office and wait for about 10 minutes for someone to come, our apartment was at the other end of the complex. Once we did get in I again had to telephone the office to ask for towels and pillow cases. We had paid for bed and breakfast but breakfast was non existent!
If you are looking for a luxury weekend this is not the place to stay. However if you are planning on it being somewhere simply to "put your head down" then it is ideal, especially for the reasonable price. Weighing everything up, we would stay there again if it was simply a base we were looking for, given the price of the apartment and comparing it to other accommodation prices it is good value.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jules G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

we booked one night on our way to loch shuna and wanted to do the zoo and the castle before heading to Oban. the apartment was spacious and ample for 3 people. it was appartment 69 on the top floor. there was loads of room and a brilliant kitchen and loads of space. brilliant for a big group but we were a party of 3!? think we counted beds for over 15! the communal areas were clean, bathroom less clean but adequate. another issue was the oven wouldn't close flush but the kitchen had ample facilities. would definitely stay again if I came with a group. free wifi. great cheap convenient accomodation in edinburgh if you take it for what it is!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank britpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here for a hen weekend and the location is fantastic. The area of the apartment is so nice and quiet. Was very comfortable for what we needed. The apartment maybe needs a bit of re-decoration but it does not affect your stay in the house.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise_Burnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with teen daughters. Very spacious apt which we found to be clean. However the bed linen was well worn and the decour was a little worn. The free parking and short (10min) walk into the old quarter was a bonus. There does need to be more contact info in case of problems in the apt but all in all it was good value and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

apartment was clean but very sparsely equipped - only 3 cups so had to have drinks in rota. Beds are not the best quality - mattresses were concaved so led to an uncomfortable night. Water tanks were noisy and wc's slow to fill so trips to the loo in the night were very disturbing. Managed to locate building but not clear which floor flat was free parking was a bonus along with the welcome biscuits.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
The Salisbury Hotel
#75 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Nicolson Apartments
Nicolson Apartments
#25 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Richmond Place Apartments
Richmond Place Apartments
#24 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Broughton Hotel
The Broughton Hotel
#17 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Southside Guest House
#54 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments

Property: Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments
Address: 44 Clerk Street, Edinburgh EH8 9HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing