We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nini & Rob”
Review of Millers 64

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Millers 64
Ranked #58 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We came up from London for a week at Millers64. Before we came Louise was very helpful emailing us websites for coach trips, places to visit and so forth. We were welcomed with a cup of tea in the dining room which after our long trip was wonderful. Our room was very comfortable and had lovely details - personal photos of the family's life in the Far East on the wall that created a sense of intimacy. Very,very comfortable bed. The bathroom exceeded expectation having both a shower and a bath! In our experience rather unusual. The breakfast menus varied from typical B and B menu by including items with Scots ingredients and others which were ingenious - French bread with bacon and maple syrup. Each day had different extra items laid out - different homebaked breads, different fruit smoothies & yoghurt pots - no need for lunches with Louise's breakfasts! And throughout Louise, her sister Shona and her mother, were friendly and exceedingly helpful with directions and guidance and restaurant suggestions in a city new to us. The location is perfect, being halfway between the city centre and the harbour
area at Leith. Spent most evenings at the many different restaurants and pubs on The Shore recommended by Louise. Definitely a 5* experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nini h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

Loved the decor, the attention to detail was spot on. I stayed in the Park Suite, which was spacious and warm with a very comfortable king size bed and fluffy feather duvet. The bathroom was light and airy with a great walk in shower ( plus bath and resident rubber duck if you needed a soak) and underfloor hearing which was on ( not always the case even in 5* hotels). There was everything you could need - TV, ipod dock, tea, coffee etc, lovely tablet fudge and home made shortbread biscuits ,magazines and Edinburgh information. Add to all that the very comfortable sofa and it was hard to leave the room! I did have a quick look at the other two rooms and they also were beautiful. Breakfast was great, fresh orange juice, home made walnut bread and marmalade loaf plus a varied choice of hot breakfasts made sure I always started the day well! Louise and Shona were very good hosts and I felt very at home. The location is good, local cheap regular transport makes it very easy to get into the centre of Edinburgh within five minutes, and there are some great restaurants within a few minutes walk of Pilrig Street - La Favorita being one of them! I had a lovely four day break, and will certainly be bringing my husband to stay at Millers64 the next time we are in Edinburgh. It's great value for money and is able to compete with a lot of the 5* star hotels we have stayed in for room size,decor, facilities and customer service - try it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaz-lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed two nights at millers 64 and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Louise is a great host. On arrival we had tea in the dinning room which was really nice after our long journey. Louise and her sister have great taste in decor making it a pleasure to stay. Our visit was in September but I would love to experience millers 64 in winter, it has a lovely cosy feel. This was our first visit to Edinburgh and we really enjoyed ourselves. We visited the castle and after the gun was fired at 1pm neil proposed, needless to say we now have very happy memories of this great city and look forward to returning In future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I spent a week as a guest of the Millers64 family. I wouldn't say that I was just a guest, I really felt that Louise, Shona and Sally invited us into their family for the most wonderful week in Edinburgh. I was there for the Fringe and every morning was started with a delicious breakfast and every evening was spent sharing the events of the day with the ladies.

The nice part of staying here was the fact that the family knows a lot of the ins-and-outs of Edinburgh and they would either recommend some lovely places to go, or sometimes they would meet us and share their great little city with us.

Breakfasts include delicious options like homemade jams and jellies… not the standard 'continental breakfast' found in many B&Bs. Rungs above the usual.

The accommodations were spotlessly clean, very modern and huge bathrooms (in our room). There was a great set of extras (the little packets of "Tablet" are just simply irresistible) and a great location that is easily walkable to town and on a quiet and easily accessible street!

I stay in many of these places, and by far, this place ranks as a gem of a find. As with most B&Bs there are not a huge amount of rooms, so if you're smart, you'd grab a reservation as soon as you can.

Snuggle up and enjoy every minute of this place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Man_of_the_world_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The best of home and hotel touches have been plucked and thoughtfully put together by this lovely host. The beautiful interiors with high quality bathroom fittings, big fluffy towels and crisp white bed linen sit cosily beside home made shortbread and scrummy breakfasts. The fact there are just 3 rooms and Louise's relaxed warm personality make you feel like you have stumbled upon a fabulous secret place you want to share.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OXFi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

You won't find a better B&B in Edinburgh!
After a two week stay during The Fringe Festival, at the end of each day we'd say "Time to go home.", and we meant Millers 64. It's truly that comfortable and welcoming a place. A great deal of that has to do with Louise, the owner and brilliant cook. You couldn't ask for a friendlier, funnier or more helpful hostess!
The rooms are large, and so are the lovely comfy beds and duvets. Even the bathrooms are spacious, with separate tub and shower, heated floors and towel warmers. No tiny room syndrome here. They are also simply and elegantly appointed. There's even shortbreads, every day, to go with in room coffee or tea.
The breakfasts are more than you could ask for. You can choose from a large number of selections which are all beautifully and individually cooked and presented by Louise. Not to mention the homemade preserves by her Mum!
All this and it's a great location. There's a bus stop right outside the door that'll take you right downtown. Most of the time, we just enjoyed the easy 15 minute walk to the centre of town. Louise will order you a cab, if you want one.
We were honestly sad to leave. You will be too, if you come to Edinburgh and miss staying here!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Hal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We loved our stay at Millers 64! We were in Edinburgh in the madness of festival time and Millers was an amazing home to return to each day. We loved Louise's effortless friendliness, her phenomenal breakfasts, the beautifully decorated rooms, and the convenient bus stop directly across the road!
Plus we thought it was really reasonably priced versus what we'd paid further upcountry. Great value for a completely luxurious stay.
I would highly recommend Millers 64.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Antler Guest House
#50 of 395 in Edinburgh
70 reviews
Two Hillside Crescent
#39 of 395 in Edinburgh
202 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 395 in Edinburgh
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,614 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,016 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millers 64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millers 64

Address: 64 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £80 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Millers 64 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh, Millers64 offers unique bed and breakfast accommodation in an extensively upgraded beautiful Victorian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Millers 64 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millers 64 Hotel Edinburgh
Millers 64 Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing