We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this place is great.”
Review of Millers 64

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Millers 64
Ranked #66 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2010

we went to the fringe for a few days and stayed here, i recomened this to everyone ,
for me 5 stars for comfort, , top spec, attention to detail ,a great host full of good local advise and hospitality and a breakfast to die for wow.
if you are going to edinghburgh check this place out as must .

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubymay97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2010

My friend Victoria and I shared the wonderful front bedroom at Millers 64 last year and are planning another visit after the Festival. We can't wait! She slept on the pull out sofa bed - which she said was as comfy as any proper bed she had slept in. I nearly drowned in the fluffy pillows on my enormous queen size bed! The bathroom has a deep bath and walk in shower with lovely organic soap and body lotion made specially for Millers 64. The decor throughout is stylishly contemporary and very clean.

After a night on the town a full Scottish is what you need for your hangover and the breakfast that Louise cooked for us was sublime - esp Sally's homemade apricot jam, which I caught her making one morning!
Don't stay in a boring overpriced hotel. THIS is the place to stay in Edinburgh! Please tell the ladies we said "Hi!"

Alexandra Boyd

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fstclsswmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We booked Millers 64 after reading about it in the Sunday Times and the rave reviews on this site. We were somewhat disappointed. We stayed in the garden room which is lovely and spacious with a huge bathroom and the bed was very comfortable. There is an amount of traffic noise from the road but we've stayed on Pilrig Street before and expected it. Breakfast, unfortunately, was very disappointing. Firstly, I dont 'do chat' in the mornings and hated sharing the single table with the four other guests. There were no newspapers. The quality of the food itself was generally fair, but it had quite obviously been cooked earlier and re-heated for us coming downstairs- I dont understand why is this necessary when there are only six guests nor why we had to order the evening before. The porridge was fine but the portion verging on miserly. The french toast was barely edible; it didn't take too kindly to the microwave, I guess. We certainly weren't encouraged to have cereal and a cooked breakfast - the plates arrived seconds after we sat down. Oh, and toast was a help yourself affair. We have stayed at better, and considerably cheaper B&Bs on the same road and will do again. Dont believe the hype!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Having chosen this B & B venue based on previous reviews, I wanted to make sure and add my comments. This facility exceeded my expectations and the hosts were warm and very helpful. Louise and her family answered my questions, helped advise me on places to visit and provided a scumptious breakfast that was prepared on time and hot every morning! My room was beautiful, the bed was warm and cozy and the location made it easy to walk to The Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle or hail a taxi to explore. Louise's family even had their homemade, mouth-watering raspberry preserves available for purchase! I can't wait to come back for a visit if nothing more than to see the Louise and her family again. Simply the BEST!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jettdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

The house is lovely and very stylishly decorated, on first appeances I was really pleased with my choice. However the bedroom we stayed in was very noisey as its next to a very busy road and the blinds let the sunlight in at 5am which woke us both up. The rooms could really do with thick curtains to keep the traffic and the sunlight out. The breakfast was lovely and Louise is a very good host, I was annoyed howevr that we could not leave our bags as we had previosuly agreed with her. Perhaps this was because I had mentioned the curtains!? Overall, lovely but it doesn't in my opinion live up to the hype of the other reviews.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bear1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotsgal67, Owner at Millers 64, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2010

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all our guests feedback as it assists us to continually improve our guest facilities.Following your comments during your stay about the light coming through the blinds, we immediately arranged for Tweed curtains to be made for this room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

My wife and I have just returned form a 3 night break in Edinburgh, staying in Millars64. I'll keep it short and sweet as follows;
1/ Millars64 is a lovely B&B Leith.
2/ Louise, the owner, is an excellent host and nothing is too much bother for her.
3/ We felt that little bit "extra effort" was put into everything by Louise right from the booking stage, throughout our stay and every other aspect of our visit.
4/ Bedroom and unsuite was bueatifully furnished with good quality fixtures and fittings.
5/ Breakfast was lovely, consisting of a small special smoothie starter, choice of cereal, full cooked breakfast, and homemade muffins, jams etc.

I could go on and on singing the praises of Millars64, but just that my advice and book a few nights and I'm sure you will not be disappointed. I'm very fussy by the way.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

A boutique ambience and a nurturing atmosphere. Lovely large bedroom with superior bathroom. Extra touches such as home made shortbread and quality, organic bathroom products. Breakfast was delicious with a large choice including homemade preserves and bakes goods. Louise and Shona (and their delightful mother) were extremely helpful by suggesting and booking restaurants and places to see. Make sure to try Fishers on the Leith waterfront. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank splaydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Antler Guest House
#51 of 394 in Edinburgh
70 reviews
Two Hillside Crescent
#45 of 394 in Edinburgh
202 reviews
Fraoch House
#9 of 394 in Edinburgh
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,016 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millers 64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millers 64

Address: 64 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £80 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Millers 64 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh, Millers64 offers unique bed and breakfast accommodation in an extensively upgraded beautiful Victorian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Millers 64 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millers 64 Hotel Edinburgh
Millers 64 Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing