We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location! Modern and great value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Advocates Apartments Royal Mile
Ranked #139 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
1 review
“Fantastic location! Modern and great value for money!”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My parents an I have just finished staying at the advocated apartments on the royal mile. It was a wonderful experience as we are visiting from Dubai and found this perfectly located place. They wanted to see the castle and eat at some of the fine sonic restaurants which were only 5 minutes away! The apartment was clean and I very much enjoyed the chocolate left on my pillow. We stayed at royal mile mansions. Concidering there was three of us it worked out pretty cheap. Was slightly noisy at night but that didn't really bother me. Would stay there again. Can imagine it would be pretty buzzing during the festival. Maybe will be back. Love Edinburgh!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmcloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    8
    5
    8
See reviews for
17
8
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed at Duncans apartments in December, Advocate apartments is actually a booking agent for indiviual owned seperate apartments. On arrival, 2 pm, room was freezing, not particulary well decorated very basic, Advocate assured us this would be sorted, never was, eventually moved to IBIS hotel nearby, which was grotty but couldnt get anything else. Would I use Advocate again, probably not, have stayed self catering before and always use Owners Abroad websire, they do U.K. properties too and havent been disapointed,,,,if going to Edinburgh wee tip,,,stay in Hotel or use the said website...I would avoid Advocate
P.S...they promised compensation but nothing forthcomming from them

Room Tip: stick to either hotel or use owners abroad website,,,,just be careful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at the Advocates Royal Mile apartments and the whole experience is one to forget. But lets start with the positives...

+ Brilliant location
+ spacious apartment with lovely original features

OK, that's done. Now the bad....

- Noise. Lots of it. All night
- It's a tired apartment with 5* aspirations but 3* execution

I would not stay there again. If you are one of the people enjoying the Edinburgh nightlife then this might suit you. It's easier to sleep during the day than night.

I also believe that my booking which to me was completely valid was somehow no longer valid. News to me and a royal pain to be honest. My suspicion is that a more lucrative booking came along but I'll never know. But I am certain that I'll never stay at a property run by Advocates again.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else, do your research. Don't stay here with young kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Los T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed in Parliment square apartment 7 for a short Christmas break.

We arrived to pick the keys up from the designated boxes, which were a little tricky to find as they are just in a doorway to a solicitors - but there was a guy standing outside who helped us out.

The apartments are in a brilliant location regardless of the type of trip you are wanting, shopping, tourism, eating etc... all very close distance as it is right in the middle of the Royal Mile.

Our apartment wasn't great but for what we paid we don't have too many compaints, the few issues we did have were -
The bedroom was just big enough for a double bed, no space to get ready in there, lack of mirrors - my girlfriend had to get ready in the bathroom as there was nowhere to sit down with a mirror etc.. also there was a waste pipe running down one corner of the bedroom which meant we could hear water trickling down throughout the night, this was an absoloute nightmare if your a light sleeper.

Also all 3 nights we could hear people outside up to about 2am shouting etc.. as they walked back from the close bars, I think part of the ghost walk tour is outside of these apartments to so you may hear some screaming until about 10-11pm ish.

Parking is obviously an issue in Edinburgh, but we decided to drive due to planning on bringing back alot of bags after a christmas shop. We parked in a park and ride car park (Hermiston) which provided 24 hour free parking, and CCTV. The bus was only £1.60 each to the city centre (about 15 mins bus journey). The apartments is very close to Waverly train station, so if we were to go again with no major shopping plans we would probably just get the train.

Despite the above issues though, we would go back (we wouldn't go on a weekend and pay the full price though, we would just visit during the week and pay the reduced room prices as I don't think we would have got value for money paying full).

We paid £240 for 3 nights, if we were to stop on a weekend I think the price per room (fri & sat) are £140 per night.

I would recommend it, but would advise taking ear plugs - although obviously all of the rooms will vary so I can't comment on the others.

Room Tip: Not room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We recently stayed in a 4 bed and found the accommodation was second to none. Situated on the Royal Mile the location was well placed for our planned trip of sight seeing the architecture of the City. The apartment itself had terrific views and the was very spacious and well maintained. The staff were particularly helpful and pleasant, advising the best places to visit. I would highly recommend using Advocates Apartments for any form of stay in this City.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzz887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I recently stayed in a 4 bedroom apartment with Advocates Apartments and experienced a very hassle-free and luxury service. The simplicity of booking the apartment, obtaining the key and all round location and facilities made it a most pleasent stay for us. The apartment was easy to find and we were very impressed with the large tv (with sky), stereo and all the other mod-cons. The furniture was more than up to the standard of a luxury apartment and we were made to feel at home by the very pleasent management. I would certainly recommend using Advocates Apartments for anyone seeking a hassle free and luxury service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hytham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed in the Burnetts apartment 25-27th Oct 2011. It is situated on the Royal Mile across from The Filling Station.
The Advocate Apartments staff informed me on the day of arrival I would receive a text message with details of how to get keys etc. I didn't receive this so I called the office & he asked if i had received an email with a box number etc, this wasn't received either. So we walked with bags trying to find the office to get our keys on Blair Street. Why we couldn't be met at the apartments i dont know as we were laden with bags.
The close upto apartment is not lit at night so have your wits about you!
On entering the apartment we found it to be clean, spacious & well equipped. But when you pull the blibds down you'll find they aren't familiar with a duster.
Apartments noisy at night due to location & original windows.
We had an uninvited guest of a mouse appear in the apartment on our last night in the living room!
Only ONE toilet roll provided! Between FOUR people.
Four small milk sachets provided ( i recently stayed at the cheaper Lochend Serviced Apartments) & the owner provided us with a welcome pack & a pint of milk. Its a nice gesture.
Overall the apartment was comfertable,fabulous location, spacious, well equipped but for what you pay, a pint of milk & more than one rollof toilet roll wouldn't go amiss. The blinds also really need cleaned & the mouse holes need blocked off.
I'd definately stay here again, walking distance to everything but better communication is certainly needed regarding booking.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanned1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Residence
Royal Mile Residence
#103 of 202 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Old Town
Apartments Royal
Apartments Royal
#84 of 202 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Advocates Apartments Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Advocates Apartments Royal Mile

Property: Advocates Apartments Royal Mile
Address: 156 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1QU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Advocates Apartments Royal Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Edinburgh’s historic city centre, our modern holiday apartments provide the comfort, space & privacy of your own home in convenient locations throughout primarily in Edinburgh’s sought after Royal Mile. With restaurants, bars, shops & the main tourist sites on your door-step, Burnet’s Apartments present themselves as the ideal base from which to explore Edinburgh. Just a short walk from the apartments will bring you to the Royal Mile with Edinburgh Castle, Hollywood Palace, Princes Street & Waverley Train Station within easy walking distance. Fully equipped with all that you need for a comfortable stay, and complemented by the freedom to come and go as you please, our self-catering apartments aim to provide a home-away-from-home for your stay in Edinburgh. Our apartments are available to book for short holiday breaks 2 nights or more. Burnet’s Apartments provide an excellent choice of accommodation in Edinburgh with offers suitable for guests whether seeking accommodation for leisure, business or for relocation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Advocates Apartments Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Advocates Apartments Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Advocates Apartments Royal Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing