We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Advocates Apartment - Royal Mile, Edinburgh” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Advocates Apartments Royal Mile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Advocates Apartments Royal Mile
Ranked #149 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Christchurch, Dorset
1 review
“Advocates Apartment - Royal Mile, Edinburgh”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Just got back from a visit to Edinburgh (17-21 May 2013) and stayed at the Advocates Apartments. The apartment itself was very nice and a great location, however, beware of the building work happening behind and next to the apartment. Very noisy from around 7.00am every morning and even on Sunday! When my husband made a point of telling the management company, whose offices where nearby, they couldn't have been less interested and advised us they were not interested in letting other visitors know.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet nights sleep and a bit of a lie in, check for building works before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    8
    5
    8
See reviews for
17
8
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tuscany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed at short notice in the Burnets apartment, paid £129 for the night,went with my 3 children to see the virgin fireworks,last night of the festival.
Arrived at 5pm apartment seemed very nice, my son loved the big brown leather chairs, nice changing colour lights in the lounge too.returned at 11pm from the show.

Kids were tired, so to bed,mattresses has bare springs poking through,removed the sheet to see what could be done,mattress covered in blood stains and urine marks NO mattress protector,stains could be seen through white sheets. Spare duvet in cupboard unfortunately it had huge stains too! Put towels down to cover springs. Texted the contact number,they said they were sorry that the cleaner had not informed them of the bedding conditionbut it was too late to do anything now!
Son spent the night on the big brown chairs,not ideal but not enough towels to cover springs!
woken at 2am 3am and 5 amam man kick a by drunk people going up and down the stairwell, 5am man kick an object from the top of the stairs to the bottom very loudly....why

In the morning we could not work the shower,left without one! no instructions!
Off home for a good night sleep and a shower.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank italianbeauty10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Edinburgh
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Me and my three adult kids lived in a Advocate apartement. It was a pleasant stay and we can absolutely think about to come back. I hoped there could be free wifi but there wasn't. The staff was very nice. I booked through a internetsite but that wad a little bit confusion ababout the confirmation. Two days before we would come we still did't knew if it was ok with the booking.
We really loved Edinburgh and the location just in the centre of everything

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Paivi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

The apartment was exactly as it looks on the photos - very spacious and well furnished. The location was ideal for us, central to the Royal Mile. However, this did mean a lot of noise through the night, which we expected. The management office is just down the road, however when we required assistance with checking in and electrical problems in the apartment, no one answered the phone or got back to ur within a reasonable time. When we made a fuss, the problems were rectified.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahLouiseMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I recently visited the apartments on cowgate as part of a 3 day visit to Edinburgh. The apartment was very nice although we were disappointed to find that the bedroom was actually in the living room, separated only by flimsy blinds. The beds were very comfy but our sleep was hindered by the noise outside which went on till about 3.00am!!! Double glazing is needed as is curtains to block out the light. However we had a lovely stay and the pandas at the zoo were amazing.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor - no lift. Not suitable for unfit people!!! Plus take ear plugs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed in the Assembly, 3 bed apart in and was very disappointed - still complaining to booking.com - moved out after first night! Not luxury at all, photos very misleading - the bedding is the nicest part. Spiral staircase upto apartment smelt of urine, chipped paint work and lead to other private flats. Kitchen and bathroom not luxury, only two wine glasses in an apart for 6? No pictures of bathroom or 3rd bed because of lack of luxury, dirty carpet round edges of all rooms. No soundproofing at all!! Woken from 2am onwards with drinkers.
The only best part was the position for sightseeing.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea191255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed in a two bed roomed apartment on the royal mile overlooking the cathedral, the views very terrific. The apartment is on two floors and extremely spacious with two bathrooms. The lounge area is large and well equipped with a massive TV with Sky stations which is great to relax in front of after a days sightseeing.
The kitchen has everything you need to make a meal if required but of course you have plenty of bards, restaurants on your doorstep.
if you have time complete a ghost tour walk in the evening, you won,t be disappointed.
The apartment also has an iron and ironing board, very handy. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonny97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Residence
Royal Mile Residence
#87 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Advocates Apartments Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Advocates Apartments Royal Mile

Property: Advocates Apartments Royal Mile
Address: 156 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1QU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Advocates Apartments Royal Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Advocates Apartments Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Advocates Apartments Royal Mile Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing