We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent apartment and service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Mile Accommodation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Mile Accommodation
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent apartment and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

we stayed here for a few days over the Edinburgh festival, the apartment we were given was right on the royal mile in the heart of all the festivities we couldn't have asked for more.
Upon arrival, we were notified to collect keys from a box in the courtyard. we put the code in and found instructions and the keys.The manager that was on call was very attentive during our stay. The apartment itself was very clean and had sky tv and also had private parking.
We were provided with everything we needed and were very comfortable in the apartment, will definitely return in the near future

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    18
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
20
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

On arrival at the apartments is was unclear where we were meant to collect the keys. Apparently you need to ring the office who will explain where your key is.

The apartment itself was spacious with a well equipped kitchen, a lounge with tv and a couple of sofas. Upstairs from the lounge were two beds on a balcony overlooking the living room. Two other bedrooms had two beds in each that could be a double or two singles. Bedrooms had decent storage space.

The beds were uncomfortable (hard) and were obviously very cheap, which resulted in a poor night's sleep. The shower in the bedroom was very small and looked tired, but there was a bath in the main bathroom that was ok. It was useful being able to park the car in edinburgh. We were there when the fringe festival was on and everywhere was very busy. Free Wifi in the apartment was also useful.

The general appearance of the corridors, carpets and lift in the apartment were not very appealing and looked like they needed a bit of a face lift.

The location is good, just off the royal mile (near to Holyroodhouse Palace). Easy walking distance to many sights in Edinburgh.

I suppose I would stay here again for a short break if the price was right.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s_pruced123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

First of all the positives: It's very handy for the Royal Mile, old town Edinburgh and also Edinburgh city centre. The car parking was ideal. The Town house style apartments look quite smart from the outside but I think the builders skimped on the quality. The Living room and kitchen were quite adequate but decor was becoming a bit tatty in places. Decent furniture and facilities but the bedrooms were a different matter. The carpets were absolutely filthy. Loads of stains all over and black edges along the skirting boards where a vacuum clearer had never been used. This made the edges of the carpets and the bits behind the doors look positively disgusting. The quilt cover on our bed had a large lipstick stain on it and the bathroom door looked like it had taken a punch- there was a dent in it the size of a fist. The shower was absolutely tiny, about 2 ft square. The floor boards in the bedrooms felt like they were made out of plywood and bubble wrap - every step made a huge noise!
Worst of all, I phoned the letting company to ask for the place to be cleaned up and nothing happened until the following day and even then I don't think anything was done about the carpets. This could have been an ideal place for a short break in Edinburgh but customers have a right to expect meticulous cleaning in this type of apartment.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

Good central location just off the Royal Mile, easy walking distance of Holyrood, our Dynamic Earth, Scottish Parliament, etc. Slightly further but still easily wlakable with young children to central Edinburgh, Princes Street, etc. Free, secluded parking

Entrance area and hallways not up to much, but once inside the apartment was clean, modern, well furnished and very spacious. All the facilities you cold need including well equipped kitchen, sky tv, free wireless broadband, cd mini hifi system and plenty of comfortable furniture. Deluxe apartment had a mezzanine floor and small balcony.

The view out of the flat did include a very old graveyard, which was in our opinion not an issue - it was a very old and interesting graveyard. However, this should not take away from the fact that there are actually really nice views from the apartment of other parts of the city too, including Calton Hill, Arthur's Seat and beyond, the Old Town, and the roof of Our Dynamic Earth and the Palace of Holyrood.

There was plenty of sleeping space in both single and double beds (1 double, 4 singles), as well as a main bathroom and 2 bedroom en-suites. The bed we had wasn't that comfortable, but the situation was resolved with the company to our satisfaction, and i would expect this to be resolved for other travellers - worth double checking though once you get in, and if there's any problem then the management are very helpful and willing to try and help out with issues.

Overall a spacious comfortable flat with central location and good value

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andymac107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novara
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

I stay in this apartment 7 days with my family ( 2 children 11 and 14 years old ).
Apartment was clean, equipped with everything needed.
Position is excellent, very close to center.
The apartment was very big, 4 baths, 3 bedroom, and I think was more than adequate for what I paied.
I appreciate the view on the church and on the cemetery because is an hisorical one visited by hundreds of tourist.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrizia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

Me and a few of my friends went up for the Marathon and stayed in the Old Tolbooth apartments. The location was great and so was the apartment.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beeds29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

We were a group of 4 people and the first thing we saw as soon we arrived to the flat it was an untidy guest room and a very dirty rug, also we did not like at all the view from the flat because it was over looking a cementary! A member of our group was stuck in the toilet for more than 20 minutes because the door lock was broken (broken before we arrived). The bed mattresses were uncomfortable and the general appreance of the accommodation was very poor.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Changy_tita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#63 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Old Town
St Giles Apartments
St Giles Apartments
#21 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Atholl Brae Royal Mile
Atholl Brae Royal Mile
#34 of 214 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Princes Street Suites
Princes Street Suites
#5 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mile Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mile Accommodation

Property: Royal Mile Accommodation
Address: Old Tolbooth Wynd, Edinburgh EH8 8EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Mile Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Mile Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mile Accommodation Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing